We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campground...location, location, location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camper Village at Cedar Point

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandusky
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camper Village at Cedar Point
Save
You added Camper Village at Cedar Point to your Saves list
1 Cedar Point Dr., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Yorktown, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great campground...location, location, location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Had a fantastic time staying 3 nights at Camper Villiage at Cedar Point. We didn't make our reservations early enough to get full hook-ups, but the electricity only hook-ups are fine. The campground is very clean and well laid out. There is a really nice pool that is open until 11 pm every night.
We took advantage of buying the discounted tickets including Soak City... By staying at one of the Cedar Point hotels/campground, you get to get into the park an hour early. The first morning the line was reasonable and everyone waited their turn in line. The second day we had a large group of people decided to jump the line, and caused a lot of confusion and bad feelings.
Both days we went back to our camper for lunch. After lunch we spent the afternoon cooling off at Soak City. I definitely recommend the Adults Only pool. It's a great place to relax and they have a swim up bar. After dinner each night we went back to the park and rode rides until closing.
This was a nice vacation and staying at Camper Villiage made it even better. We decided to come to Cedar Point to celebrate my son's high school graduation. Cedar Point's roller coasters are great! Our only dissappointment was that Top Thrill Dragster broke down a few times and we never got to ride. I guess we'll have to go back one day...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    52
    12
    10
    2
See reviews for
96
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Stayed at the camper village in May (1 night) and June (2 nights) 2010. We have a pop-up and typically just do a back-in with electric. However, we were able to score full-hookups on both trips which is the way to go --- no stopping off to load up on water on the way in and no worrying about running out while you're there.

Campground is extremely clean. Did not go to the pool, but it appears to be a nice amenity if you don't want to spend the $$$ to go to Soak City. Location is great -- it's about a two football field walk to the entrance by the Magnum. There are also shuttles that you can take to that entrance or to the marina entrance (puts you in about midway through the park). Tip the drivers $1 or two.

There is a $15 camper parking rate that you'll have to pay at the entrance of the park. This is refunded when you check in at the camper village. You can also buy discount tickets for the park at the camper village registration. We purchased season passes which provide free parking, park access, waterpark access etc. for $150/ea at the beginning of the season ... that's the way to go if you think you will want to do a few hours each day while you're there.

A few things to think about when planning your trip:
--> Full hookups go quickly, if you book online and find one available, book it right away. If you look online or call and there's none available, don't give up. People seem to cancel a lot (even though you don't get a full refund), so check back often.
--> You can't request a specific site... which stinks.
--> Pets are permitted. There is a pet check at the entrance of the park. It is $15/day and is a nice facility. Be forewarned, they don't take reservations. So if you need to put your pet in, get him/her to the pet check as soon as they open in the morning.
--> Most sites don't have a lot of shade and the awning from our pop-up doesn't extend all the way over the picnic table, so we take a separate, standalone covering that we put over the table.
--> No fire pits. Don't bother bringing any wood.
--> If you book online, you’ll get offers for $10 admission to Castaway Cay (the indoor waterpark at the end of the causeway of Cedar Point). Nice option if end up going and it rains.

Have a great trip!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We checked in and paid the high rates. They were charging $60 a night to park your camper.
Once we checked in, we then found out that you could not have a campfire in this campground. They also did not allow bikes. So after we checked in, there was nothing for the kids to do, We were not going into the park untill the next day.

All that we got for the $60, was a concrete pad with hook ups.

They also decided to clean the bathrooms at 9am when everyone was getting ready for a day at the park.

Next time, we will stay at the koa 5 min down the road, it's much nicer and the rates are a lot better as well. They let you have campfires there as well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

We travel to Cedar Point every year in June with 4 other people. The other couple recently bought a very nice Bounder RV, and they wanted to take it camping when we went to cedar point this year. We reserved a nice, full hookup pull through right next to the registration parking lot. We were very suprised to find that we would be parking the rig next to people from a close city from WV, and they also had a Bounder. Hooking up our RV to the connections was very easy and clean. We did not have to use any adapters or extensions to hookup. Our AC line, cable, and water hookups we in a nice cabinent that lined up with the utility compartment. We found it very conveinent that the hookup box had an automatic light that came on at dusk to light up your connections.Cedar point maintenance sure made a good choice in designing their rv sites. Our site also had a charcol grill and picnic table. We had plenty of room to set up chairs and extend our awnings fully. Even with our 2 slide outs, we had plenty of room. The site was completely level, but we still used the automatic leveling system to make sure the coach was level. We were unaware that satellite reception was very bad on CP property. Even though the coach had a auto-locating satellite dome, it could not find a signal after 20 minutes. We were so close to the park gate, we could lookout the windows on the coach and watch the top thrill dragster at night. We could easily walk across the check-in parking lot to the van stop to get a ride to the CP resort gate to the park. The camping store had a wide selection of items, but we bought only souveniers becuase we had brought our supplies with us. We did not use the bathouses that much, because we were able to shower and use the restroom in the rv. We will be reserving our site for next june coming up in January. We were very pleased with the service, location, price, and the layout of the rv site was exceptionally good.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moundsville, WV
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This was our first trip with our travel trailer to Cedar Point. We have stayed at the cabins and hotel before. I think that staying on the property is worth the money. The campground wasn't too expensive when you consider everything you got with the package. The bathhouse was clean when we used it, the store has alot of stuff that you might need, and you can walk to and from the park. If you have a camper and are going to Cedar Point, stay at Camper Village. The sites are adequate for what you are there for. You are there to go to ride the rides so you probably won't be at your camper much.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W. Harrison Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

As I was saying, "This was our 15th year at Cedar Point as a Group" and we have stayed or someoe in our group has stayed in EVERY section of the park. From The old Breakers 15 years ago, to now mostly the cabins at Lighhouse Point. We are opting this year to stay at Campers Village at an Electric Only site, due to the timimg of our reservation.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

Added late, but when adding another recent stay, though better late than never.

Stayed for 5 days/4 nights in August 2007 at one of the cabin/ cottage circles they have within the Camper Village ar Cedar Point.

Choosing this location was to ensure we had easy access to the park (which providesd early admission as well and was a 3 miniute walk to the park gate), cut down on the driving required during our stay in the area, and the benefits the Village offered.

We booked a cabin (that was within the circle directly behind Mean Streak). Imediately we were concerned about noise during the evening - not an issue. The park closes at a reasonable hour and we were always in the park prior to opening to the public, so we were never aware or bothered by the noise of the ride (and at night, being lit up it is a beautiful sight). The cabin had a bathroom with shower, kitchenette (with small fridage, microwave and sink), 1 bedroom with its own tv, a sitting area with another tv, and sleeping loft (that our youngest enjoyed to her self). Outside is a picnic table and small bbq (we used), and on the property, an outdoor pool, hot tub, games room, and laundry facilities (all used as well). As well a small store exists on site for any missing supplies (though pricey - shop offsite like we did).

We toured a few of the cottages that are on the outside of the property right on the lake, with each having a deck. Their sitting area is smaller (as you loose the space the door opening onto the deck uses) but think having a deck and the view a good compromise if space (i.e. the number in you party) not an issue.

There were 4 of us - two in the bedroom, the youngest having the loft, and oldest (teenager) having the sitting area with tv (where each of the sofa's (futons) fold out into beds). With as small a space as it was, we never felt cramp, each had our own space in the evening, and made best use of the cabin. We did a shop locally and had all our breakfasts and two dinners and several lunches there and found the cabin an ideal space to relax (using the pool as well) during the evenings.

We did a local shop to stock up on snacks / breakfast supplies and add to the basic kitchen supplies the cabin provided (i.e. steak knives for one nights BBQ) saving ourselves a bundle on meals through use of the kichenette.

This being our first visit to what is technically an RV park, we knew not what to expect, but its location (what we were there for...the park), it amenities, and reasonable cost, had us glad we made the choice of a cabin onsite.

As we were looking at the other onsite hotels as alternatives with Castaway Bay being our fallback - note it is technically not on the property but a 5 min drive from and not a walk from - and walking through the other hotels, if looking for reasonable "family" accomodation close to the park, don't think you'd go wrong choosing a cabin or cottage in the Village.

  • Liked — Proximity to the park, amenities the Village offered and overall value
  • Disliked — The pool did close at 9pm which allowed little time to use after finishing the park for the day (but courteous to the campers surrounding the pool area for noise)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camper Village at Cedar Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camper Village at Cedar Point

Address: 1 Cedar Point Dr., Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp at One of the Greatest Parks in Our Nation. That’s what it’s like at Camper Village, where you can “rough it” just steps away from the most exciting rides and attractions anywhere. Your site will be close to Cedar Point, and also Soak City, Challenge Park and Cedar Point’s famous Lake Erie Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camper Village At Cedar Point Hotel Sandusky
Camper Village At Cedar Point Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camper Village at Cedar Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.