We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camper Village at Cedar Point

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandusky
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camper Village at Cedar Point
Save
You added Camper Village at Cedar Point to your Saves list
1 Cedar Point Dr., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great location right across from the back entrance! Very clean facility. No firepits though. You get early entry into the park too! The kids had a blast. We had ordered pizza from one of the Cedar point restaurants that was delivered to our spot within 20 minutes, which was nice after being so exhausted from the park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Camper Village at Cedar Point, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    52
    12
    10
    2
See reviews for
96
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rossford, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This campground is expensive, but worth it ! It is very clean and has a free shuttle to multiple Cedar Point Park entrances. The sites at LIGHTHOUSE POINT have full hook-ups, cement patios, cement drives, large tables, and privacy landscaping. They have charcoal grills, but no fire pits. They have a free swimming pool. There is a free beach, too, near the hotels. Soak City and Cedar Point are within walking distance, if you choose not to take the shuttle. The park is not quiet, as it is near the coasters. There are some sites with views of coasters, some with views of Lake Erie, and some with views of the lighthouse. They have a self-serve laundry and a small supply store. They allow pets. Reservations are suggested well in advance, but occasionally you can get last minute cancellations. The only negatives: (besides the cost of the sites per night), are we wish that they had a playground and that they had more workers at the check-in area. We only stay at the sites in Lighthouse Point. We purchase season passes for our grandchildren and ourselves and spend multiple days during the season camping there. We did the same, 30 years ago with our children. There is always something to do, if you have the passes.They offer ticket discounts for those without passes and everyone gets in the park an hour early when staying at their accomodations.We will definitely camp here again next year with our 6 grandkids.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Camper Village at Cedar Point, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for the helpful comments about your visit. We appreciate hearing from our guests on how we can improve and are always looking to provide a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed over the past weekend for Halloweekends, arriving Friday night around 10pm and departing Sunday. Took advantage of early entry on Saturday morning to enjoy the rides and came back to the campsite to cook dinner and relax before going back to the park at dark to enjoy the haunted attractions but were very disappointed in the extreme crowding and 2+ hr wait for any of them. I physically cannot stand in line for 2 hrs or more and I think as resort guests staying onsite, we should be given some sort of Fastpass wristband for Halloweekends attractions so that we can enjoy them as well, just as we are given early entry to the park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Camper Village at Cedar Point, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. Feedback like yours is very helpful as we are always looking for ways to improve the experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have stayed at Camper's Village twice now and both times have been nice except for the rain this last visit. The bathrooms and site were clean. I love the closeness to the park and early entry. I love camping at Cedar Point because it allows me to come back and rest during the day. I do agree with the comment of a someone else that there has to be walkways between the roads to stop people from walking through your campground which is very rude. The only issue I really had was for the price I paid fort the site, it should have at least been full hookup and possible paved. I stay at lots of campgrounds around the country and for that price the sites are always full hookup.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Camper Village at Cedar Point, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your helpful feedback. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Ive been going to Cedar Point since I was a child. This was my first time staying at Camper Village. Probably won't return. When we called to reserve our site, we put in a request to be by the bathrooms, which we did not get. You cannot have a campfire, and the showers/bathrooms are very nasty and unclean. There was mold all over the shower certain liners. There are no activities going on, so basically if you plan on being at your campsite at all besides sleeping, plan on being bored.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Camper Village at Cedar Point, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about Camper Village. I apologize that we were not able to grant your request. Unfortunately, it is impossible to grant the request that many of our guests have regarding location. Any cleanliness issues are inexcusable and we will continue to monitor this situation. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have stayed at camper village three times now. We enjoy being able to come back to our site and cook.

There is an entrance not to far from the campground into the back area of cedar point. We usually walk but have had to use the amazing shuttle service at times in rainy weather.

The camp is clean and quiet, bathrooms are clean as well. If you bring a pet pick up after them. A previous camper neglected to pick up after their dog, which was a bummer because I've got two little ones wanting to run and play.

My daughter said the camp store was outrageous as far as price, make sure you stock up on any late night snacks!

Overall the value and convenience is great! We will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Camper Village at Cedar Point, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We appreciate your business. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is one of the nicest camp grounds you will ever stay at. We go at least once or twice a year and always for one of the Halloween weekends.Access to Cedar Point is good an getting in an hour before everyone else is a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Camper Village at Cedar Point, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for the compliment and for the continued business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camper Village at Cedar Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camper Village at Cedar Point

Address: 1 Cedar Point Dr., Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp at One of the Greatest Parks in Our Nation. That’s what it’s like at Camper Village, where you can “rough it” just steps away from the most exciting rides and attractions anywhere. Your site will be close to Cedar Point, and also Soak City, Challenge Park and Cedar Point’s famous Lake Erie Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camper Village At Cedar Point Hotel Sandusky
Camper Village At Cedar Point Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camper Village at Cedar Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.