We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Campground, not so nice Camp Store” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camper Village at Cedar Point

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandusky
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camper Village at Cedar Point
Save Saved
You added Camper Village at Cedar Point to your Saves list
1 Cedar Point Dr., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice Campground, not so nice Camp Store”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

When we first arrived they did not have our reservation on file (despite already paying almost $400 for it and making it 4 weeks prior!) Luckily we had our confirmation number other information to verify we had indeed made the reservation and they had a site available in the area we had requested. We had requested a full hook-up pull through site. We have a 36 ft. 5th wheel. This particular area is very nice, roomy for slides, and very well maintained with plenty of privacy. They have trees between the sites as well as plenty of room. The campground itself if very clean and well maintained as well as the shower/restroom facilities (we did not use, but took a look at.)

One problem we found was the camp store had zero rv/camper supplies. We needed a few accessories for our sewer hook up and extra black tank chemicals. Yes, we should have checked these before our departure, but every camp store we have ever been to, especially full hook-up private campground have carried them. We figured a campground with over 300 RV sites would be no different. The employee had suggested we try the nearest Lowe's for these supplies. I'm from Indiana an no Lowe's in my area sells these things. Maybe it's different in Sandusky, but we didn't have the time to trek 20 minutes for these things.

One more issue was the grass mowing at 6:30 am. Maybe most of the guests are up and out by then except for us.

Other than those things, this is a great campground and for being right next to the park, it wasn't that loud, at least not for us. The campground is very lit up, so if you need darkness to sleep, make sure you can take care of that somehow or you won't sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Camper Village at Cedar Point, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We will share your comments with store management so that they can review their inventory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    52
    12
    10
    2
See reviews for
95
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flint, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The campground has its benefits and downsides. First off, it is right next to Cedar Point - you can't get much closer. You can also get in 1 hour early AND buy discount tickets because it is a Cedar Fair Property. The bathrooms are always clean - which is a definite plus. We were located near the dump station in the electric only section and check out time is HORRIBLE. The smell is so bad you can't have the windows open on your camper or be anywhere near it. The spots are very close together, so you can hear if someone sneezes next to you. BUT. This is what you would expect with a campground close to such a huge amusement park. I would stay there again - but will ALWAYS request a spot AWAY from the dump station. Yuck.

Room Tip: Stay FAR away from the dump station!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Camper Village at Cedar Point, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Camper Village. Please do let us know your location requests and we will do our best to accommodate them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Following the rest of the reviews found on here, I decided to ask for a site away from the Mean Streak roller coaster and close to the washrooms. The site that we ended up getting was nothing short of amazing! I posted a picture to convey how much grass space we had. The extra space helped considering we had a dog :) We were on a full hook-up site close to the registration office (not in the lighthouse area).

It was the first time I ever went 'camping' and I was worried about having to use the public showers. I was relieved to see that the showers were remarkably clean (staff cleaned them regularly) and very private.

The camp site was also located very close to one of the entrances to Cedar Point (approximately a five minute walk). Being so close to the park let us have lunches and dinners back at our camper...this saved us a lot of money!

For anyone wanting to camp in the 'traditional' sense, you may want to skip staying here. Roller blading, fire pits, biking and such are not allowed. If you are just looking to stay within close proximity to the park while at the same time receiving discounted tickets, stay at Camper's village :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney MI.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A little pricey, but worth it. We stayed in the Lighthouse Point section, right by the pool in a corner lot. The site was nice with full hookup, picnic table and grill. All sites have a little row of bushes between sites making it feel a little private. Most people are rarely at their sites anyway. It was wonderful to be right at the park, especially when there was a short huge thunderstorm. Plus, it was smoking hot (95+). We just went back to the RV and ate lunch during the storm or when we needed drinks, then went right back to the park. Had no problems with rest rooms. The entire campground was clean. We would stay here again, the convenience is wonderful.

Room Tip: Stay in the Lighthouse Point section. This is the newer section. I think it is a little more expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have camped here for the last 6 years. We usually get a full hook up, back in site. There is a concrete pad to park on with water, sewer, cable and electric. There are tall pines in between each site for privacy. Also a grill and picnic table are on site. You get early access to the park (1 hour early) as well as discounted tickets. We have tried many sites and I will tell you about some of them! Sites 284-306 are full hook up back in sites. Sites 284-292 are not bad, they back up to the street, but you have a close walk to the entrance. Sites 292-306 also have a nice close walk to the entrance and some room in back (we take our dog and he has some space). FYI, DO NOT bring your bike or roller blades! Sites 245-250 are near the pool...short walk to swim (there is also a hot tub). There is a shuttle bus that will pick you up by the pool and take you to any entrance. Side note, if you want to go to Millennium Force 1st, have them drop you off at the Marina Entrance! Sites 261-283 are private, however the Mean Streak is behind you and it is loud. The showers and bathrooms are clean. They have laundry in both shower areas on the "new" side. On the "old" side, the electric only sites, there are gravel drives. Sites 145-165 have a lot of room. Sites 120-130 are near the waterpark and can be loud.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at Camper Village recently while at Cedar Point. The campground doesn't allow tents. It rained and hailed while we were there and you know why they ban tents. We stayed in the older section that looks like a wheel(site 215). I'm sure that isn't the way to design a campground. It was a pull-thru site next to bathroom/shower. There were many people cutting through the sites to get the bathroom. It's Ok for a kid or two, but adults should know better. There is also no campfires which was sad to hear. We went midweek and there campground was 1/2 full.

The noise from the park was hardly noticable. The entrance to the park was close by. Campground swimming pool was open until 11PM. You can also use the pool at the hotel. Only WiFi was in the hotel lobby. WiFi should be avaiable in the campground as most camps have it.

Staying here gets you in the park 1 hour earlier as well as $32 discounted tickets. Plus we didn't pay for parking at the park. The $17 causeway fee was taken off our bill. We also had an electrical problem with the RV and called the recommended RV service tech (Ryan Sawyer)who fixed the problem while we were in the park.

Overall, staying at Camper Village was worth it to our family in terms of being so close and getting into the park early. $70 for electric only hookups is steep, but with discount tickets and being able to come back to camper to eat was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in electric only site. Right next to water park which was great. Easy walk to everything. Whole resort area beautiful and very clean. Site itself clean. Electric hookup on passenger side. Bathrooms mostly clean. NO DISHWASHING STATION which is a real problem with no water hookup. Water park fun but on small side. Would probably go back but consider full hookups or stay at one of the hotels which look awesome

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camper Village at Cedar Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camper Village at Cedar Point

Address: 1 Cedar Point Dr., Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty lodging in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp at One of the Greatest Parks in Our Nation. That’s what it’s like at Camper Village, where you can “rough it” just steps away from the most exciting rides and attractions anywhere. Your site will be close to Cedar Point, and also Soak City, Challenge Park and Cedar Point’s famous Lake Erie Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camper Village At Cedar Point Hotel Sandusky
Camper Village At Cedar Point Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camper Village at Cedar Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.