We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another pleasant weekend in Sandusky” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6100 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2X Points w/Your Stay
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
“Another pleasant weekend in Sandusky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was our third trip Halloween weekend to Sandusky and we stayed at the Hampton all three times. The prices are fair the free breakfast is tasty the staff was nice the common area was great for card games etc.. We will most likely be back next year

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    73
    36
    13
    7
See reviews for
100
34
3
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beamsville, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location, very close to Kalahari Water Park and lots of restaurants and shopping. Good value. Comfortable rooms, comfortable beds. Very nice breakfast area, with a generous breakfast offering (great coffee). Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, OH
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed at this Hampton Inn as it was close to Sawmill Creek where we were attending a convention, and the price was less than the convention rate at SMC. Tack on free breakfast & Hilton Honors points & it was a no-brainer! So glad I decided the 5 min. drive was worth the savings, because this is a great little Hampton Inn! We even talked a friend into booking a room there instead of driving home.

Rooms were clean & comfortable. They provided us with a toothbrush that one of us forgot to pack, and the cookies & donut holes they set out in the afternoon & evening were very tasty! The pool was on the small side, but the area was clean. Besides some annoying kids in there at the same time, and the tiny towels they set out to use, the kids enjoyed the pool & hot tub.

The free breakfast was wonderful! Plenty to choose from and everything was fresh. Staff was helpful at all times. The heating system in the room was nice & quiet. We heard a few doors close a bit loudly, but requested top floor (3rd) so as not to hear anyone above us.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room on the top floor. Have learned my lesson in the past!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife organized a weekend trip to Cedar Point over Halloweekends just before our anniversary trip to Mexico, and this is the hotel that she found for us to stay in after a day on the roller coast. It can be a bit dicy when it comes to Sandusky hotels, but this one is above reproach. Great value. Clean. Great staff. Good breakfast. Secure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel was fantastic!! The front desk staff was helpful and welcoming. There was a lady single handedly running the breakfast, keeping everything well stocked and as well as helping people to make waffles. At night games were set up in the lobby with fresh popcorn. There were even to go bags with breakfast for those who did not have time to sit down. The cleanliness of the entire property was impeccable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Fitness center too small and too close to the pool. Service is good. Room is OK, carpet a little dated, Security is good. Staff is friendly. Free coffee is always a bonus. Location is close to shopping and resturants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed 1 night for halloweekends at Cedar Point. We played at the park all day, and checked in around 10pm. I had called ahead to let them know we'd do a late check-in and Brian was very friendly on the phone. When we arrived, he was again very courteous and gave us all the info we needed. I asked about late night pizza places, and he told us Papa John's would be the best bet, and they deliver straight to the room.

The whirlpool is open until 1am which is awesome. We were just too tired to use it.

The hotel looked clean inside and out, and was well lit. We did the cursory check for bed bugs, and found no evidence of them or any other bugs.

We stayed in a room with two doubles, and the beds were that size. I know some people have complained that the doubles were the size of twins, but they weren't. They were definitely double beds. I'm not sure they were the best beds in the world, but I slept soundly, and woke up without any soreness any where. There is also a sign in the elevator listing all the upgrades they are in the process of making between now and 2014, and they are upgrading to queen beds instead of doubles, so that's something to look forward to.

Some people have also complained that the duvets were lumpy, which is true, but since I don't sleep ON the duvet, who cares? I was warm all night. However, if you're super prissy and high maintenance to the point where if everything is not absolutely perfect, this place is not for you. If you're a normal person who is happy with clean facilities, and comfy beds, it's worth the few extra minutes travel time from Cedar Point.

The thermostat is digital and adjusts by 2 degree increments. It was very quiet, and did not keep me awake. It also heated up the room quickly.

The hot breakfast was great. They had fresh fruit (including pineapple), yogurt, western omelets, home fries, bagels, english muffins, wheat bread, pastries, muffins, oatmeal with several types of toppings, apple juice, orange juice, 3 types of coffee, lots of different hot teas, water, waffles, individual cereals and hard boiled eggs. If you can't find something to eat in that you're too difficult.

I'm very sensitive to the smell of smoke, and didn't smell it anywhere on the property.

Also, they have great vending machines with lots of variety in both snacks and drinks. The vending machines also have toothbrushes and otc medications.

The furniture does have a somewhat worn look to it (at least in our room), but that's being upgraded too.

Our room was on the 3rd floor and two rooms away from the elevator. I never noticed elevator noise like I have in some hotels.

We only spent 13 hours in the hotel but the whole time was pleasant, and I'll definitely come back if we do this trip again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms by the elevator are still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central

Address: 6100 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#3 Business Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central Hotel Sandusky
Sandusky Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.