We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated, average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6100 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Home Depot Card w/Stay!
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Tecumseh, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Outdated, average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Used Hilton points to stay at this hotel on family trip to Cedar Point roller coaster park. The only way I could justify this hotel was because of the points (40,000 points per night is borderline unacceptable for the very average standard of this hotel).

The hotel just has a feel of being outdated and not up to the quality and decor levels of the newer Hamptons.

Bathroom was really small. Water pressure in shower was weak. Double beds instead of queen beds in twin room made for uncomfortable sleep for parents. Mattress pads fell off both beds in night. Overall small room not really suited for a family.

Location is about 5 miles from park entrance, close to highway exit. Restaurants and shops are fairly close by.

Bottom line - if I was paying for hotel and not using points, would probably choose another hotel as there are lots of newer hotel options in same location.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavin l, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty as an Hhonors member and we appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry for the condition of your guest room. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. I’ve also asked our maintenance team to check the water pressure of the faucets and showerheads. We hope you will come visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    56
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
63
22
2
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
davis ca
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I used my Hilton Points to stay in this hotel. It was 60,000 points and way overpriced in my opinion. The beds were comfortable but the carpet felt dirty and it was fraying between the bathroom and the room. The carpet was dark so it was hard to tell if was dirty or not. The indoor pool was so heavy chlorinated that it really burned your eyes. It was 103 degrees outside and the pool room was not air conditioned so it was pretty unbearable to be in that room unless you were in the pool. I had two young adults with me that wanted to swim and I wanted to be with them. The fitness room consisted of just 3 machines. Very small. There were many hotels in the area advertising rates around $70.00. Since we were just looking for a "crash pad" for 1 night I wish that I would have used one of the other hotels and saved my 60,000 points. Breakfast was poor. Omelettes were pre-made and I would bet not by any-one at the hotel. No real 1/2 and 1/2 just little containers where refridgeration is optional.

Room Tip: I would place a 2 1/2 rating on this hotel. Staff was nice. Grounds were well kept. It was just t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton in Sandusky. Of course to go to Cedar Point and the islands. The hotel is very dated. I went into the toilet area (the shower and toilet are seperate from the sink) shut the door and the handle fell off. They switched rooms for us. On our last night there, we went to the pool, which also has a hot tub. The chemicals were left out on a table and the smell of chemicals was so strong you could not stay in the area. My eyes are still burning. The bathroom in the pool area was full of waste and overflowing. I and two other families complained and they could nothing about it til morning. Kinda sucked for us because we were leaving. We decided to go for a quick swim before we left. The toilet was still backed upped and covered with waste. The hot tub was overflowing all over the area. It was a mess. The hotel had one computer for guests in the lobby area. Someone had let their kid get on and had crashed the only computer.
On a good note, all the employees were friendly and as helpful as they could be. The room was clean as always. Hamptons is my favorite hotel. I just think this one needs some updates.

Room Tip: Get your room several weeks in advance. This hotel fills up quickly over the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavin l, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. Unclean rooms and common areas-especially the pool, is not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our hotel meets the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, OH
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We usually stay in Hamptons when we travel because you can count on them to be clean, comfortable, with a good breakfast. I found this Hampton to be no different with the added surprise of a wonderful staff. Pool/exercise area was clean and kept up (there were clean towels even at 11:30 at night!). Only drawback was the price. We stayed on July 5th, 2012 so it was fairly expensive, even for a Hampton.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary esther
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

After reading reviews of other properties in the area, this hotel sounded like the best option for our Cedar Point trip. My family was greeted by a very friendly young man at the front desk. He was helpful and perhaps the kindest front desk person I've ever seen. Our rooms were lackluster at best with very uncomfortable bedding and a fairly tight squeeze. Bathroom wallpaper peeling and in need of repair. Room was clean and very quiet. Housekeeping staff friendly and accomodating. Morning breakfast was reasonable with hot oatmeal, variety of cereal, yogurt and waffles. Coffee was available 24hrs a day and very much appreciated. The breakfast attendant was extremely friendly and polite to guests. If you are heading to Cedar Point, this isn't a bad option. Keep in mind that you will probably be in the park all day and will be returning here for showers and rest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

To give you context, I usually stay about 60 hotel nights per year. About 20 of those nights are Hampton Inn's. I generally find Hampton Inn's to be clean and to have friendly staff. We checked in about 3PM and found a shower curtain and dirty socks in front of our door. We entered the room and found it had not been vacuumed. The room was hopelessly out of date and the beds were very small (full instead of the normal two queens). We talked to the desk staff and instead of moving us, sent up a grumpy housekeeper who proceeded to remove the socks and give us a new shower curtain. The breakfast was not well stocked and even ran out of coffee in both pots because the breakfast attendant was busy handling the delivery of food from the food service truck. We waited about 30 minutes and eventually gave up on coffee that morning. The manager should have been assisting the poor breakfast attendant. No excuse. She was running around trying to handle everything and was not friendly, but I wouldn't have been either, working at such a mismanaged hotel. We were here on vacation and I was embarrassed to have taken my family to such a poor quality hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us. We are glad you chose our hotel while you were in Sandusky and we apologize for the issues you experienced with staff and housekeeping. Unsatisfactory assistance and unclean rooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing these to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our staff is as pleasant and helpful as possible and that our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards so that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. We hope you will give us another chance to show you our true Hamptonality if you return to the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed at this Hampton Inn for a family getaway to Cedar Point. Used the tripadvisor ranking plus rate (advanced purchase rate online) to determine our hotel.Front desk was friendly; allowed for an early check in (2:30pm instead of 4:00pm) Abbie at the front desk was friendly and provided all area info.Room located on first floor-great because it was close to pool and breakfast lobby area.Property in my estimation is older. The room we checked into was a standard nonsmoking with two double beds (wish they had queens for extra room) was clean. No microwaves or refrigerators-which wasn't an issue with us since we didn't stay in our room for long. I don't believe they are using the hilton bedding(matresses)-seemed a bit too springy or maybe just old and abused throughout the years.Also had problems with shower-pressure was fine, however, the temperature was scalding hot.In order for you not to have the scalding water, you had to turn knob toward cold, which affected the pressure-which was extremely low-Not a very good shower.In addition, my children did not take a second shower since they were traumatized by the first.Only reported at check out since we got busy with going to the park.Pool was clean and a decent size.Breakfast had more options than other places we have stayed.Really enjoyed the toppings for the hot oatmeal.Wish they would place the syrup next to the waffle maker instead of around the corner out of sight?? If you just want a place to stay that has reasonable rates plus is clean with a good breakfast and just a short distance from the park, then this is fine.Resorts at Cedar Point, in my estmation are a bit pricey for what you get. Kalahari and Great Wolf are great for colder weather months since who wants to pay high rates in the summer for an indoor water park. Seems rather silly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central Hotel
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central Hotel Sandusky
Hampton Inn Sandusky
Sandusky Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central Ohio
Address: 6100 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#6 Business Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.