We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6100 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points w/Your Stay
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
davis ca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I used my Hilton Points to stay in this hotel. It was 60,000 points and way overpriced in my opinion. The beds were comfortable but the carpet felt dirty and it was fraying between the bathroom and the room. The carpet was dark so it was hard to tell if was dirty or not. The indoor pool was so heavy chlorinated that it really burned your eyes. It was 103 degrees outside and the pool room was not air conditioned so it was pretty unbearable to be in that room unless you were in the pool. I had two young adults with me that wanted to swim and I wanted to be with them. The fitness room consisted of just 3 machines. Very small. There were many hotels in the area advertising rates around $70.00. Since we were just looking for a "crash pad" for 1 night I wish that I would have used one of the other hotels and saved my 60,000 points. Breakfast was poor. Omelettes were pre-made and I would bet not by any-one at the hotel. No real 1/2 and 1/2 just little containers where refridgeration is optional.

Room Tip: I would place a 2 1/2 rating on this hotel. Staff was nice. Grounds were well kept. It was just t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    81
    39
    13
    7
See reviews for
112
39
5
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton in Sandusky. Of course to go to Cedar Point and the islands. The hotel is very dated. I went into the toilet area (the shower and toilet are seperate from the sink) shut the door and the handle fell off. They switched rooms for us. On our last night there, we went to the pool, which also has a hot tub. The chemicals were left out on a table and the smell of chemicals was so strong you could not stay in the area. My eyes are still burning. The bathroom in the pool area was full of waste and overflowing. I and two other families complained and they could nothing about it til morning. Kinda sucked for us because we were leaving. We decided to go for a quick swim before we left. The toilet was still backed upped and covered with waste. The hot tub was overflowing all over the area. It was a mess. The hotel had one computer for guests in the lobby area. Someone had let their kid get on and had crashed the only computer.
On a good note, all the employees were friendly and as helpful as they could be. The room was clean as always. Hamptons is my favorite hotel. I just think this one needs some updates.

Room Tip: Get your room several weeks in advance. This hotel fills up quickly over the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavin l, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. Unclean rooms and common areas-especially the pool, is not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our hotel meets the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, OH
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We usually stay in Hamptons when we travel because you can count on them to be clean, comfortable, with a good breakfast. I found this Hampton to be no different with the added surprise of a wonderful staff. Pool/exercise area was clean and kept up (there were clean towels even at 11:30 at night!). Only drawback was the price. We stayed on July 5th, 2012 so it was fairly expensive, even for a Hampton.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary esther
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

After reading reviews of other properties in the area, this hotel sounded like the best option for our Cedar Point trip. My family was greeted by a very friendly young man at the front desk. He was helpful and perhaps the kindest front desk person I've ever seen. Our rooms were lackluster at best with very uncomfortable bedding and a fairly tight squeeze. Bathroom wallpaper peeling and in need of repair. Room was clean and very quiet. Housekeeping staff friendly and accomodating. Morning breakfast was reasonable with hot oatmeal, variety of cereal, yogurt and waffles. Coffee was available 24hrs a day and very much appreciated. The breakfast attendant was extremely friendly and polite to guests. If you are heading to Cedar Point, this isn't a bad option. Keep in mind that you will probably be in the park all day and will be returning here for showers and rest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

To give you context, I usually stay about 60 hotel nights per year. About 20 of those nights are Hampton Inn's. I generally find Hampton Inn's to be clean and to have friendly staff. We checked in about 3PM and found a shower curtain and dirty socks in front of our door. We entered the room and found it had not been vacuumed. The room was hopelessly out of date and the beds were very small (full instead of the normal two queens). We talked to the desk staff and instead of moving us, sent up a grumpy housekeeper who proceeded to remove the socks and give us a new shower curtain. The breakfast was not well stocked and even ran out of coffee in both pots because the breakfast attendant was busy handling the delivery of food from the food service truck. We waited about 30 minutes and eventually gave up on coffee that morning. The manager should have been assisting the poor breakfast attendant. No excuse. She was running around trying to handle everything and was not friendly, but I wouldn't have been either, working at such a mismanaged hotel. We were here on vacation and I was embarrassed to have taken my family to such a poor quality hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us. We are glad you chose our hotel while you were in Sandusky and we apologize for the issues you experienced with staff and housekeeping. Unsatisfactory assistance and unclean rooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing these to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our staff is as pleasant and helpful as possible and that our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards so that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. We hope you will give us another chance to show you our true Hamptonality if you return to the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed at this Hampton Inn for a family getaway to Cedar Point. Used the tripadvisor ranking plus rate (advanced purchase rate online) to determine our hotel.Front desk was friendly; allowed for an early check in (2:30pm instead of 4:00pm) Abbie at the front desk was friendly and provided all area info.Room located on first floor-great because it was close to pool and breakfast lobby area.Property in my estimation is older. The room we checked into was a standard nonsmoking with two double beds (wish they had queens for extra room) was clean. No microwaves or refrigerators-which wasn't an issue with us since we didn't stay in our room for long. I don't believe they are using the hilton bedding(matresses)-seemed a bit too springy or maybe just old and abused throughout the years.Also had problems with shower-pressure was fine, however, the temperature was scalding hot.In order for you not to have the scalding water, you had to turn knob toward cold, which affected the pressure-which was extremely low-Not a very good shower.In addition, my children did not take a second shower since they were traumatized by the first.Only reported at check out since we got busy with going to the park.Pool was clean and a decent size.Breakfast had more options than other places we have stayed.Really enjoyed the toppings for the hot oatmeal.Wish they would place the syrup next to the waffle maker instead of around the corner out of sight?? If you just want a place to stay that has reasonable rates plus is clean with a good breakfast and just a short distance from the park, then this is fine.Resorts at Cedar Point, in my estmation are a bit pricey for what you get. Kalahari and Great Wolf are great for colder weather months since who wants to pay high rates in the summer for an indoor water park. Seems rather silly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Fast and friendly. Checked in about 11 pm after a long day at Cedar Point. Check in literally took less than a minute. I had paid online prior and they handed me the key. The rooms were very comfortable and felt clean. The bathrooms need more bar soap for a family of four but not a big deal. Some of the grout in the bathroom needed replacing and there were a couple of marks on the wallpaper in the bathroom. These were minor problems. The breakfast was a nice bonus and much larger than we expected. The kids visited the pool in the morning before check out. They loved the pool and the hot tub. It's not a huge pool but it made the kids happy. Check out was also a breeze and everyone that we encountered was friendly. We will definitely stay at this location again. Look for discounts online and avoid staying at one of the hotels closer to Cedar Point, it's not worth it. The trip from Cedar Point to this hotel was approximately 10 minutes, it is not a long haul by any stretch of the imagination. Stay here and I think you will be satisfied if you just want a nice place to sleep without all of the frills.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Breakers Express
Breakers Express
#8 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Sandusky
Fairfield Inn Sandusky
#12 of 34 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central

Address: 6100 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
#3 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#3 Family Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central Hotel Sandusky
Sandusky Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.