We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but very dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6100 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points w/Your Stay
Ranked #3 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
mary esther
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but very dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

After reading reviews of other properties in the area, this hotel sounded like the best option for our Cedar Point trip. My family was greeted by a very friendly young man at the front desk. He was helpful and perhaps the kindest front desk person I've ever seen. Our rooms were lackluster at best with very uncomfortable bedding and a fairly tight squeeze. Bathroom wallpaper peeling and in need of repair. Room was clean and very quiet. Housekeeping staff friendly and accomodating. Morning breakfast was reasonable with hot oatmeal, variety of cereal, yogurt and waffles. Coffee was available 24hrs a day and very much appreciated. The breakfast attendant was extremely friendly and polite to guests. If you are heading to Cedar Point, this isn't a bad option. Keep in mind that you will probably be in the park all day and will be returning here for showers and rest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    66
    31
    10
    7
See reviews for
84
29
2
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

To give you context, I usually stay about 60 hotel nights per year. About 20 of those nights are Hampton Inn's. I generally find Hampton Inn's to be clean and to have friendly staff. We checked in about 3PM and found a shower curtain and dirty socks in front of our door. We entered the room and found it had not been vacuumed. The room was hopelessly out of date and the beds were very small (full instead of the normal two queens). We talked to the desk staff and instead of moving us, sent up a grumpy housekeeper who proceeded to remove the socks and give us a new shower curtain. The breakfast was not well stocked and even ran out of coffee in both pots because the breakfast attendant was busy handling the delivery of food from the food service truck. We waited about 30 minutes and eventually gave up on coffee that morning. The manager should have been assisting the poor breakfast attendant. No excuse. She was running around trying to handle everything and was not friendly, but I wouldn't have been either, working at such a mismanaged hotel. We were here on vacation and I was embarrassed to have taken my family to such a poor quality hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us. We are glad you chose our hotel while you were in Sandusky and we apologize for the issues you experienced with staff and housekeeping. Unsatisfactory assistance and unclean rooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing these to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our staff is as pleasant and helpful as possible and that our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards so that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. We hope you will give us another chance to show you our true Hamptonality if you return to the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed at this Hampton Inn for a family getaway to Cedar Point. Used the tripadvisor ranking plus rate (advanced purchase rate online) to determine our hotel.Front desk was friendly; allowed for an early check in (2:30pm instead of 4:00pm) Abbie at the front desk was friendly and provided all area info.Room located on first floor-great because it was close to pool and breakfast lobby area.Property in my estimation is older. The room we checked into was a standard nonsmoking with two double beds (wish they had queens for extra room) was clean. No microwaves or refrigerators-which wasn't an issue with us since we didn't stay in our room for long. I don't believe they are using the hilton bedding(matresses)-seemed a bit too springy or maybe just old and abused throughout the years.Also had problems with shower-pressure was fine, however, the temperature was scalding hot.In order for you not to have the scalding water, you had to turn knob toward cold, which affected the pressure-which was extremely low-Not a very good shower.In addition, my children did not take a second shower since they were traumatized by the first.Only reported at check out since we got busy with going to the park.Pool was clean and a decent size.Breakfast had more options than other places we have stayed.Really enjoyed the toppings for the hot oatmeal.Wish they would place the syrup next to the waffle maker instead of around the corner out of sight?? If you just want a place to stay that has reasonable rates plus is clean with a good breakfast and just a short distance from the park, then this is fine.Resorts at Cedar Point, in my estmation are a bit pricey for what you get. Kalahari and Great Wolf are great for colder weather months since who wants to pay high rates in the summer for an indoor water park. Seems rather silly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Fast and friendly. Checked in about 11 pm after a long day at Cedar Point. Check in literally took less than a minute. I had paid online prior and they handed me the key. The rooms were very comfortable and felt clean. The bathrooms need more bar soap for a family of four but not a big deal. Some of the grout in the bathroom needed replacing and there were a couple of marks on the wallpaper in the bathroom. These were minor problems. The breakfast was a nice bonus and much larger than we expected. The kids visited the pool in the morning before check out. They loved the pool and the hot tub. It's not a huge pool but it made the kids happy. Check out was also a breeze and everyone that we encountered was friendly. We will definitely stay at this location again. Look for discounts online and avoid staying at one of the hotels closer to Cedar Point, it's not worth it. The trip from Cedar Point to this hotel was approximately 10 minutes, it is not a long haul by any stretch of the imagination. Stay here and I think you will be satisfied if you just want a nice place to sleep without all of the frills.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here to go to Cedar Point and the location of the hotel was great. Walmart is only a mile away along with several food places also nearby. The pool was awesome warmer than most and indoors, and also the hot tub was hotter than any other I have been in.
The issue we had was that it had a shower that had very low pressure. They boast about the water pik shower heads they have, which they did, but the pressure was so low that it only allows for the use of two of the settings. I normally take 5 minute showers while on vacation but the lower pressure made it take over 15 minutes to actually get the soap off and my wife did not dare to wash her hair as it would have taken a couple of hours to be done. I know people are trying to be "green" but I can tell you that it took me twice the water to do the same job with the lower pressure and I would bet that higher pressure would cause this hotel to use less water.
The staff was helpful and accomidating and the breakfast was decent. We were on the lower floor so it did not affect us but the elevator got stuck while were there and it had shocked the employee when the doors all of the sudden opened.
We had a room with the two double beds cause we had 4 people and it was very cozy. There were plenty of pillows and the beds were comfortable to sleep on. There was not a safe, refridgerator, or microwave so if that is important to you be advised. The air conditioner was set on 58 when we entered the room but I would not blame the hotel for that it was probably the last occupant that did that.
Overall I would reccommend this hotel, it was clean and in a great spot. Make sure that you get the right hotel as there is another Hampton a few miles down on the same road and I have seen less than stellar reviews of the other hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Pretty standard Hampton Inn. I have stayed here multiple times since my employer has a rate here. Even then, it is sometimes possible to do better with AAA.

The place is pretty busy, so the breakfast room is always crowded. The past few visits the “fresh baked cookies” at the front desk have been absent.

Front desk staff is hit or miss. They range from super friendly and helpful to exasperated and rude. Unfortunately, this visit I ended up with the rude one.

The room was nice and clean. Bed was very comfortable. There was a welcome back note with a bottle of water and bag of Cheetos on a table in the room. Towels were a bit on the thin side. The tub and the sink had some drainage problems. Hallway noise and sound between rooms can be a problem depending upon room location and the type of guests around you.

Elevators are slow so plan ahead if you need to meet anyone at a specific time.

It is located five to ten minutes off of the turnpike. If you continue north from the hotel you will find a large number of chain restaurants, strip malls, etc.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Took our little person to Cedar Point and stay at Hampton Inn on most trips. Did not disappoint.
Beds are constantly comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central

Address: 6100 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
#3 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#4 Business Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central Hotel Sandusky
Sandusky Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.