We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Sandusky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn Sandusky to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Sandusky
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6220 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Marriott rates this hotel as a category 6. It shouldn't be. Yes it's in a good location but the hotel it's self is old and needs updating. My room was right across from the dining area. There was a loud party going on until late and I could hear them. For breakfast it was good because we could grab the food and go back to our room since seating was limited. Breakfast was very good. The manager, Kevin, was very nice with my check out. All and all the rooms were comfortable but shouldn't be rated a category 6 in my opinion since I do know my hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your input and compliment about breakfast. The good news is we will be doing some updates this winter and expanding on the breakfast area. I hope to see you again next season for Cedar Point!!!
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    105
    53
    12
    6
See reviews for
146
51
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Overall a good experience. We only stayed over 1 night and there were some issues with my card being charged too much but Kevin, the Manager, helped to straighten things out and handled the situation very professionally and was calm and curteous with me.. even though at the moment I was upset. The rooms were great, as with each Fairfield Marriott I have stayed in throughout Indiana, Ohio, and Illinois.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I am so happy I could help you with that!!! Thank you for choosing my hotel and all your warm compliments I hope you come back real soon!
thank you,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is my familes 4th stay in the past 6 months at this facility and they consistently provide excellent service in every aspect of hospitality. I would like to commend Kevin Bednarek (General Manager) with a special shout out to front desk customer service rep Andrea for providing outstanding customer service and making us feel right at home! I travel worldwide with Marriott being my preferred hotel of choice. Even though Fairfield Inn Sandusky is considered a category 3 hotel they consistently provide us with customer service that most category 6 hotels could learn from. Thank you for making our vacation get always comfortable and worry free, see you soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I am so happy that each and everyone of your stays here at the hotel has surpassed the high standard that Marriott requires for all its properties! Every year myself and the staff work hard to make sure that everyone of our guests feels special and remembers there stay for years to come!!
Its why I am in this business.
thank you,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here on a Monday night after spending the day at Cedar Point. Very friendly people. We knew we wouldn't check in until late, and I had made reservation thru the Marriott website. On my reservation I'd requested a rollaway, but to be safe I called during the day to confirm. I was told by the pleasant woman on the phone that the bed request was noted and would be in the room when we arrived. She was so quick with her response that I didn't believe her....too convenient I thought. Well, we arrived at our room about 9pm and sure enough, there it was! Thankfully.

Next morning breakfast went very smooth...it was not overly crowded at all as some have noted. In fact it was quite empty...we were there at 8 a.m. We did need to get some extra towels, and I will say they were quite 'thin' from over use, but the folks were pleasant and gave them to us promptly.

The only negative was that we needed a blanket for the rollaway. I went down to request one and they said they only had one left and it was presently in the laundry. However, the woman offered to bring it to us when it was done, which would be about an hour. Well and hour came and went, we were all beat and went to bed. The blanket never came...fortunately, we did have a light blanket in the car so we retrieved it.

All it all it was a nice place, clean, breakfast was adequate, very friendly people....a little sparse with amenities and creature comforts, but all in all, we'd return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Its great to hear that you enjoyed my staff and I am also glad that Andrea my front desk manager took care of you on the roll away and got it to your room. Its great to hear most of all that we leave a lasting good impression on our guests and I am glad that we did that for you!
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

When our original accommodations had been in fear of a flood while we were staying in Freemont OH. We were able to find great accommodations at the this hotel. Andrea the Front Office Manager was so sweet and helpful. She has great customer service and was very accommodating when she had seen that my mother in law and I had been going to from hotel to hotel and striking out on rooms due to the Dance Competition that we were in town for had taken over majority of the hotel rooms in the area. The hotel was clean, comfortable and just what was needed for the weary travelers that we had become. The general manager Kevin was also helpful in getting us directions to Marble Head. I can't say enough about this hotel, and when you work in the hotel business as I do it is comforting to know that there are other hotels out there that will go out of their way for their guests as this hotel does. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is staying in the Sandusky area. Thank you again to Andrea and Kevin and their staff for a great stay.

Room Tip: Would definitely stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you so much!!! Andrea I really appreciate your review. Its great to here from a fellow employee in the hotel industry on how my hotel is doing. I am so happy that you recognized how much we enjoy are guests and try to make them feel like family!! I also am glad that you found the stay clean and comfortable. Thank you again,
Kevin and Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

If you are planning a visit to Sandusky Ohio, (Cedar Point) I would recommend this hotel. We were greeted right away with a staff that was inviting, helpful and courteous. Hotel was clean and appeared to be cared for.

Though the rooms could have been a bit bigger, they did have a cramped feel and as well as the restroom. Towels seemed to be inventoried and well worn.

The notice left on the desk advising me of "the rooms inventory" and what it would cost me if I "Decided I liked it enough to take home with me" made me feel in a much less "Marriott" type hotel like one with a number as it's name...

The pull out bed my son slept on was terrible, in fact it was so bad, the floor was a better option... However once reported to the staff, they quickly arrived with extra bedding to help soften the bed...

Breakfast was provided, and there was ample parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Fairfield Inn and Suites Sandusky! The staff and myself are glad that you had a good stay and since your review I have started putting Marriott towels into the inventory stream.
Thank you,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a reasonably priced hotel that's not too far away from Cedar Point. The room was clean and nicely furnished. Beds were a little soft and sunk into the middle, but after two full days at Cedar Point, we crashed and slept well. Can't rate the pillows as I always bring my own. Breakfast room was a bit crowded the third morning, but there was a good selection. I would definitely stay there again as it was a reasonable price and decent proximity to the park. Good variety of restaurants close. Our room was right by the elevator, so occasionally heard the "ding" as it arrived on our floor, but other than that, the room was very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay!! It pleases the staff and myself to know that you had a clean room and a comfortable stay!
thank you,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Sandusky

Address: 6220 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Sandusky 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn and Suites in Sandusky by Marriott was just completely rennovated in May of 2011 and all our rooms now have mini-fridges and microwaves. We also now have a market that has snacks and food items. Enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub and start the morning off with a free deluxe continental breakfast which includes scrambled eggs, bacon and sausge. Come and stay with us where you get a nice clean room and your part of our family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Fairfield Sandusky
Sandusky Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Sandusky Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Sandusky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.