We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok choice for CP trip.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Sandusky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Sandusky to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Sandusky
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6220 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
midwest
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Ok choice for CP trip.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Decent, clean hotel. Room was nicely furnished. Bed comfy but pillows were terrible. Everyone commented on how it kinda ruined their sleep. I rolled mine over into a ball to get some support out of it. Fridge and microwave were handy. Strange place for shelf on corner near bathroom, we almost kept hitting our head on it as we came out of bathroom and turn the corner into room. Sink is in room, not bathroom. Lights witch for bathroom is outside bathroom for some reason. Pull out couch very uncomfortable (for our teenager). Pool is tiny but clean. Breakfast at 8:30 am next day was packed, no place to sit, pretty limited selection. Good location in quiet area and seemed nicer than other hotels. Manny's Sports bar across street (small place, parking in back) was great upscale bar with delicious fresh food. About a 15 minute drive to CP. Best Western across the street looked new and inviting, going to try there next time.

Room Tip: try a room in the back, traffic from the road in front of hotelcould be heard in am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
I am glad you found my hotel decent and clean. As for the pillows they are two goose down and two foam per bed these are required by Marriott to have because they are what the guests have requested throughout all the Marriott properties and are often purchased online by guests. I personally carry my own firmer pillows when I travel. The breakfast room was so crowded because we sell out every night at our hotel and we have a vast selection of breakfast food such as fresh scrambled eggs, fresh sausage patties, waffles, two different types of yogurts, fresh fruit, muffins, donuts, bagels, croissants, english muffins, white bread, wheat bread, whole grain bread, three different cereals to choose from, fresh oatmeal, instant oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, three different juices, fresh mixed tropical fruit and danish. All provided for free by the hotel along with our indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center. Thank you again for choosing the Fairfield Inn and Suites where we treat the guest like family.
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    105
    54
    12
    6
See reviews for
148
52
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Used reward points to find a Marriott close to Cedar Point and this was it. It is 10-20 minutes from Cedar Point but the rooms were dated. For a quick night in preparation for Cedar Point it was okay but if I had paid $140 for the room, I would have been disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Although I am surprised you found the hotel dated it was completely renovated inside two years ago this past May following Marriott's hotel policies on keeping a bright and up to date facility the inside of the hotel is Marriott's new green tea color for all Fairfield Inn's across the U.S.! The rates of this hotel are set to match competitively with all hotels in the area and I try very hard to give the best possible rate to all my guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again real soon!
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

You get what this chain is known for clean rooms (bright crisp colors), reasonable price for brand (149+*), friendly and helpful staff (Janet-FD & Kevin-GM), Comfy bed (coming from owner of sleep number bed), room amenities (basics you would expect), wifi, and breakfast (the basics however hubby enjoyed sausage and coffee the most.) Yeah, hotels at Cedar point, but would have cost us 184+34(park discount for staying there)+ 20 breakfast and instead we spent 149+39(military discount). Savings of $50/day. Didn't use pool & fitness room, but looked clean. Also, awesome lil private seating deck to have a few drinks and cigars at end of day. Would definitely stay again.

FYI 6/7-6/9 is bike week so gets crowded in area and watch cops everywhere in this area- They love to get outsiders on traffic violations so be extra careful if you are out of state. We were lucky but saw a lot of other folks that were not.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so much!!!!!!! It is so nice to see a review from bike week when things are constantly busy and to know that the staff and myself took care of you the guest. Everything was clean and you were well taken care of. This review made my week!!!!!
Thank You,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late only to find out they did not have our reservation which we had booked through the corporate reservation number. After about a half hour at the front desk we were given a room. Fairly clean except for some things on the bathroom floor which were still there after the maid came the next day. Comforter was so thin it felt like a sheet. Bed was a bit too soft. We never had the free breakfast because it ended at 9am. Also had problems with our key cards not working.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
I am very sorry you did not have a good stay and you also had problems with the reservation you made through "corporate". All our sheets and mattresses are purchased to meet all of Marriott's stringent guidelines and please next time you stay if you have any issues come to the front desk and see an agent, Andrea my A.G.M. or myself. We want to make sure you have a GREAT stay not a 'could be better' stay.
thank you,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here one night while kids were at Cedar Point. Hotel staff was very friendly and honored my request for an early check in. Room was clean and comfortable. Much nicer than many other area hotels. Was near shopping and places to eat. Suites are spacious and perfect for a family.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
The staff and myself are glad you enjoyed your stay and we were able to provide a clean, comfortable room in a safe environment. I also glad you could check in early. Thank you for choosing to stay with all of us at the Fairfield Inn and Suites, Sandusky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Typical of this type hotel in all the good things they offer for the price. Large, clean room,Tv, Internet, simple breakfast,etc. Reserved for 1 night, illness necessitated adding another--no problem,no hassle, lower rate even.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
I am glad you had a good stay and we could make things a little easier when you had the illness.
Thank you for choosing us!
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Fairfield inn & suites @ 6220 milan road, is the best hotel Sandusky ohio has to offer, better then cedar point properties. I checked in on 6/2/13 & checked out on 6/3/2013 This particular property is clean, the staff is extra nice & friendly ontop of going out of there way to make you feel at home, upon checking out I met with the general manager who ABSOLUTLY made the say even more nicer . I would recommend this property to anybody. Go blue & Go tigers.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Myself and the staff are so happy you enjoyed your stay!! We pride ourselves in making all of our guests have the best possible vacation when they stay with us to go to Cedar Point! Thank you for staying with us.
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Sandusky

Address: 6220 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Sandusky 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn and Suites in Sandusky by Marriott was just completely rennovated in May of 2011 and all our rooms now have mini-fridges and microwaves. We also now have a market that has snacks and food items. Enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub and start the morning off with a free deluxe continental breakfast which includes scrambled eggs, bacon and sausge. Come and stay with us where you get a nice clean room and your part of our family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Fairfield Sandusky
Sandusky Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Sandusky Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Sandusky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.