We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Sandusky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Sandusky to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Sandusky
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6220 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you are going to Cedar Point and don't want to stay at one of the park-owned properties, then the Fairfield inn is the best alternative. There are a lot of hotels on the strip that lead to the park, and this one may be the furthest away; but an extra mile or two isn't going to make a big difference and the hotel is definitely worth it. The rooms were spacious, clean and the free breakfast was fantastic, although it can get pretty busy and hard to find a seat. There is a great Italian restaurant right across the street. The pool was nice and the hot tub was hot --- just how I like it. Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank You so Much!!!! We look forward to seeing you again next year on your trip to Cedar Point!!
We strive to give our guests the best stay possible, it makes me happy to see you enjoyed it!
Kevin James Bednarek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    105
    54
    12
    6
See reviews for
148
52
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

The staff is friendly and the hotel is located under 5 miles from Cedar Point. The pool and hot tub are pretty nice. Workout room is just 1 bike, 1 treadmill, and a few weights. The breakfast is free, but chaotic as heck and not nearly enough seating. The rooms were pretty roomy. It was clean enough I guess. One of the beds was hard as a rock, the other one fairly comfy. The pillows were terrible though. All in all, decent value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank You so much for the compliments about my front desk agent Jim. We are working on the breakfast room issue and trying to think of a way to free up more room. We look forward to seeing you next year.
Kevin James Bednarek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Suite that was just as described was waiting for us (very late arrival). Jim at the front desk was super friendly and accommodating, even leaving the pool open late for us to enjoy. The room was clean and the beds had plenty of pillows. Breakfast room was small for Halloweekend crowds but well stocked and with a decent breakfast variety. Would stay here again on our next trip to Cedar Point for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you so much for the great view the staff and myself look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I checked in on a Sunday night around 8pm they gave me my room and I went up open door and room looked like a cyclone hit it!! when down and they upgraded me to a suit, when I open door to room the smell knocked me over like mold from wet carpet in front of Hot Tub. not very impressed. The next day at breakfast it was laughable, my business partner could not eat at all not even a banana that was so ripe it was much. I will never not stay at this hotel if Im not sure it’s clean no way!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Sir, I am very sorry that you were checked into a room that was not ready this is why my staff upgraded you to a full spa king. I would also like to state that we have more at breakfast then just bananas. We offer a wide range of Jimmy Dean Breakfast sandwiches, fruit cups, yogurt, waffles and other fresh fruit. I am very sorry that your work partner was not happy with the banana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This Fairfield Inn was a great stop for us on our trip to Virginia. We were greeted with smiles at check-in, which went quickly and smoothly. We were also greeted by housekeeping with smiles. The room was spacious, with a very comfortable bed, 5 pillows on the king bed, good wi-fi connnection, and most amazingly was the quietness of the room, with no outside sound from other rooms, tv, or people in the hall. A nice touch in the clean bathroom were the shampoo and conditioner from Paul Mitchell. The pool was great, as was the whirlpool, with extra towels provided. Breakfast was the standard fare, delicious and plentiful. If in the area again, we will stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you so much for all your compliments about my hotel!!! My staff and I work very hard to make sure you enjoy your stay and are treated like our family. We want you to have the best stay possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

What a pleasure to remember this spot. You will come away thanking me for this review if you end up in this location. The front desk staff from the start made you feel at home and did all they could to help out in your stay in this area. The location was centrally located. We loved the cleanliness of the room and the overall layout of the room we stayed in. The continental breakfast choice just added to the stay. Highly recommend to any traveller.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank You so much for everything you have said about my hotel. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here one night after a long day of traveling and cedar Point. The hot tub was great for our aching bodies. The front desk clerk was great and helpful directing us to a place to eat diner. Room was comfortable and clean. All in all I can't complain. Breakfast was more than we all expected. Plenty of options. Will be back again next year.

Room Tip: The sports bar across the street has great food and the staff is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I am glad that you got to get away for a quick break and came and stayed here at our hotel. Thank you for all the nice things you had to say about the Fairfield Inn and Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Sandusky

Address: 6220 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Sandusky 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn and Suites in Sandusky by Marriott was just completely rennovated in May of 2011 and all our rooms now have mini-fridges and microwaves. We also now have a market that has snacks and food items. Enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub and start the morning off with a free deluxe continental breakfast which includes scrambled eggs, bacon and sausge. Come and stay with us where you get a nice clean room and your part of our family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Fairfield Sandusky
Sandusky Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Sandusky Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Sandusky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.