We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little place with superior wine and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crush Winebar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Crush Winebar
145 Columbus Ave, Sandusky, OH 44870
+1 419-502-9463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Crush Winebar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 162 Restaurants in Sandusky
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, Pizza & Pasta, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Water Street
Cleveland Ohio
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Charming little place with superior wine and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Love the small plates! Loads of wines to try and very well stocked bar. Everything on the menu is excellent. The pastas are sooo good! This is a popular hang out and space at the bar is hard to get. Daily menu specials are fun and tasty. Don't be afraid to try something a little different!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    15
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Save room for dessert !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were in Sandusky for a kids weekend and decided to venture out for some adult cuisine. Crush is a great little gem in the waterfront area of Sandusky. The wine is lovely, the food was delicious and the service was great. We started with a few small plates (the brussel sprouts were delicious) shared an entree and saved room for dessert. We had the pineapple upside down cakes and it was heavenly. My only regret is that we are not staying another night so we could go there again. Try this place, it will not disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Crush has a very nice selection of wines. You can try some for a discounted price to see if you like them or not. The food is amazing, especially the appetizers. Service is sometimes a bit slow...hostess is very helpful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing! Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This restaraunt has amazing food and drinks, the staff are very friendly, and the location is good. I would definetly recomend!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great spot for a date night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Ok now please consider that you are in Sandusky Ohio. That being said, this is a great restaurant for an adult night out. This restaurant is not kid friendly, so if you are on a family vacation from outside of the area I would recommend many other restaurants before Crush. If, however, you are looking for a spot for an adult night out, this is a wonderful selection. The atmosphere is low key and very relaxed. Think of cool jazz with wine and really good food. You really need to eat either the Brussel Sprout appetizer is the best. If you are game, the duck wings are really good. My wife and I have been here multiple times and have never eaten anything bad. The service is good and very friendly. I will say this, don't expect your server to be the most up to date wine expert. Some of the servers know all of the wine but some still need a bit more experience. The wine selection is very good with solid variety.
The only 'bad' side of the location is you can't see the water and if you eat outside you are on the side of an alley. The view leaves much to be desired, however, the food and wine more than make up for it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crush Winebar also viewed

 

Been to Crush Winebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crush Winebar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.