We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home of original Cedar Point French Fries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berardi's Family Kitchen

Berardi's Family Kitchen
1019 West Perkins Ave, Sandusky, OH 44870
4196264592
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 162 Restaurants in Sandusky
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Family Fare, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Description: Berardi's Family Kitchen is a family owned restaurant in Sandusky, Ohio that has been serving the locals for over 75 years! We have been voted Best Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert and Best Fries by the Readers Choice Awards and are a local favorite destination for a great meal at an affordable price. "Taste the Homemade Difference".
Munroe Falls, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Home of original Cedar Point French Fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Good food, good service, large portions, nice and friendly staff, right price. Get the small fryer of fries that were sold at Cedar Point.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    42
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Berardi's is my grandma's favorite place in Sandusky. It is one of two restaurant she will eat. The other is Chet and Matt's. The staff is very friendly. However, the food is just average. The French fries are the best thing on the menu. Everything else is ok. I have eaten here many times and have had many things on the menu. I usually get the Berardi's salad with grilled chicken. It is pretty good but not exceptional. I do really enjoy the bran muffin that comes with the salad.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“This is a great place for breakfast - The wait staff is so friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in Sandusky for 2 nights. We have breakfast here the first day. They have a huge selection for breakfast and all kind of baked goods muffins, pie, cookies etc. The wait staff was super friendly. The food was cheap and excellent. We returned the next day for breakfast. We do not like to eat at chain's. We would even drive a little out of our way to go to this place again. Thanks for the great breakfast - Everything we tried was super yummy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central PA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Awesome Cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Wow! This was one of the best family diner/cafe's I've ever visited. Please, please, please, travelers....Get away from the restaurant chains near the waterparks in Sandusky and visit this great place. The service was out of this world. Zach had only been serving tables for a few months but was so attentive and respectful and helpful with the kids. We had both breakfast and a dinner here. The apple carmel pie was better than your Grandma's homemade pie and huge! Omlettes were healthy in portion and ingredients. The salads were far more creative than what you would expect from a diner. My husband had the Thai chicken salad and I had the Bella Rosa which had very tender chicken and delicious avocado ranch dressing. Of course we had an order of the famous fries. Zach steered us away from the sweet potato fries and I'm glad he did! The fries were meaty and seasoned just right! We would go back whenever we are near Sandusky. Even the prices are better than the chains. Go by yourself, with your date, or with your kids. You'll have a great meal and a great experience no matter what!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food good service good price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the area for a week in July. Our first night took us to Berardis. We all had a good meal with good service and the pie was worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berardi's Family Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Berardi's Family Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berardi's Family Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.