We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reserve

The Reserve
7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 162 Restaurants in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Restaurant details
Troy, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Not ridiculously priced. Would like more healthy choices on menus. Vegetables, fruit, whole grains. My husband's filet was done to perfection though. Mondavi Cab at only $7 glass was fair and palatable.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at The Reserve, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hello & thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I'm glad you husband enjoyed his filet & you enjoyed your wine. I will be sure to pass your comments of healthier choices onto our Food & Beverage Director. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    36
    23
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
travelinmama11
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to eat while at Kalahari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Not sure I would go there if I wasn't staying at the Kalahari Resort, but it was a good on-site option during out stay. Prices are decent, nice atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yale, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Food but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had a breakfast buffet here that was excellent. The variety of food was nice. I do not eat eggs but there was enough variety that it did not matter. We also ate dinner there one night. The service was awesome and our server made the evening fun. The menu is kinda limited for reasonably priced meals. My daughter ordered a salad and it cost about 15.00, it was pretty big though.

Other than it being kinda pricey it was a good place to eat.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at The Reserve, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
I'm so glad you thought our breakfast buffet was excellent Christine! We do try to offer many different options to accommodate different diets & food allergies. Many of our guests select one of our packages, the Fantastic Family Getaway & Choose Your Own Adventure packages are very popular.We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tawas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“unfriendly hostess”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

was having a wonderful time with 2 other families at the waterpark. decide to eat lunch at the reserve since it was close ( in the park) and it looks like a place everyone can have what they wanted to eat. when we entered ( group of 13, 7 adults and 6 kids), we were greeted by an unfriendly hostess who seem bothered by the size of our party. tried to lighten up the mood but this hostess was either clueless or just plain unfriendly. we contemplated leaving but decided to stay since it was past 1pm. the whole party even the kids noticed this poor excused of a hostess. spoke to the manager eric who apologized. when we left, the same hostess ignored the whole party as the other employees thanks us and was pleasant. funny how one unfriendly hostess ruin the restaurants reputation and the party's mood. would never come back because of this hostess. she ruin our lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pricey but good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Ate here twice in last 3 days at Kalahari. Have eaten here in the past. Was good food as usual. Nice selection of adult food and kid choices. Burgers and chicken Caesar salad are my favorite. Had a great waiter last evening. Didn't get his name. Has some tattoos on his forearms, which doesn't bother us, just trying to give him some credit. My daughter spilled her pop and the bartender quickly came over to clean it up and was joking with her. Nice guy also. Positive experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reserve also viewed

 

Been to The Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.