We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cedar Point Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sandcastle Suites to your Saves list
Sandcastle Suites
1 Cedar Point Dr., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Hudsonville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cedar Point Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We decided to go with the Sandcastle after looking at a number of hotels in the area. The Halloweekend special was in our opinion the best deal. We could get in free the night we arrived, get into the park an hour early and if need be walk back to our rooms during the day. We had 3 rooms and they were all next to each other which made it very easy to meet togethter before going to the park. This is something that we are definitely going to think about doing again. The park was great with all the special Halloween themes going on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sandcastle Suites for your group. We hope to be part of your trip in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    118
    83
    55
    56
See reviews for
252
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg Heights, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

At the end of the Point. Room was nice and comfortable. Walking distance to the Breakers hotel and the beach along with Soak City. There are shuttles also that run between the resorts the park. Breakwater Cafe is close by for lunch and dinner or you can walk to The Breakers for either Fridays or now Perkins especially for breakfast. You have to pay to enter but then you are reimbursed at check in time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Room was very clean and well supplied, restaurant food was very good and reasonably priced and only a short walk to amusement/water park. , AND ONLY A SHORT WALK TO AMUSEMENT/WATER PARK. Would stay here again next time, GOOD JOB!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We're glad that you enjoyed the benefits of staying so close to the park. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have stayed at Sandcastle suites for 7 years in a row and have always had a great stay. Location is very convenient, rooms are clean and pool is nice. Check in and out was easy. We were able to walk back to the hotel when we were ready for a break. Shuttle bus took us to Famous Daves after we were done riding rides. Love this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We love that you love it! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

the room was very clean and quite. I enjoy my stay. Everyone was very helpful and the park was a blast. We did not have to leave we had everything right there. We will stay here again next year. The cost of getting in the park was a little too much. I would think the hotels would have a better deal for you. I enjoyed the pool area and walking on the beach. Sitting out to watch the sunrise on one side and then the sunsets.

Room Tip: the lake view was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback about your visit with us. Our overnight guests receive the very best deal on park tickets - over $20 off a regularly priced one day ticket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Despite some of the reviews which were critical of the hotel and size of rooms, we had a great experience. Hotel reception was friendly, room was ready by 8:30 am well ahead of schedule, and room was spacious enough for 6, despite reviews to the contrary. Pool and view of lake was awesome!

Early entry to Cedar Point is not much of an advantage as most of the rides aren't even open early. Only a few choice rides open early like Gatekeeper and a few others, but Dragster did not open early. The line from the resorts was extremely long to get in the park. It took us at least 20 minutes just to get through the gate - so goes 20 minutes of your hour early entry. Once we finally got in, we hightailed it to Gatekeeper and from there, walked and walked trying to find rides to ride before public got there. The pickings were very slim and disappointing. We loved the hotel though, and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get up on a higher floor with lake and pool view. You can't beat it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing information from your stay. Your feedback will help us improve early entry for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

After reading some reviews on here I was slightly concerned about what to expect but in the end it was fine. To call this hotel a "resort" is perhaps too kind but we found our room clean and to specification. Reception is friendly and the hotel worked well for us as we spent most of our hours in the park.

There were 3 of us in a room that had 2 doubles and we were comfortable. We saw people cleaning the windows and pool whilst we were there so they seem to have an okay maintenance team, the place must be hard work to keep fresh as it's so close to the lake.

Is within walking distance from the Park entrance and the 1 hour early entry is great - if you don't fancy the walk there is also a shuttle bus but I can't imagine it saves you much time unless you don't have to wait for one.

Room Tip: We stayed in the raptor wing, perhaps give yourself a bit more space than you think you might need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for the honest feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate hearing from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastle Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Suites

Address: 1 Cedar Point Dr., Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close enough to the fun, yet secluded and relaxing, Sandcastle Suites has something for every member of your family. This all-suite hotel offers rooms with the features families want: flat-panel TVs, remodeled bathrooms, and screened in balconies. Situated at the tip of the Cedar Point Peninsula, Sandcastle Suites brings you dramatic views of Lake Erie and Sandusky Bay. Its 187 suites are equipped with conveniences like microwave ovens, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and refrigerators. Three of the suites are Grand Vista Suites, with Jacuzzis and wraparound decks or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sandcastle Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Sandusky
Sandcastle Resort Sandusky
Sandcastle Suites Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.