We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been much worse” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Motel Sandusky North

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Motel Sandusky North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Motel Sandusky North
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5410 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
madison
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been much worse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed at this location for 2 nights, thankfully we did not have to stay in the room very much! The air conditioner cover was falling off, there were bugs in the bathroom, the vent in the bathroom was so loud it was almost intolerable. The tv wasn't plugged in and the batteries in the remote were dead, room service was very rude when we asked for replacement batteries. No bulbs in the lamps...I could go on and on... The check in clerk was very nice and if you could stand showering around the bugs, there was hot water for days. It was uber hot and there was one ice machine for the whole place and an empty swimming pool!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    38
    41
    35
    36
See reviews for
85
31
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We called ahead to reserve a NON SMOKING suite. We were told there was only one suite available so we took it. Having had a good experience with the Super 8 we visited in St. Charles, MO, we looked forward to a similar experience here. We were WRONG, and we stayed only because we were too exhausted to search for another motel. We were given a SMOKING room that reeked naturally of cigarettes; thankfully there was a Walmart in walking distance so my husband bought some Febreeze. If a smoke smell was "the worst" we could deal with it. Alas, as time went on we discovered more: The outdoor pool was GREEN and CLOUDY. No way we would swim in it. The bathroom was **DISGUSTING** - the grout on the floor and the shower was filthy dirty; so dirty that I didn't want to step on the floor in my bare feet. The bathroom ceiling had a bulging hole above the toilet that looked like it had been there a while. The toilet had a difficult time flushing.There were dead bugs and goldfish crackers on the floor in the room. The continental breakfast was mediocre - the coffee was undrinkable. Overall: YUCK.

Room Tip: Choose a good room by choosing a different motel!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Booked a night at the Super 8 Sandusky North as a place to stay after visiting Cedar Point. We checked in at about 5:30 pm and the man at the front desk was very unwelcoming. He barely spoke to me, just looked at me when I approached the counter after waiting 15 min for the couple before me to finish their check in, even though there was another employee working at the desk just doing small tasks. The room was very plain with old furniture and carpet. Everything was just acceptable enough to stay. After resting for a few minutes we decided to try the pool. After getting ready and walking to the pool we turned right back around and back to our room. The pool was gross! There was rust all along the edges near the stairs and a cloudy muck in the water. Toward the deeper end, you could not even see the bottom. Even ther area around the pool was unkept. After retuning to the room I made a visit to the front desk to ask for a few more pillows. The same man was at the desk and again just looked at me. While I waited for him to go in the back to put pillowcases on some pillows for me, a pizza delivery guy came to the door with a giant box and knocked on the door until I went and let him in. It was just a little strange.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaforth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Be your own judge... My husband and I travel alot and found the hotel clean and comfortable, if your looking for a 5 star this is not the hotel for you, but if your not fussy this is a good place at a good price the rooms are standard (nothing fancy). The pool is always clean, the staff are wonderful they will do whatever they can to make you comfortable. The location is perfect you can walk to alot of amentities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Booked a two night stay using Wyndam Rewards. Never again will we use a Super8. The positives?? Check in clerk was efficient and very nice...her name is Debbie. There was plenty of hot water...After that is was all down hill. The room was filthy. There were dead bugs in the bathroom, feces splattered under the toilet seat, bits of toilet paper in the floor, exhaust fan sounded like nothing I can describe. The table had all the veneer peeled of the sides,. chairs were stained, no bulbs in the lamp, TV not plugged in and then the remote didn't work, asked the maid for batteries and she asked me if I could just go ask the front desk. One working ice machine for the entire hotel, internet was down, battery door open on the smoke detector and no battery. Hottest weekend of the year and a holiday weekend and no water in the pool, electrical outlets couldn't hold a plug, air conditioner cover barely hanging on. Very strange odor in the room.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Beware of this super 8 in sandusky ohio this property is horrible we paid for the room 186.00 for 3 nights and i just couldn't help myself but i just couldn't do it , these rooms was horrible i mean horrible so bad i got my money back the walls was bright orange the sheets was dirty and the beds was old the sink and bath tub was gross please beware when you stay here it isnt worth it we stayed at sleep inn in sandusky ohio for the same price it was worth it and clean and indoor pool

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Super 8 in Sandusky for three nights on a recent trip to Cedar Point. The rooms were clean, nothing fancy, but good value for money – something you expect from Super 8.

Check-in was a quick and friendly – the hotel had a pool that seemed busy. Location is excellent. About 5-10 minutes away from Cedar Point and close to shopping and restaurants.

Breakfast was below average – even for this class of hotel. We preferred to go out and get something elsewhere.

Overall though, I would recommend this location for a cost-effective place to stay while visiting Cedar Point.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Motel Sandusky North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel Sandusky North

Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Sandusky North Hotel Sandusky
Super 8 Motel Sandusky North Hotel
Super 8 Sandusky
Super Eight Sandusky
Sandusky Super 8
Sandusky Super Eight
Super 8 Motel Sandusky North Ohio
Address: 5410 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Motel Sandusky North 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Super 8 Motel Sandusky North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Motel Sandusky North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.