We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience is key if you are going to Cedar Point for more than 1 day.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Breakers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Breakers to your Saves list
Hotel Breakers
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44871   |  
Hotel amenities
Louisville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Convenience is key if you are going to Cedar Point for more than 1 day.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you are traveling with children this is a nice option. We stayed with a 6 yr old and after a long day at the park it was great to take a short walk and be able to shower, eat and rest. Although this hotel was convenient it was mediocre at best. The rooms are very basic! It needs an update. I feel it is a bit over priced. I would ONLY recommend for the convenience factor alone. I would give it 2.5⭐

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    532
    338
    175
    128
See reviews for
905
217
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

In July 2011 we stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Breakers, in the old section. While the hotel is older and not fancy it is very clean. The beds are not all that comfy but decent. The main reason I would suggest staying here is for the awesome location... you are near the park and the beach at the lake.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Outside its a beautiful hotel, inside you can tell it could use some TLC. It's an amusement park hotel, so it gets a lot of use from families with lots of children and it shows.

We stayed one night, the water was hot, the room was clean and the walls were thick enough we didn't hear the family with eight kids in the room next to ours. Best of all you get to enter the park early in the morning.

It's not a Disney resort by any means, but it was an affordable choice and were glad we stayed there, though next time we will probably stay at Castaway Bay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

As you roll over the Cedar Point Causeway, a magnificent site awaits you as you crest the top of the hill. Towering above the horizon are multiple, colorful creations of twisted steel that get your heart racing just looking at them. The drive around Perimeter Rd. gives you a preview of the thrills you will experience as you past the old wooden classic, Blue Streak. Further on you get a glimpse of the suspended green monster, Raptor. Further on you run paralell with the #1 Roller Coaster in the world, Millenium Force. Then, Maverick greets you with its past-ninety degree first drop and wicked curves. Then before you enter the hotel grounds, you witness the massive Southern Pine structure known as "Mean Streak" on your right. All the while, Sandusky bay with its rolling waves and high leisure boat population remind you that you have exited the "real world", and are now suspended in a dream.

There is no better introduction to a resort than the sights and sounds you experience on your way to the back of the park where a hotel awaits you, alluding of a simpler time gone by.

We stayed here (family of 5) in a standard room for 2 nights in August. The proximity to the park (two entrances within a five minute walk cannot be beat by anyone (even Sandcastle Suites). The indoor pool is awesome and the beach and "boardwalk" areas are great considering it is Lake Erie. From the beach you can clearly see several of the rides inside the park.

TGIFridays is located inside the hotel, as well as Perkins. Both have excellent service and normal offerings for their franchise.

I've actually stayed here twice. Once in the central tower section and again on a wing. The central tower hallways are quite dated, but the rooms are magnificent. Couldn't find a single complaint about the wing room.

Staff is courteous and very helpful and the lobby has an old-style charm with a little sitting area for children with snoopy cartoons. The best part about this hotel is the parking. Whether you are on a wing or in the tower, there is a parking lot very close to your room.

The rooms are well-maintained and the hustle and bustle going on next door and at the beach cannot easily be heard from inside the room.

Between this and Sandcastle Suites, my family preferred this one (even without the extra bedroom) because it's closer to the park, has on-site restaurants and an indoor pool.

If you're like my family and we love to stay close to the action, you can't get any closer unless you sleep inside the park on a bench.

Awesome stay, we will return EVERY time we are at The Point.

Room Tip: If you like water views, reserve the Lake View Room. If you prefer to see the massive roller coaster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

The only reason to stay in this hotel is its proximity to the park. The rooms had an very unpleasant smell. Moreover, atmosphere in the room was very humid and there was visible black mold in the ceiling of the rooms. The staff didn't seem to know how to answer questions or they didn't care. While it was nice to walk on the beach and enjoy the pool and hot tub, one is probably better off staying in a cleaner hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at this hotel only because of proximity to CP. We will never return. The rooms are small and no elevators to get to your room after walking a very long hall to get to the stairs. The rooms smelled and we had 2 roaches in our room and requested a new room and were given a hard time about it. The pools were murky and we couldn't tolerate the feel of the gross water. For the price of this place, they could do a lot more for their guests by updating the rooms and keeping it clean. We will stay somewhere else next year.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

To demonstrate how much my entire family loves Breakers, let me put it this way: we are currently wrapping up a Disneyworld trip in a "luxury" Disney resort, and every one of us has commented that our trip to Breakers this summer was better. It's a small hotel, quaint, authentically old, and beautiful. I love the classic pictures on the walls and the historic promenades. The staff made my boys feel safe and comfortable; unlike the young Disney World workers who thrive on rules, everyone at Breakers, from the check-in people to the cleaning staff, offered them kind, parent-like smiles and gently encouraged them away from the line ropes to a kids' area. We stayed on the club level, which was staffed by an incredible woman that was so sweet to my boys, kept everyone well fed on goodies and healthy food alike, and smiled no matter how many times my boys went back for more M&Ms. In the mornings we took a short walk to Cedar Point. In the evenings we took a short walk back and jumped in the pool, which has one of the best hot tubs I've ever seen and allowed kids to go in (a huge selling point for us). We took time out to play on the sandy beach in front of the hotel, overlooking the ferris wheel. I would say that I highly recommend this hotel, but I don't, because I'd rather it stay an underutilized and reasonably priced gem.

Room Tip: Stay club level if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakers

Address: 1 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44871
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Breakers 3*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps away from Cedar Point, The Roller Coaster Capital of the World!, The park's signature Hotel Breakers will be the perfect place to stay after a perfect day. The re-imagined beachfront hotel features a new grand entrance, updated lobby and public areas plus completely renovated guest rooms. Each guest room will feature an LCD TV, dorm-sized refrigerator plus new bedding, decor and furniture. The outdoor pool deck will be expanded to include a water play area with zero-depth entry, a hot tub plus new deck chairs and umbrellas. Guests will find a comfortable, social setting inside the five-story rotunda that will feature a full-service Starbucks and a refreshing Surf Lounge bar with a patio. The popular favorites of TGI Friday's, Perkins and TOMO Hibachi Grill will continue to be available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Sandusky
Breakers Resort Sandusky
Breakers Cedar Point
Breakers Hotel Ohio
Hotel Breakers Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Breakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.