We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point to your Saves list
Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1711 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Comfort Inn Maingate)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Close to everything we wanted to see in Sandusky! Attractions, shopping, restaurants, and the ferry to Put-in-Bay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back! Next time please make the weather better. it rained most of the day on Saturday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer such a positive rating and review of your recent stay with us. It's very gratifying to hear when our guests have such a wonderful experience not only with the product and services we offer, but more importantly, when they have such a great interaction with our staff.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we'll definitely work on having better weather the next time you visit :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    28
    30
    49
See reviews for
76
18
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I just travelled across the usa and stayed here for five days to visit cedar point. It was a bad sign at checkin when the girl on reception didnt know how we should get to cedar point. I mean, if there is one thing that you should know in this area, that is it. There is NOTHIN else here.

I will start with the only positive.. Our reservation was there and there are beds that are ok to sleep in. Otherwise this place is badddd. When i asked for a safe box for my passport, i was told no we dont have one at reception or in the rooms. Wtf? Dont leave ur passport in these rooms, the doors and windows are so easily breakable... And exposed to the road. I asked where the laundry was and reception didnt know and gave me the address of a laundromat miles away. A quick walk and i find There was one next door past the mexican joint.

Room service never came, daily we would return from cedar pt and the room was as it was. Would have to request room service. The keycards for the doors needed replacing daily.. We would return late from cp and not be able to get into our room. Thus having to deal with the woman who knows nothing on reception to get new keys. Not to mention bothering her was an interruption to her day. If she wasnt having a ciggy outside.

Honestly its cheap, but this was the worst place i stayed in america and i went across from la to nyc. I dont usually write reviews, but it was so bad an experience i believe others deserve to avoid such hell.

Two stars only because it was close and had beds.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer input and review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Although not consistent with what we normally hear about our property and our staff, it's certainly helpful to know, specifically, when guests are not COMPLETELY satisfied with their stay. Your feedback will help us to focus our energies on what is most important to our guests and will provide real-life examples of where our staff can improve.

We hope you'll give us a chance in the future to prove to you our commitment to continuous quality improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My boyfriend booked this hotel for two nights while myself,him and a friend attended cedar point. I looked at the reviews before we left and felt very positive about his choice. On arrival the area was not one I'd personally stay in. You can't complain about the location from cedar point at all, this was probably the most positive thing about the hotel and the breakfast. When I first saw the room, I was like okay not terrible, maybe not worth the price, but then once I was in and had a closer look I was very disgusted. There was nail clippings on the side of the bed, stains on the sheets of one of the beds, bugs smashed on the wall and around the sink and furnace. There was also quite a bit of hair in the shower and bathroom area. The boys said things will be fine and cleaned up some of this, but I was still very Leary about the room. I don't know if we just got a bad room or what. The room was a little outdated as well.

Also, the first night we were all awoken by an alarm in the room next to us around 4:30am. It literally went off for 30 to 45 minutes until finally one of us went to the desk and told them what was happening and wondered if the alarm was just left on or if someone was in the room. We heard one of the staff knock on the door and someone finally turned the alarm off. So, moral of this story is staff was helpful, but walls seemed like they were paper thin and we could hear basically everything that was happening next door.

Our stay was not a good experience, I was very disappointed and when we go to the park again we will most likely try a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
First, thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you also for recognizing our staff who really does do their level-best in providing unparalleled, top-notch customer service--and for pointing out that our location relative to the entrance to Cedar Point is really unmatched in the area.

Second, please accept my apologies for less than acceptable experience with our housekeeping department. Good or bad, we listen and try to respond to ALL of our guests' feedback. Your comments will go a long way in helping to train and re-train our staff and to show them what is most important to our guests.

I'm a bit surprised that you thought that the room was outdated as ALL of our guest rooms and public areas have been completely renovated (carpet, beds, furniture, accessories, etc.) within the past 24 months.

I hope that you'll consider staying with us again in the future so that we can prove our commitment to constant quality improvement. Also, for future reference, if you stay with us again (or stay anywhere for that matter) and you are not completely satisfied with the accommodations, let us know immediately so that we can move you to a more suitable room and so that we can correct any deficiencies for the next guest who might receive that same room. Its' the best way for us to not only make you happy and satisfied with your stay but also the best way to make sure that we rectify problems as soon as they're noted.

Thank you again for your input--we hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The housekeepers was awesome my room was very clean and front desk was excellent thank u Katie for your excellent customer service see u next year!! Good job ladies we forgot the housekeepers name but I do remember one being real funny but respectful and the other a lil quiet but still friendly and helpful hope to see you girls next vacation! We are sure looking forward to it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer such a positive rating and review of your recent stay with us. As I've pointed out many times, the hallmark of any successful small business is the staff. It sounds as if we, "got it right' in your case and we're thrilled with the fact that you had such a positive experience.

It sounds as if we've earned a loyal guest in you and that's the best marketing we could ever hope to achieve. Thanks for sharing your experiences with others as it will undoubtedly help them to make a wise, informed decision on where to hotel when they're in our area. We can't wait to welcome you back during your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

If I could rate the service as more than a 5 I would! The staff here is awesome! From the moment I checked in until the moment I checked out I felt completely welcomed! I had the privilege of having Katie check me and out and I must say she's great!! She was able to get me close to the pool and get me checked in waaaaay before check in time, that was made possible by a young lady named Amanda, I believe she is the head of housekeeping,she really pulled it together and got us a ready room! Breakfast here is amazing! Delicious, hot breakfast and its FREE! ( how can anyone complain about FREE?!) the boy taking care of breakfast was great too! He really tried hustling to keep things stocked and I noticed every morning Katie helping him out!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for the amazing five-star rating and review of your recent stay with us. It's really great to hear when our staff is recognized for their outstanding customer service as this is truly the hallmark of any successful small business.

As is always the case, we will pass your very positive comments on to our staff as they are really the ones that deserve the credit. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We can't wait to be of service to you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My stay at the Comfort Inn was absolutely amazing. William was very nice and helpful. I had a blast. I consider coming back the next time I come to Sandusky. William is by far the best person I've met at the hotel. I had no problems while staying

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thanks for your awesome rating and review of your recent stay with us. We can't wait to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

William was very helpful and nice while I was there. I had an awesome time! I willmost definitely be staying again if William is working. ((: William had everything picked up and was very kind to everyone that came in the door. I will let everyone that I know to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to offer such a warm and kind rating and review of your recent stay with us. We're really happy to hear that you'll be staying with us again in the future and can't wait to be of service to you then. Thanks, very much, for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point

Address: 1711 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Comfort Inn Maingate)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky Cedar Point, we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you, and you'll find everything to suit your needsInviting rooms are just ahead.ALL Room Renovated in 2012! There's nothing more thrilling than a hotel right in the center of the action and here you are literally a hop, skip and a jump away from the main entrance to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Enjoy a well-appointed guest room and hotel amenities that include free HBO and premium cable TV, free local calls and wireless Internet, an extensive and complimentary Continental breakfast, game room, and heated outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Maingate Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.