We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review Comfort Inn Maingate Sandusky” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point

Save Saved
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1711 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Comfort Inn Maingate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Formerly Comfort Inn
Ranked #17 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Kalamazoo
2 reviews
“Review Comfort Inn Maingate Sandusky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotel was close to Cedar Point. Rooms were a little outdated but clean. Reasonable for price. The staff was very courtious and friendly. The outdoor pool was closed down for the season and had a dead squirrel floating in it. To my knowledge there was no fitness room or equipment. If you are looking for a no frills hotel to lay your head after a long day at Cedar Point, this hotel should work for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to relate your recent experience at our hotel.

I'm a bit surprised that anyone would think that our rooms are out-dated simply because ALL of our rooms and public spaces have been completely renovated and refreshed during the last year. If there was something specific that you were looking for or something that we overlooked, please feel free to email me directly at z.paul.reynolds@rutahotels.com.

I am also sorry that the pool was closed during your stay but as you know, the climate that we're in somewhat dictates when it is feasible and not feasible to operate the pool. Unfortunately, we can't control mother nature :)

At any rate, thanks for your comments and I'm glad that your overall stay was enjoyable and met your needs! We hope to welcome you back during a future visit to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    32
    18
    21
    41
See reviews for
56
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

They had a great breakfast. We were able to check in early. Very close to Cedar Point entrance. Only complaint was that we could hear the shower from the next room and it would interfere with our TV signal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Maingate. We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and our expansive full breakfast--it's something that we continually work on improving.

Thanks, also, for letting us know about hearing the shower from the next room. Although I'm not certain anything can be done structurally to prevent this, knowing it was an issue for you and bringing it to our attention will allow us to look into the matter.

We look forward to your return visits and can't wait to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was very spacious as we had 4 people in our room. The rooms were very clean and quiet. The continential breakfast was great and the hotel lobby area was very nice. We received welcome bags upon arrival which was a very nice touch. I would recommend this hotel to any traveler.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you, very much, for your recommendation of our property and relating your recent experience at our hotel. What pleases us most is the ability to offer accommodations to guests such as yourself with a staff who is well-trained and focused on the delivery of superior customer service.

We look forward to future visits by you and your family and can't wait for your return! Until then, safe travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was little concerned when we drove up to the hotel. The outside looked a little worn but the inside was very nice. We arrived before noon on a Saturday to just see if we could check in before we went to Cedar Point for the day. I was very surprised when our rooms were available and we could check in right then. All the employees of the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice and clean. The breakfast was very good. I'm not a big fan of outdoor entrances but I would definitely recommend this hotel again if you want a close hotel to Cedar Point.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your very candid and positive review of your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Maingate. As you noted, we are an "exterior" property but as you also noted, this does not take away from the fact that we have accommodations and staff that are second-to-none in the industry. All of our rooms and public areas have undergone a massive transformation and renovation in the past year and you'll be happy to know that we've also been working on the "curb appeal" and exterior appearance of the property.

Thank you for the recommendations and we hope to welcome you back during a future visit to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I loved how the front desk was so helpful and had our room ready for us when we checked in and jamie made us feel so welcomed and knew the area very well and gave us a nice place to go eat.She was there in the morning with a smile on her face and ready to work again we will be back next year and its alot cleaner then the other places we looked at.the rooms where really clean and amanda did a wonderful job on making our beds floded all our things and put back on the bed my husband was really happy with the stay.See you guys next year and many more to come.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks, very much, for the glowing remarks regarding your recent stay at our hotel! It's wonderful to hear when guests are as satisfied as you and your family and it makes us proud to hear that we have accommodations and staff who are second to none in the area!

We look forward to those "many more" visits to come and are humbled and honored that we've attained loyalty from you and your family! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late on a Saturday night. They had everything ready for me before I even checked in. The front desk was very accommodating and helpful. The roll away bed was in the room ready for a good nights rest. Quiet and clean rooms made the quick over night stay pleasant. The front desk area and breakfast area was very new and clean. Staff in the morning again were very friendly. I would recommend this as a great place to stay and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you, very much, for your very complimentary and positive review of your recent stay at our hotel! It's refreshing to hear that the training and development of our staff has paid off with guests such as yourself so happy with our accommodations and service. It really is a point of pride for us to have THE best-trained staff in the industry.

We can't wait to welcome you back during a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel about 10 times in the past year. The location is great (right next to Cedar Point) and the rooms are great for the price! The continental breakfast is really good, I just wish it stayed open a little longer! The only thing I would like to mention is that when I stayed for more than one day, I always had to go to the lobby/front desk the next morning because the key wouldn't work after the first day. They always had to give me a new room key or reset the one I had. Other than that, I have no complaints!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay at our Comfort Inn Maingate. It sounds as if, overall, you really enjoyed your stay and that makes us very proud of our staff and the outstanding accommodations we're able to offer--at a value-added price!

We're constantly surveying our customers about their likes and dislikes of our amenities such as the breakfast hours and are always willing to make modifications whenever possible. Thanks also for letting us know about the lock situation. There are times when our desk agents mistakenly code the keys for the wrong number of days and this is something that we've recently really started pushing in our training programs. Your comments will absolutely help us deliver a stronger message to our staff!

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back should your travels bring you to our area again in the future. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Maingate Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Inn Maingate Hotel
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point Ohio
Address: 1711 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Comfort Inn Maingate)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky Cedar Point, we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you, and you'll find everything to suit your needsInviting rooms are just ahead.ALL Room Renovated in 2012! There's nothing more thrilling than a hotel right in the center of the action and here you are literally a hop, skip and a jump away from the main entrance to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Enjoy a well-appointed guest room and hotel amenities that include free HBO and premium cable TV, free local calls and wireless Internet, an extensive and complimentary Continental breakfast, game room, and heated outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky/Cedar Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.