We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfort inn it is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Sandusky

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Sandusky to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Sandusky
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5909 Milan Road, US 2 & US 250, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Plainfield, Indiana
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“comfort inn it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Very nice since it was close to Cedar point. There was very helpful staff. The breakfast was great the counters and room were very clean. It is always fustrating to get quoted aprice and have 13 plus dollars in hidden taxes-it would be nice to be told more than just plus tax.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location and the very comfortable accommodations. While it is true that the hotel industry is taxed heavily, it's never our intention to "hide" or mislead anyone in this regard. It is industry standard to quote room rates, "plus tax." However, many of our guests ask what the total will be with the tax added on and we're more than happy to be honest and transparent when they do.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope you'll utilize our services again in the future if your travels bring you our way again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    148
    75
    44
    73
See reviews for
243
90
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I would say the highlight of our stay here was the excellent customer service we received from the Front Desk Agents and a very friendly, helpful Housekeeper. Our room (king bed) was very small and cramped. Everything was clean and the bedding was in good condition. The property is huge... I suggest leaving your luggage in the car while you check-in as the Front Desk Agent will direct you to the entrance (there are several) closest to your room. The complimentary breakfast was chaotic and completely overwhelmed. A long line of guests had formed down the hallway just waiting to get into the small breakfast area. The offerings were rather cheap, low-quality items. Thinking back, I would just skip it and go elsewhere.

All-in-all, this is an acceptable hotel for a Cedar Point visit. It is more appropriate for families with children, not couples seeking peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Check with the Front Desk Agent for the closest entrance to your room. The property is quite large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. We're happy to hear that you had enjoyable and positive interactions with our amazingly friendly and helpful staff. Thank you also for the comments regarding breakfast. We're always interested in suggestions from our guests. It let's us know what is most important to them and enables us to prioritize our projects.

We hope you'll come back and be our guests again in the future. We certainly appreciate your patronage and the ability to be of service to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clio, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Front desk staff was very Helpful and Friendly. Rooms were Clean and comfortable. The inside pool had issues, the bottom of the pool especially around the edges felt like gravel under your feet and the hot tub water was yellow( for whatever reason). We also had trouble with our room cards we could not get into our room and had to go to the desk a couple of times to get it fixed. The Staff apologized each time. Otherwise it was a Great Stay :)

Room Tip: Rooms in the back on the second floor were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thanks for taking time to rate and review your recent stay with us. We're glad that, overall, you had an enjoyable stay and that you found our staff to be friendly and our accommodations clean and comfortable. We're planning on doing some work this winter to the indoor pool area--so please DO check us out again next summer. We know you'll be pleasantly surprised!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Indiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Lobby and rooms were nice, very comfy pillows. Room was clean. There was a microwave and mini fridge in the room which was nice. Pool area needed updating though. Peeling walls on the pool and hot tub. Hot tub was yellow for some reason, hoping it was because it was rusty water, and nothing else! Plenty of towels in pool area. They have a breakfast buffet which was ok, we've had better. Biscuits were extremely dense and it would have been nice to have a meat choice such as bacon or sausage. Overall a good stay. Last year when we visited Cedar Pt. we stayed at a horrible hotel, so this time we were happy to stay somewhere clean and comfortable. We probably will stay here again next year.

Room Tip: We got a room with 2 very small double beds. They said that if we wanted 2 queen beds that we would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us at the Comfort Inn Sandusky. We're happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for the comments regarding the breakfast. We're always looking for ways to improve all of our amenities and comments such as yours let us know what is most important to our guests. Some work on the pool area is on our "winter to-do list" and in terms of the hot tub, it's merely that the water is extremely hard and the discoloring is simply from calcification.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We're glad to hear that you'll be back again to visit with us in the future!

PS: We do not have queen beds at this particular hotel. We have double beds and king-sized beds--but we DO have rooms with two kings in them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Front desk staff at comfort inn, house keeping, were very nice, we were treated like royalty. The rooms were very nice, well put together, the beds were comfortable. Next time we visit Sandusky we already know where we are staying!! Great job Comfort Inn!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for that very kind pat-on-the-back! This kind of positive feedback means so much to us and to our staff. It makes all of the hard work of managing and operating a very large complex organization all worthwhile.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us--and for committing to staying with us again in the future. It will be our pleasure to be of service to you again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is not your typical comfort inn, it's like a hilton! Nice rooms, inside/outside pool. Pool bar with food until 2am. Beautiful lobby. Breakfast. Hot tub. Fine dinning restaurant that was outstanding! Josh the waiter even filled us in on where to go around town and cedar point amusement park. 2 5 coarse meals for $43!! Great priced drinks! I would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Well, thank you very much for your A-MA-ZING rating and review of your recent stay with us. We're thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed all that we have to offer in our amazingly well-appointed 205 room complex.

We're very grateful for your wonderful recommendation and hope you'll come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matteson, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My family and I have been to Cedar Point several times and we have had some bad experiences and some good experiences. This hotel met our expectations! There was a restaurant/with music in the hotel (we didn't eat there), the outdoor pool is open late and the staff is very friendly. When I booked the hotel they asked for my cellular phone number and on the day of arrival they sent me a text message to let me know that my room was ready. We arrived late and we were really tired and the check in process was smooth and fast. We arrived to our room and was pleased with the cleanliness of the room and we loved that the tub and toilet was separate from the sink and mirror. My husband could be taking a shower and I can be brushing my teeth and doing my hair at the same time to cute down on time spent in the bathroom. There was a fridge and microwave in the room. The hotel also had a washer and dryer (they sell detergent at the front desk). I was able to do laundry the night before we left so that my clothes were clean for the remainder of our trip (we were on a 2 week road trip). Check out was fast and painless. I want to add that my cousin and her family stayed across the street from us in a hotel that's known for having great rooms but the price is $50 more and she had issues with her room. We will be returning to Cedar Point next year and my family and I will be staying at the Comfort Inn Sandusky again.

Room Tip: We were in the very back "Door D" and it wasn't loud or anything. I think rooms by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing such positive words regarding you recent stay with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all of the amenities we have to offer and that our staff was friendly and outgoing.

We're glad to hear that you'll be coming back again in the future to stay with us. The speaks volumes about our serious commitment to superior customer service, value-added amenities, and truly an unparalleled lodging experience in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Sandusky

Address: 5909 Milan Road, US 2 & US 250, Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#5 Family Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Sandusky 2.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly Yours™From the moment you arrive at our Comfort Inn, we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you, and you'll find everything to suit your needs, including: NEW Free hot breakfast buffet featuring eggs, sausage or bacon, fresh fruit, toast, danish, juice...and your choice of original or flavored wafflesFree high-speed Internet accessClean, comfortable and well-appointed roomsCozy bedsFeel at ease knowing that your satisfaction is important to us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Sandusky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.