We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Sandusky

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Sandusky to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Sandusky
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5909 Milan Road, US 2 & US 250, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed at the Comfort Inn Thursday June 26 thru Tuesday July 1 to visit family and a general get away from normal life. I honestly couldn't believe I found a hotel that was in Sandusky that time of year that was affordable and not a total dump. Rooms were clean, parking was ample, and most of the staff I talked to was great. Access to the highway and getting around town was also a breeze. 2 pools and a hot tub made relaxation very enjoyable most of the time, but when it wasn't that's not the fault of the hotel or its staff..I'm just not particularly enthused when there's a total of 2 people in a big giant pool and someone else's 10 year old insists on jumping 2 feet away from me repeatedly and the mother does nothing about it. :) The outdoor pool with cabana bar is a summertime treat, and the bartenders are friendly and know how to make a good drink.

The only real negative I had (outside of the out of control child/ren) was the girl who checked us in when we got there either doesn't know what she's doing, or she's got some "issues". When printing something for me the printer jammed, and then she stood there for the next minute just repeating "Computer hates me...". I stopped counting after the 10th time she said it. As it turns out, she also gave us keys to a room that was either not cleaned or was already occupied, and we had to get a different room.

Other than that though we greatly enjoyed the hotel and would definitely come again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Despite the problems you encountered with the one staff member mentioned in your review, thank you for the overwhelmingly positive rating and for letting us know the problem that you did encounter. We appreciate knowing when things like this happen so that we can go back to the staff member to ensure that they're properly coached and trained.

It's great to hear that you were able to enjoy some of the many amenities we have to offer at our property (aside from the annoying child and negligent parent(s)). We're glad to hear that you'll be staying with us again in the future and really appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. Safe travels and happy summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    146
    73
    44
    73
See reviews for
237
90
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here and it was great, the front desk was helpful on may different occasions, the breakfast was great. Very accommodating and room was spacious. Bathroom was small, however the room was nice, we will stay again. I had read some negative reviews on the hotel and was a little hesitant, decided to give it a try and was very pleased. Close to Cedar point! Definitely would recommend!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful five-star rating and review of your recent stay with us. We're glad that you enjoyed our accommodations and that you decided (rightfully so!) to take a chance on us. We're always striving for continuous quality improvement and our efforts obviously paid off in your case.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, for recommending our hotel to others, and for being a loyal future guest. We can't wait to have the opportunity to be of service to you and your family many more times in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairland, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had booked this hotel for a mini vacation at Cedar Point. 2 adults and 2 kids and the room was perfect! Checking in and out was a breeze with no problems at all. Indoor and Outdoor pool was open until 11 and it was great being able to swim when we got back from the park. Breakfast was included so that was a plus to start off the morning. We will stay at this hotel every we come to Cedar Point!. Thanks to EVERYONE for making this a great saty!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with our hotel. We're happy to hear that the accommodations exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed at least some of the amenities we have to offer at our property.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for being a loyal future guest as well. Safe travels and happy summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltillo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hotel was very clean and nice. It was easy to find with the gps on my phone. There was a bar and outdoor pool area right outside our window but The noise didn't bother us at all past 11. We didn't hear much of anything. The breakfast area was very big and nice. They didn't have a microwave out though, we had to use the one in our room. Overall, it was a great stay and was in a perfect location for our two day adventures at Cedar Point Amusement Park.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer such a complimentary rating and review of your recent stay with us. It's GREAT to see when we receive a five-star review from our valued guests. I'm glad to hear that you found our location convenient and that you enjoyed the amenities we have to offer at our property.

We hope you'll be our guest again soon in the future. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg Heights, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel was clean and comfortable, has a outdoor cabana bar with great service thanks to the bartender jason. Indoor and outdoor pool with hot tub and sauna. Would stay there again if in sandusky. Also breakfast is included as well. So for the money in sandusky during vacation season the value and quality of comfort inn is hard to beat. highly recommend.

Room Tip: The rooms farther from cabana bar are less noisy because at times on weekends they have djs playing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful rating and review of your recent stay with us. We're so happy to hear you were able to take advantage of all of the amenities our hotel has to offer. It's also great to hear that you found value in your stay with us and that you'll be coming back again in the future. That's the best marketing we could ever hope for. Until we see you again, safe travels and happy summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Our check in was quick enough and the gal was very helpful, but we had a bit of a snafu. We had put that it was 2 adults and 2 12 year old children and noted that we needed a roll away bed because the boys were friends and would not be sleeping in the same bed. We got to the room and the boys looked at the room with 2 large beds and freaked out a bit. We called down for a roll away and it was quickly sent up.

It was about a 10-15 minute drive to Cedar Point, so it was close enough to the park and there were several other businesses around the hotel if you needed items (gas / groceries / etc).

We did not use the outdoor pool as it was cold when we were there as we came in for Hallo-Weekends last weekend at Cedar Point. The indoor pool was out of towels (so be prepared and take your own). If you want quiet before 11p you might also request a room away from the cabana bar, but it was pretty quiet by about 11:30p. It was a weekend while we were there so it may quiet down sooner during the week due to business travelers.

The breakfast buffet was good with variety (eggs, sausage, yogurt, fruit, waffles). The gal working was very helpful in that she brought fresh sausage for my son and husband because they needed to make sure the items were gluten free. They had put bread in the bottom of the sausage container to soak up the grease, so our celiac son could not eat the sausage out front. They quickly volunteered to make him fresh sausage in the back. That was a very nice gesture and we definitely appreciated that!

Easy check out as well. Just turned in our keys and off we went.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the cabana bar might be a good idea if you are looking for total relaxation and no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for offering such a positive rating and review of your stay with us. We're glad that you enjoyed all of the amenities we have to offer and that we quickly resolved the misunderstanding with the rollaway. I'm sorry to hear that the pool towel supply was depleted--that's definitely something we can easily resolve--thanks for bringing it to our attention. I'm happy to hear that our staff was friendly and attentive to your needs and that we were able to accommodate special requests. That's what we're here for--to make every guest stay as enjoyable and successful as possible.

We know that you have a lot of options when choosing where to stay and we are grateful that you chose to do so with us. It would be our pleasure to have you back again soon to be of service to you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I booked a room for my daughters dance competition. I'm very picky when it comes to hotels and usually stay at Choice hotels. This one didnt let me down. Check in was a breeze and the front desk ladies were very polite. I had one of the newer rooms and it was nice. I was a little nervous with being by the cabana bar/pool (pool closes at 11) but it wasn't real noisy and by 11 it was quiet. If you don't want the noise, I suggest you request a room on the other side. They served a hot breakfast which is always a plus. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful rating and review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad we lived up to the reputation Choice Hotels has built for itself! We're thrilled to hear that you would definitely stay with us again in the future. We hope you do--soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Sandusky

Address: 5909 Milan Road, US 2 & US 250, Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#4 Business Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Sandusky 2.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly Yours™From the moment you arrive at our Comfort Inn, we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you, and you'll find everything to suit your needs, including: NEW Free hot breakfast buffet featuring eggs, sausage or bacon, fresh fruit, toast, danish, juice...and your choice of original or flavored wafflesFree high-speed Internet accessClean, comfortable and well-appointed roomsCozy bedsFeel at ease knowing that your satisfaction is important to us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Sandusky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.