We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Sandusky!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Sandusky

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Sandusky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Sandusky
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5909 Milan Road, US 2 & US 250, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Eastlake, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel in Sandusky!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have been staying in this hotel every year for over a decade. We initially selected it because, at the time, it was one of the few hotels in the area that had an indoor hot tub. We are in town for a 150 mile charity bike tour (this is the half way point) and having indoor/outdoor pools as well as the aforementioned hot tub is a great rest for our tired bones and muscles. The staff here from management on down to each person on the housekeeping staff do a first rate job of making our stay a most pleasant one. They also have an authentic Italian restaurant on site that is to die for! Worth a visit also when you stay there. We will be back next year as there is no place else for us to stay when we are in Sandusky, Ohio!

Room Tip: We always prefer to book early and request a ground floor room. Less walking to and from, in and out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful testament of your recent stay with us. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you're a 10+ year repeat, loyal customer. We look forward to many more years of visits from you and your family. Until then, safe travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    116
    63
    40
    73
See reviews for
194
79
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Continental breakfast is included but has NO variety. Sausage gravy is NOT a breakfast meat. I did like the waffles. There were two varieties of those. Small refrigerator in the room so that might help.
Rooms were clean, comfortable, and spacious. They could stand to fix some more of the lights in the parking lot. Oh, and watch to follow the speed limit on that road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer an overall positive rating and review of your recent stay with us. We are continuously using guest comments like yours to tweak and refine what we offer on our breakfast bar. Thank you for your input and we look forward to being of service to you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abcdebeatty
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Was weary due to other reviews, but was pleasantly surprised upon check in of the somewhat fancy lobby. Arriving around 11pm, the check in was quick & friendly. We were given directions to our closest entrance & where our room was located. I noticed the bar outside & was curious, but had to get the family up to the 2 full-sized bed room. It was a spacious room and appeared very clean, and recently updated. Toilet/shower was separate from roomy mirror/sink area, which made getting ready in the morning nice. Quiet room & hall. Couldn't get to sleep (had too much caffeine on the drive from MI), so I decided to go to my car for some reading & got side-tracked by the glow of the Tiki Bar! Ha ha! 3 TV's with the 14 inning marathon between the Indians & Tigers. . . A cold can of Summer Shandy went well with a Tiger win! The bartender was friendly and attended well. Slept comfortably & was fresh & ready for some thrills at CP! Shower was clean with good water pressure. Check out was quick and easy. I would definitely stay here next time we come to Sandusky, but would want to arrive earlier so we could enjoy the Bar and pool!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer such a positive rating and review of your recent stay with us. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, appreciated all of the amenities we offer, and that you would stay with us again in the future. This is absolutely the best possible marketing that we could ever hope for!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our area. Until then, please travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

My son and I stayed for 4 nights at the end of July. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the mattresses were newer. The free breakfast was ok. If you like waffles, then it's for you. The biscuits and gravy was good but the eggs weren't so good.
They have a nice outdoor pool area with a bar and it's a short ride to Cedar Point. This hotel had all I was looking for, decent price, good location and above all, clean. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your very complimentary and positive rating and review of your recent stay with us. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated all of the unique amenities that we're able to offer to our guests.

Thank you for your endorsement and for recommending our hotel to future guests. We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to being able to serve your lodging and hospitality needs in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Non smoking room smells like cigarette smoke. Hot tub is too hot to go in. Room has spider webs & dirty. Finger prints & something dirty hanging off dresser. Bathroom smells like urine. No screen in window. Thank God my kids are old enough not to jump out window! Pool area has green algae growing

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. I'm very sorry that your stay didn't meet (or exceed) all of your expectations. Your comments, however, provide us with real-life material to use in training and re-training our staff on our high standards (as well as the brand standards that Comfort Inn requires).

We hope that you give us a future opportunity to demonstrate to you and your family why we are consistently one of the highest-rated hotel in the Sandusky area--and also an opportunity to show you that we are committed to continuous quality improvement. Thank you for the input--as all input (good and bad) helps us to know where to focus our energies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

It was clean. Front desk lady was very nice. Breakfast buffet was really nice. Hotel could use some updating, fresh paint, TLC. A little pricey for what you get. Side entrance seemed to have been neglected by the cleaning crew. Only dryer was broken.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your candid rating and review of you recent stay with us. I'm very happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and attentive. In terms of the price, as is the case with most every hotel in a tourist destination location, it's all about supply and demand and in making sure that we're competitive with our competition.

I'm a bit surprised by your comments regarding updating the hotel as every single guest room and all of our public areas have been COMPLETELY renovated within the past 24 months. I'm hopeful that you shared your concerns in this area with our manager on duty so that we could rectify any problems as soon as humanly possible.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us; we hope you'll do again in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice rooms, comfortable furniture. Easy access and parking. Restaurant and Cabana were great. No issues, great staff, enjoyed the weekend. Close to downtown and other scenic areas. Plenty of stores and restaurants.

Room Tip: Handicap persons will like the shower seats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for the very positive rating and review of your recent stay with us. We're SO glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all of the amenities our hotel has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our area. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Sandusky

Address: 5909 Milan Road, US 2 & US 250, Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#5 Family Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Sandusky 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly Yours™From the moment you arrive at our Comfort Inn, we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you, and you'll find everything to suit your needs, including: NEW Free hot breakfast buffet featuring eggs, sausage or bacon, fresh fruit, toast, danish, juice...and your choice of original or flavored wafflesFree high-speed Internet accessClean, comfortable and well-appointed roomsCozy bedsFeel at ease knowing that your satisfaction is important to us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Sandusky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.