We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just your average hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Sandusky

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Sandusky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Sandusky
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5909 Milan Road, US 2 & US 250, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
clang18
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just your average hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Room was on the small side of what we are used to. Two double beds, a side chair, a small desk w/chair. Bathroom had toilet & tub in one room, and the sink and large vanity in the other part. Could use some updating throughout. If you are sensitve to smells, this may not be the place for you. Hallways were rather run down. Pool area was nice. Kids said the water was warm although heavily clorinated. Breakfast was included and was adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
First, thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. Second, I must confess that I'm a bit confused and concerned regarding your comments about the hotel needing updating. The entire hotel was updated and renovated within the past 12 months. We also have amenities that most other hotels in this area certainly do not--like two pools, a cabana bar, a fine dining restaurant and lounge on the property, a game room, etc.

I AM glad to hear that your children enjoyed the pool(s) and that breakfast seemed to satisfy your needs. I hope you'll choose to stay with us again should your travels bring you to the Sandusky area in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    79
    56
    39
    72
See reviews for
153
63
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed at the comfort Inn and the desk clerk Melissa (she was new) and a Rebecca but they went out of their way to help us out .Told us about area attractions and the restaurant on site. They told us about the mall and all about Cedar Point. We will for sure be coming back to stay here because of them. We got to the room it was very clean we were in need of more towels and Melissa brought them to us right away. Thank you all for the pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. Thanks also for letting us know about the superior customer service you encountered while at our property. Our people are definitely our greatest asset and it's gratifying to hear when our time and training spent with them has paid off!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is good basic accomodations in Sandusky in a good mid-level chain. Our room was clean. The beds were reasonably comfortable. The breakfast had hot eggs with gravy and a waffle bar as well as the usual cold items. The room was well sized. The hotel is very large but seemed clean. Front deak staff were fine. Free in room intenet was a plus. Negatives: The "hot tub" was more of a "warm tub". It ended up being more relaxing to soak in the tub in my room than using the one at the pool, as the water was much hotter in my room. The TV was small and was an old style tube tv. That wasn;t so important as one does not go to Sandusky to watch tv, but it it an update that should be done soon for competetive reasons. Most hotels have upgraded here. There is a mall and restarants nearby, but not withing walking distance. It is a couple of miles from Cedar Point and downtown (ferries), but is right off the main limited access highway (Ohio 2). Good value for price in this area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize for the water temperature not being where it should have been in the hot tub--that's definitely something we need to look into. Thanks for bringing it to our attention. In terms of the TVs, we actually are in the process of upgrading the TVs to flat panel monitors in every room. However, from a sustainability perspective, it's not prudent to simply discard working televisions. As they become inoperable, we are replacing them.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave us your comments. We hope to be of service to you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I did not stay at this hotel, but dined in the restaurant Baci - it was fabulous! Ambiance and food was great and the server Felicia was absolutely delightful! And the dessert drink - Amazing! I look forward to dining there again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We're so happy that you chose to dine with us at Baci! Thank you for taking the time to leave a rating and review. We look forward to your coming back again and again and again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Great location, clean room, friendly staff. I forgot toothpaste and they brought me some up within two minutes. The continental breakfast was good. Very pleased with my stay. It is such a great hotel for the price and next time we return to Kalahari we will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay at our hotel. I'm glad to hear that our staff was attentive to your needs and that you found true value in your stay. I'm also VERY happy to hear that you'll be back again. We can't wait for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

we stayed at the best western next to comfort inn. we were told the restaurant at the comfort inn would give us 10% off dinner. i talked to the chef/owner, very nice man, told me if i did not like his food, i would not have to pay. the staff at both hotels recommended the restaurant highly.
so armed with said information, we went to the restaurant. for those people who like the old fashion mixtures of 1960 italian and dance clubs, you will love this place. it really took me back to the old places in chicago. good dinning music playing and you can dance on the dance floor with mirror balls and light show. the appetizer came and it was 10 out of 10. we ordered the strip steak.it was cooked to perfection 10 out of 10. salad was 10 out of 10. i did not care for the potato,however the flavor was good 8 out of 10, the drinks were priced reasonable and the food prices were under the chain steak houses. our waitress jessica, was very attentive

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such thorough review of your experience at Baci. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your dining with us and that the staff was attentive. It sounds as if the food was also very much to your liking.

We hope you'll visit us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwalk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went to the Baci Restaurant with another couple, this was a first for us. Loved this place, the bartender warmly greeted us, made us feel welcomed immediately. The hostess showed us to our table, our waitress Renee was wonderful, efficient & so pleasant. Carl the owner came out to talk with us, again felt like I was at his house and not a restaurant. Carl prepared the most wonderful dishes for us. Our meals were delivered hot and tasty. We had a great time to go along with our dinners, will certainly go back again. Renee offered us the after dinner drink, FABULOUS!! Thanks to the entire staff for a pleasant experience. Everything was clean, including the bathrooms, staff dressed neat. This was a busy Saturday night, excellent staff. Thanks Carl.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Wow--thanks for the wonderful review and rating of your experience at Baci. It's great to hear when customers appreciate the "whole package" that Baci has to offer--from first-class service, to authentically prepared Italian dishes, to a wonderful ambiance to round the experience out.

Carl takes these reviews very seriously and reads them personally--so I know that he'll be very appreciative of the nice comments you've left. Thank you for taking the time to do that and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Sandusky

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky Hotel
Comfort Inn Sandusky Ohio
Address: 5909 Milan Road, US 2 & US 250, Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Sandusky 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly Yours™From the moment you arrive at our Comfort Inn, we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you, and you'll find everything to suit your needs, including: NEW Free hot breakfast buffet featuring eggs, sausage or bacon, fresh fruit, toast, danish, juice...and your choice of original or flavored wafflesFree high-speed Internet accessClean, comfortable and well-appointed roomsCozy bedsFeel at ease knowing that your satisfaction is important to us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Sandusky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.