We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but the noise is a bit much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Sandusky

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Sandusky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Sandusky
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5909 Milan Road, US 2 & US 250, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Manheim, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but the noise is a bit much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The staff was friendly and helpful The room was adequate for the fact we were out of it most of the time. The noise level was high in the morning with people coming and going. I am not use to being in a town and had a hard time adjusting to the highway noise. The breakfast was the usual affair and the table was extremely wobbly The price is very reasonable so I guess we got what we paid for

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for relating your recent experience with your stay at our hotel. Although it appears as if you found value in your stay, we strive to be EXCELLENT in our product and customer service and are NOT satisfied with mediocrity. Your comments will help us to meet our commitment to continuous-improvement. I'm also extremely pleased to hear that you found our staff warm and friendly--that's sometimes the hardest thing to accomplish and we're very appreciative of your recognition.

We hope you'll choose to stay with us again should your travels bring us to our area in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    135
    73
    43
    73
See reviews for
225
87
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vermilion, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

well i messed up and booked the wrong location.Amy at the front desk was extremely helpful in changing my resveration to the location i was at.she went above and beyond helping me. eveything turned out great to make my stay a pleasant one.thanks Amy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for submitting such a positive review of your recent stay at our hotel. As the General Manager of the property, Amy watches these reviews very closely and I can tell you that she is elated to hear the positive feedback about your stay in general, but also that she was so helpful and friendly to work with.

We look forward to welcoming you to Sandusky on your next visit! Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Needing to stay on the spur of the moment I found a really nice looking Comfort Inn from the street. Really nice lobby and awesome friendly desk clerk. Check in was smooth and easy.
This is when it turns downward. The walk down the hall to my room was filled with stale cigarette smoke, bad odor. The room was old but for the most part clean. Television is out of date but the bed was comfortable and i was only going to be there for a few hours. Could not get the musty smell out of my room nor bring the temperture down, didnt need the blankets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hello and thank you for relating your recent experiences with our hotel. While I'm disappointed that we didn't exceed all of your expectations--and that the public space obviously needed some housekeeping attention, I'm pleased to hear that the staff was attentive to your needs and friendly.

Rest assured that we use comments such as yours as tools to always improve our product and services--thanks for contributing to this goal! We hope you'll try us again in the future and that the issues that you described will have been corrected!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed overnight for business. Staff (Megan) was very helpful, efficient, and friendly. Hotel rooms are nicely decorated, no flat screens, but furniture looks new. My room smelled a bit musty. Staff was apologetic and arranged new room. New room was clean and was satisfied. Amenities were on par with newer comfort inns (although no fitness center). Weird layout, basically one LONG hallway so wear comfortable shoes to walk to the room. Overall hotel was average, but good staff make it worth coming back. Recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for relating your recent experience with our hotel. I'm VERY pleased to hear the good comments about Megan--and I'm also very happy that you noticed all of the work we've put into our recent renovations. Thank you for recommending our hotel to other discerning travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

this hotel needs work, i stayed fri-mon. on sat. we left early to go to cedar point and we didn't return until 10ish and there was no maid service,our room wasn't cleaned, no clean towels, no tp. im disabled and i had to go to the lobby to get tp and towels. all i heard was sorry. breakfast was horrible cant even take your coffee out of the breakfast room,no yogurt no fruit.third night the maid came i think, there were no new soap,shampoo, and only 1 towel and we were 4 people.

Room Tip: 2nd floor are the ones w/fridge micro
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I'm VERY sorry to hear that your stay at our hotel didn't meet your expectations and that you encountered problems with our housekeeping department. Rest assured that your comments and concerns have been heard and that will use your real-world example as training ground to improve our quality and attention to detail.

I'm also concerned that it appears that our breakfast was not up to our usual standards during your stay. That, too, will be looked into and corrected immediately.

We hope you'll treat these issues as isolated and give us another opportunity to prove our commitment to continuous quality improvement. We know if you give us another shot in the future, you'll be pleasantly surprised!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I want to thank Amy (front desk) Katie (front desk) and Vince (waiter at Baci) for exceptional service. We were only going to stay 2 nights but ended up staying 5 based on the service, accommodations, and things to do in the area. Amy and Katie were so accommodating to all of our needs during our stay. Vince went out of his way to make our dinner so enjoyable and delicious. I would highly recommend staying at this particular property. Not your average Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Wow! Thank you SO MUCH for recognizing our "over-the-top" commitment to quality customer service. It's so refreshing to hear positive comments such as yours and validates what we try to do every single day--provide THE best accommodations to the traveling public and the best rates possible.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us (even longer than you had planned); we hope to see you back real soon! Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. When you first walk in to the lobby it looks like a fabulous hotel. When we walked into our room, we thought oh oh... it smelled like it had been washed down in Lysol. So much so it burned our eyes. It looked like my pillow had not been washed, but merely flipped over because it still had make up on the pillow case and the beds felt like boards. We turned on the air and went out to the Sandusky mall. While we were there we searched for some incense, which we did not find. When we returned to the hotel I asked the front desk if we could switch rooms and told them our room smelled like Lysol. They were happy to oblige and explained that they thought the previous occupants had not followed the no-smoking rule in that room. We received a new room. This room was better, but still did not feel "clean". The tv is very old and the picture is horrible. The noise barrier is not very good either. We heard the neighbors through the wall when they got up at 6:00 AM and listened to doors opening and shutting all morning. I have read reviews that say to stay in a remodeled room or stay somewhere else. I don't believe we had a remodeled room and if we did, I'd hate to see the non-remodeled rooms. At any rate, I'd give that suggestion, as well. I would not stay here again. Sorry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to relate your recent experiences at our hotel. I'm very disappointed to hear that you were given a non-smoking room that smelled of smoke and/or covered-up smoke. Unfortunately, as you are aware, some people do not follow the guidelines of a non-smoking room and choose to smoke in the room despite the regulations. We try to take care of those issues immediately when they happen!

Structurally, this is one of the best-built hotels in Sandusky and EVERY room has been completely remodeled complete with new carpet, new beds, new linens, new window treatments, new furniture, etc.

We hope that you'll treat the negative issues that you encountered as isolated and give us another opportunity in the future to prove our commitment to continuous quality improvement! Thank you for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Sandusky

Address: 5909 Milan Road, US 2 & US 250, Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Sandusky 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly Yours™From the moment you arrive at our Comfort Inn, we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you, and you'll find everything to suit your needs, including: NEW Free hot breakfast buffet featuring eggs, sausage or bacon, fresh fruit, toast, danish, juice...and your choice of original or flavored wafflesFree high-speed Internet accessClean, comfortable and well-appointed roomsCozy bedsFeel at ease knowing that your satisfaction is important to us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Sandusky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.