We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky to your Saves list
Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5906 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 25%
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I suppose this hotel is ok if you're desperate or only staying 1 night. The room smelled musty & was very old looking. The shower head was disgusting so I couldn't take a shower. The outside of the hotel was also very old & filthy. I was worried about taking my shoes off because the carpet looked dirty. The price was way too high for this hotel also. I'll never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. Although this is an older property, we take that into consideration when setting our prices--and you should expect nothing less than a clean, comfortable, enjoyable stay.

I'm hopeful that you let our staff at the hotel know right away when you ran into issues. We're always willing to do our best to accommodate our guests. Simply moving you to another room might have resolved some of the issues that you encountered. However, your review also provides us with real-world examples of how we can improve and will help us review our quality standards with our staff. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and we hope that you'll give us another chance in the future to meet (and exceed) your lodging needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    24
    26
    70
See reviews for
74
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

First time there. Just me and my sons. Was moved to an executive room. Pleasant and helpful staff. Near stores (shopping center), restaurants, and water parks. Continental breakfast included. Happy Customer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. We're THRILLED to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our proximity to all of the great things our area has to offer. Come back soon-we look forward to serving you and your family in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Checked into spend the night. Staff was very pleasant, knowledgeable and professional in communicating. Asked her to print some coupons I found using my lap top. She spent the time to follow my directions to the web site and print the coupons for me. While talking to her, I learned she was the person on the phone when I called earlier in the week to request a first floor room, close to the desk. I remembered I commented to my family how pleasant she was. As for the décor and cleanliness: It was fine, there were no problems. We always take our pillows from home but forgot them this time. Pillows were a little flat, as with most hotels. While we would have liked a coffee pot in the room, there was one available just feet from our door. Breakfast was quick and we got out on time. Price was worth it, not gonna pay excessive amount for a night. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Usual restaurants within mile or less of hotel. Steak houses, Chinese, Mexican, Cracker Barrel, Bob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer such an overwhelming positive rating and review of your recent stay with us.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was friendly, helpful, and attentive to your needs. We hope that you'll chose to stay with us again should your travels bring you into our area in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

If I could give this hotel less stars I would! When we got to the hotel the room we paid over $80 for wouldn't open so we lost an hour of sleep while the stoned guy behind the desk tried to find us another room (we where only staying for 5 hours to get a bit of sleep before going to cedar point and our friends where staying there too) when we got in our new room that was smaller than the room we paid for (yet didn't get any refund) it smelt like mold and cigs so bad I almost threw up my husband opened the window and turned the heat on since it was freezing in there and it smelt like something was burning which was better than the mold smell. The room was so dirty!! I took a shower and the tub didn't drain very well so had to stand in nasty water, I dried off with my dirty shirt since it was cleaner than any of the towels (they all had black spots and blood stains eww) the carpet was damp which I'm sure that's where the smell came from. We went to bed and we had double beds since they didn't have any more king left, the beds looked like they where from the 50's with sheets that hardly fit the bed and very thin bedding and both beds where slanted at the bottoms so the head was way higher than the foot of the bed, the pillow cases where stained so I covered my pillow with my husbands dirty shirt. The bed was also harder than a rock! I froze all night so did my husband and he is usually really hot all the time. The neighbors woke up about an hour after we went to sleep sounded like they where talking in our room the walls where that thin and they took 4 showers it was so loud! My husband didn't sleep at all and he can usually pass out anywhere!! Lol I slept maybe an hour only good thing I can say about this place is I'm glad we didn't have to stay any longer!! Huge waste of money should have slept In our car would have been cleaner and way more comfy!

Room Tip: Sleep in our car and save the money!! Horrible hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the opportunity to rate and review your recent stay at our hotel. Although not the kind of review we like to see, ALL guest feedback--good and bad--is important to us as it helps us to better understand where to focus our energies and what is most important to our guests. I am very sorry that you encountered the issues that you raised in your review and only hope that you'll give us another chance in the future to prove our commitment to continuous quality improvement. Although this property is definitely geared and marketed toward the more budget-conscience guest, there is no reason to expect anything less than clean, comfortable, safe accommodations. Thank you again for your valuable feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#6 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
3.1 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#11 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
3.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites
Days Inn & Suites
#21 of 34 in Sandusky
3.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
2.6 mi away
Knights Inn Sandusky
Knights Inn Sandusky
#13 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Address: 5906 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The roller coasters at Cedar Point are just five miles away from our comfortable hotel, which features family rooms as well as luxurious honeymoon Jacuzzi rooms. Enjoy a large heated outdoor pool, complimentary express limited Continental breakfast, and easy access to the Baci NiteClub and Restaurant right across the street. Stay close to adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Travelodge Sandusky
Travel Lodge Sandusky
Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.