We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   51260 National Road, Saint Clairsville, OH 43950   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Coraopolis, PA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This the place we like to stay at when we travel to Wheeling Island Casino. 5 miles from the casino it is less pricey than staying at the casino hotel. Nothing fancy but it is a nice clean room. Outdoor pool in the summer and close to local shopping a good selection of dining places.. We always enjoy our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa K, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look foward to seeing you again the next time you head down to the casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    18
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
19
16
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Ohio
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
283 hotel reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

when in this area I usually stay at the holiday inn but it seems lately alot the the holiday inns have jacked their prices out of this world....I decided that it was time to find a new place in this area ...when I first stopped here I was somewhat leary due to the fact I have found some low end motels that were downright nasty...I was highly impressed with this place ..large parking lot for semis to park..pizza hut next door...room was spacious, extra clean,good wireless service, bed was ok( not great but not bad) a/c worked ok room had a kitchenette,table stove fully stocked cabinets cookware everything including the kitchen sink! I was impressed with the whole place..there were construction workers and one other truckdriver hanging out talking and everybody was freindly and having a good time...gentleman at front desk was very freindly and helpful...all this for $50.00....this is almost a 1/3 cheaper than there neighbor up the street....dont let looks be decieving this place is great...I will be back the next time Im in the area....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa K, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for your input for other travelers to review. We are happy you were pleased with your stay and service. We look froward to serving you again when you travel thru are area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel was just plain nasty - front desk service was good though, but room was dirty, bug infestations, occupants hanging outside the rooms drinking beer, and to top it off, an "escort" services van dropped off some "workers" just as I was leaving. I would rather sleep in my car on the side of my road - at least then I know I wouldnt get bitten by bugs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa K, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and we are glad to hear you were happy with our front desk service. We do have a shuttle service for the power plant workers that stay with us yearly to help them save on transportation costs, this is not an escort service, but a way for us to help out our guests. We also provide a picnic area for people to enjoy during the summer months and occasionally people do drink beer out there, we are sorry if this was an issue for you. As far as the bug issue, we are an exterior corridor hotel and when doors get left open, flying bugs do get in and we apologize that this was a problem. We do have a pest company that comes once a month to take care of any issues we may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The only bad thing about this hotel was it was priced a little too high. We were in town for the Beast of the East baseball tournament and it was 288 for 3 nites. A little on the steep side for an average hotel. The rooms were okay, nothing fancy, the frig was nice to keep the gatorade cold. Had plenty of towels and such for the room. Other than the price, it was okay.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa K, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for leaving you input for other travelers to review. We are happy that you were pleased with your stay. The Beast of the East is a major event in the area and all hotels generally book up a year in advance. We are one of the lowest, if not the lowest price hotels in the area and we are sorry you were not happy with the rate. If you come back next year, please review all of the rates in the area and we are certain you will find that our rate is the best. Thanks again for taking the time to leave your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

My work often requires me to change locations with just a few day's notice, so when I got the word I needed to be in the Wheeling area ASAP, I turned to Trip Advisor. Not only did I need a safe place to stay, but needed to bring my two substantial dogs. I've been here for a week, and felt it was time to comment.

The positive customer comments are right on target. Although dated, the facility is very clean and well-maintained. My little kitchenette is just the right size. Not only do I have a desk, I have a little dining table and a love-seat. (Well, the dogs have the love-seat. I brought a throw blanket from home to keep the hair down.)

The room is surprisingly clean. It's not luxurious by any means, but very comfortable. Far better than you'd expect in this price range. Even the bed is comfy. (Not upscale, but not awful, either!)

The staff is courteous and helpful. I asked to have the thermostat for the heat/ac unit checked in my room, and the problem was addressed right away.

My neighbors on either side are oil and gas construction contractors, but have been very quiet and courteous. (Except they get up a lot earlier than I do and the rumble of their big diesel 4WDs is louder than any alarm clock!) If I am still here during warmer weather, I'll update my comments if there's any change.

And did I mention the value? You cannot beat the combination of low price and clean surroundings! I will stay here for the next several weeks without any regrets.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa K, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. We hope that you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We found this little motel several years ago when coming to Wheeling to the casino and Cabelas. We stay every time we come which is on the average of 3 times a year. Everyone is extremely friendly and our room is always clean. Yes, they are older but they are CLEAN. We can bring our shih-tzu if we like and never any issues. The rates are also about 1/2 of what we would pay closer to the attractions we want to go to. It is only minutes away from the attractions and worth the very short drive from the Ohio line into Wheeling.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa K, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review for other travels. We appreciate that you stay with us a few times a year and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Wheeling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grindstone, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Christopher who checked us in was very nice.We stayed in Rm 116 and it was a very nice room,the beds were nice and firm,the room's heater worked very well the room had a small fridge and microwave in it. it was very adequate for sleeping in for 2 nights.
Parking is first come first served and if you leave to go to the the mall down the road you may lose your spot. A parking spot right in front of your room door cannot be guaranteed but the furthest we parked away was like Rm 120 I believe;
We do plan on coming back Soon.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling

Address: 51260 National Road, Saint Clairsville, OH 43950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Saint Clairsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling Hotel Saint Clairsville
Best Value Hotel St Clairsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.