We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good Pretty good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Econo Lodge & Suites
51659 National Road, Saint Clairsville, OH 43950   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pretty good Pretty good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Overall pretty good. Indoor pool in the basement. Rooms are actually a little nicer than im use to in other Choice hotels. Almost always have smoking rooms available. Too bad the bar downstairs closed, I have heard it reopened, but I have not been back since I heard that. The service is pretty good. Only downfall is the Breakfast kind of sucks. Usually mini doughnuts and mini muffins. and cereal. I have always had a fridge in every room I was in without requesting it. I have been here about 3-4 times in the past Yr. Overall 8 out of 10

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    1
    2
    38
See reviews for
12
7
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Garrett, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

Not enough adjectives to describe it - seedy, dirty, grimy, rude, filthy, awful. Definitely shouldn't have trusted the pictures on the web site for this one....

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We live very close to this dump. My husband and I were out shopping on December 3, 2011. His birthday. On the spur of the moment we decided to get a jacuzzi room. About $160.00 with tax. We went up to the room and I used the restroom right away. My husband used it next. He had to work on the toilet to get it to flush. I couldn't find the light switch to see what the rest of the room looked like. My husband finally found it and I was appalled. There are mirrored walls around the jacuzzi. The mirrors were smeared, heavily in places, with white stuff that I don't want to speculate about. At this point I knew I was leaving, but I went over to the bed and pulled the covers down and the was hair all over the sheets. I only wish I had taken pictures. We immediately went downstairs and demanded our money back. He tried to say we had gotten it dirty. We had been there a total of 5-7 minutes! He then offered to give us the NON SMOKING jacuzzi room and let us smoke in it!! We quickly declined and came home with our money! I came home and jumped in the shower I felt dirty from those few minutes! Next birthday we will get a decent hotel and not a dumpster.

Room Tip: How to choose a good room? GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I did not stay there, glad I did not after reading the reviews. I tried to cancil the reservation within the 24 hrs they require for reasons beyond my control , they refused, they said they were going to hold my room till 5:00 am, in case I changed my mind but I was paying for that room no matter what, they informed me they had my credit card number. I encountered nothing but attitude from both staff and management. My appeal to the credit card company did not do any good, I would not make another reservation at this hotel, I think I would perfer a tent first. It cast a doubt on the entire hotel chain in my opinion. One really needs to read the opinions of other travelers on this advisor first.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012 via mobile

I'm referring to the Walmart parking lot - just a short drive down the road - from this atrocity -- DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

There were 3 people working behind the desk when I arrived. The man who seemed to be in charge had no customer service skills and would not let the other employees do their jobs. Our bed only had 2 thin pillows, so when I went to the front desk to request more, a woman tried to get them for me. She was getting ready to put pillow cases on them first, when the man in charge told her to just give them to me, and I could do that. Really?! She ignored him and put the cases on anyways. Meanwhile another customer came in and the man behind the counter tried to get him to take one of the more expensive rooms and started to haggle over prices. He was being very pushy.

We were only given one room key.

The room was terrible. It looked like a set-up for a dirty porn film. It was very dark, and there was a dark tinted mirror behind the bed. The bed was too soft and slanted, so if only one pillow was used, our feet were higher than our heads. The TV remote only worked sporadically. The bathroom was not very well lit either, and the tub floor looked worn/dirty. A tissue box was resting on the handicap bar next to the toilet, and when I reached for a tissue, the whole box fell in the toilet. Yuck! There should have been a holder for the tissue box, or it should have been placed in the bedroom.

Breakfast was haphazardly displayed. Two boxes of muffins were still on the table in boxes, instead of in the display case. They had powdered creamer instead of liquid. There was a waffle maker, but with the quality of the rest of the hotel, I was afraid to try it.

I chose this hotel because it had a pool and a whirlpool and because the picture of that area looked nice, I didn't take the time to read the reviews. When I went DOWN TO THE BASEMENT TO THE POOL AREA, the whirlpool was empty and roped off, and I noticed in another person's review 4 months earlier that the same situation occurred for them, so the whirlpool was probably never fixed during this 4 month time span.

When I checked out, I was never asked about my stay. I will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I just read other reviews about this place and they all sum it up. I been all over the world. I've stayed in places that cost $2 a night it had fleas, but the view was nice and it cost $2. This place cost $70 and i was in a tight room, a TV from the 70s (as well as decor). STAY away from this place. I wish I could say the people were nice ... he wouldn't even take my Choice Member number ... THAT'S WHY I CHOSE HERE!!! I've called Choice Hotels to let them know that is hotel is such a bag of caca (Spanish translation??).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge & Suites

Address: 51659 National Road, Saint Clairsville, OH 43950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Saint Clairsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Clairsville Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Saint Clairsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.