We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn St. Clairsville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn St. Clairsville to your Saves list
Hampton Inn St. Clairsville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51130 National Rd E (US 40), Saint Clairsville, OH 43950   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“It's just ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

As someone who travels 9 months a year for work I put most of that time in at Hampton inns. And I usually look forward to my stay abd returning to most. However this Hampton just makes me feel blah. It's nothing fancy outside of the lobby and that's fine. It's big. It has a managers reception that isn't anywhere near the quality of the Wheeling Hampton. It's catered by the restaurant upstairs I believe. And their food Is just nasty. Worst pizza I've had in my life abd all of my travels. But anyway what really gets hot is I was relieving a co-worker he changed the room from his name to mine so when he left I had a room. Upon arrival the desk staff are like no. We don't have a room for you. Brian checked out abd were full. I've stayed here a few times and it just seems like u need to twist someone's arm to make anything happen. I really have no gripes about the hotel other than I feel that a few desk staff members are totally incompetent. I just don't care about this hotel like I feel about other Hampton inns where the staff Make u feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    38
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
59
52
9
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I were attending a wedding in Ohio and we made reservations at the Hampton Inn. The wedding was earlier than the designated check in time. After a five hour drive my husband and I didn't want to get changed into our wedding attire in a bathroom. So, I called the Hampton Inn to see if we could check in early. The front desk clerk, Tracy, who I had the pleasure of explaining my dilemma, Tracy stated that she would see what she could do to get us into our room. She came back to the phone stated that if we give them 45 minutes, when we arrive the hotel room would be ready. Once we arrived I was greeted by a pleasant smile and an extended hand from Tracy. I felt very welcome. Just a special shout out to Tracy from Mrs. Bailey thanks so much for excellent customer service.The room was clean and I was very pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonStClairsville, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Clairsville, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hi Tamia B!
I made sure to tell Tracey about your review and how awesomely helpful she was.
Thank you for taking the time to recognize Tracey, she is a great lady, and thank you for taking the time to write this review,
Stephanie Westfall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Clairsville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a great time at the Hampton Inn in St. Clairsville, Ohio! The staff was very friendly and helpful! We will definitely stay there again! We have stayed in this area several times and this is the nicest place we have stayed in so far!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonStClairsville, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Clairsville, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hello JaneN,
WOW! Thank you for the awesome comment about us being the nicest place! That is a fantastic compliment! I am so happy that you were so please with everything, this review really makes my day,
Thank you!
Stephanie Westfall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Normally stay once a month. Rooms are OK, staff is friendly & helpful. Need to make reservation as room book fast. I like the fitness center and complimentary breakfast has nice variety. I've never used the pool, so I cannot comment. Location is close to eateries and interstate access is easy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonStClairsville, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Clairsville, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hi 399barneyr!
Thank you for coming back and staying with us, and thank you for the thorough review!
Stephanie Westfall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Checked in at 2:00 am after a very long day on the road. Desk clerk was friendly, wide awake and eager to offer complimentary late night...well, early morning snack. Special surprise was whirlpool in my room. Despite the hour I soaked for 15 minutes and totally unwound from the day's stress.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonStClairsville, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Clairsville, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hello jazzguySO,
I am glad that the whirlpool helped you unwind your days stress and that you enjoyed your morning snack.. I am glad we could help!
Thank you for staying with us, and please stop again,
Stephanie Westfall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demotte, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here one night, decent pricing, very close to lots of restaurants and just a 10 minute trip to Wheeling to the casino and dog track. Room was about as expected from a Hampton Inn, nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. Continental breakfast in the morning was good, no real issues or problems at this hotel, would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonStClairsville, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Clairsville, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hello KaryIN,
I am glad to hear that everything was great with your stay and thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor,
Stephanie Westfall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood Village, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Good breakfast, complimentary dinner on Wednesdays from Undo's Italian Restaurant (connected to the building). Fitness Center has enough to get a full workout in. Swimming pool and hot tub are nice accessories.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonStClairsville, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Clairsville, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello Justin e!
I am glad you enjoyed our Wednesday Managers Reception, and the fitness area, it sounds like you had a great stay!
Thank you for staying with us,
Stephanie Westfall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn St. Clairsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Clairsville

Address: 51130 National Rd E (US 40), Saint Clairsville, OH 43950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Saint Clairsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn St. Clairsville 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Wheeling/St. Clairsville is surrounded by gorgeous mountains, lakes and hiking paths with easy access to I70and I470 and only 8 miles from Wheeling. Our hotel has 116 guestrooms, accessible rooms, pool, business center and fitness center to accommodate all of your traveling needs. In addition to the free hot breakfast, fresh Hampton Bed and free high speed internet in every room, our hotel proudly offers the 100% Hampton Guarantee on every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Clairsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Clairsville Hotel Saint Clairsville
Hampton Inn Saint Clairsville
Saint Clairsville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn St. Clairsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.