We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express St. Clairsville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express St. Clairsville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express St. Clairsville
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   51654 National Road, Saint Clairsville, OH 43950   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
NJ
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“OK Stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

We needed a clean, decent stopover along Route 70 in Ohio, and this hotel fit the bill nicely. It is right over the border from Wheeling, West Virginia, but its location allows you to avoid the city if you want to.

The accomodations were standard Holiday Inn Express - not exciting but if you want a place to stay along the road it works fine.Room was clean with enough room for two of us. Breakfast was a notch above standard continental - cooked sausage and rubber type eggs, but no waffles or cooked oatmeal.

You will have to drive to dinner. Check at the front desk for various discounts/free extras in the area if you show your room key. We ate down the road at the West Texas Roadhouse (we were told this one wasn't part of a chain) where I had an excellent steak at a reasonable price.

  • Liked — Clean and reliable
  • Disliked — Have to drive to anything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    21
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
19
10
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
thefbi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

I am a very frequent traveler. I not often surprised and less often impressed. I was both with my stay at this property. It started at check in. The Desk Clerk (Tondela) was such a pleasure. I entered the motel whipped from a hard day on the road. She was so nice, pleasant and friendly, I left the desk smiling. The room was neat as pin, clean as a whistle and just plain pleasant to be in.

Nice breakfast.

I have read a couple of previous reviews. One who had a bad check in experience ... are you sure you were at this property because I just can't believe you were and one with kids who apparently were not allowed to destroy the property. I found both of these reviews to be helpful since I prefer not to stay in a motel that caters to an unruly clientèle !

  • Liked — The plesant staff !!
  • Disliked — I couldn't stay longer !
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

Stayed here twice in the last year. The last time they had just upgraded the tv's to 32 in flat screens. Pretty nice for a hotel! Room was clean, bed comfortable, breakfast was nice. Did not use the pool. Check in was easy and friendly. Hotel is located on the fringe of a huge mall with many dining choices. The hotel is about 10 miles west of Wheeling, WV. Will stay here again.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiram, ga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

We were up for family get- together in july, 2006. staff was friendly , and cheerful. rooms were neat , clean and well maintained . the breakfast served downstairs was great; omelets, cereal, boiled eggs, coffee, juices , milks, pastries . We will use this place again when we return for visits.

  • Liked — the breakfasts
  • Disliked — parking lot was full on the weekend
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGH
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

Not a place for kids,(even well-behaved ones) Staff uncaring and unfriendly! Would not give extra towels. Rude staff. We felt rushed to have to leave the hotel right at 11:00am after reserving 4 rooms for two nights. Would not give late check-out. Would not recommend. Stay at the Fairfield Inn down the street

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2006

We stayed at this hotel a number of years ago and were very pleased. When we were going to do some shopping at the large mall in St. Clairsville, we decided to go back. We were greeted by friendly staff. The room was extra clean and the beds were very comfortable. They are putting new chairs in all the rooms plus the breakfast area. They told us that new bedding would be in place within a month.

Our son enjoyed the pool. It was a little cool but didn't take him long to spend an enjoyable evening there. The room was well lit so his Mother and I could get some reading done.

There was an attendant on duty at breakfast who kept everything well suppied. There were three kinds of cereal, hard boiled eggs, a cheese omelet and sausage and bscuits, plus the usual juice, coffee and yogurt.

An added benefit is that it is away from the traffic and noise of the mall area. It is located in back of a AAA office so is very quiet. We will definaity say there again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2005

I needed a place to stay for business for 1 night. The next night I was supposed to stay at a different Holiday in approx. 30 miles away. I decided to stay at this one another night and just get up and drive in the morning. I just felt more comfortable in this hotel. This hotel is clean. I did not feel uncomfortable. There were no cigarette smells throughout the hallways. If you find something good stick with it.

Stayed November 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Clairsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Clairsville

Address: 51654 National Road, Saint Clairsville, OH 43950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Saint Clairsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Clairsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Performing Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Clairsville, OH. We are conveniently located off of I-70 via exits 218 or 220.Free wireless high-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel.Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center.Swim year round in our indoor heated pool.Start your morning off right by visiting our new Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring a hot food station, an assortment of breads, cereals, juices, and our signature cinnamon rolls.The hotel is conveniently located near Wheeling, WV, Oglebay Park, Wheeling Island Casino & Racetrack, and Jamboree in the Hills. There are plenty of shopping and dining options available at the Ohio Valley Mall, Ohio Valley Plaza, and the Highlands.So when planning your next business trip or weekend getaway, Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Clairsville, OH. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Clairsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Clairsville Hotel Saint Clairsville
Holiday Inn Saint Clairsville
Saint Clairsville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St Clairsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express St. Clairsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.