We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great stay.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   68400 Matthews Drive, Saint Clairsville, OH 43950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    23
    22
    59
See reviews for
37
18
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Clairsville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

It was my last choice, but it had to be made. It's just old and it shows. It's a dry bed with a hot wet shower, nothing more, nothing less. Parking can be a chore for anything bigger then a compact car.
On the bright side, it is between a wonderful steakhouse and a Denny's

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super83199, Manager at Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us. We greatly appreciate your review and take every concern from our guests seriously and will use them to imrpove in the future. Please give us another oppurtunity to suit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel stinks of cigarette smoke. I had no hot water in my shower and the management did nothing to fix it. I travel a lot on business and this is the worst hotel (at any price) I have ever stayed in. This dump would be out of business or booking rooms by the hour if it wasn't for the demand for rooms in the area. I will never stay here again. I will sleep in my car if there are no rooms available at any of the other hotels. The clerk tried to help and was really nice but he said their was nothing he could do and that the owner was cheap and won't have things fixed or cleaned. This hotel would be a rip off at $8 a night. My barn is cleaner.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super83199, Manager at Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
We are very sorry that we did have boiler issues which cause some guests to go without hot water, But to say that we do not fix any issues is completly false. The next morning at 8am we contacted a boiler repair company and had the problem fixed. Ciggerette smoke we keep down to a minumum and have a entire floor strictly dedicated to non smokers. We do our absolute best to ensure our guests are happy, but if a boiler breaks at 10pm it is unfortuanetly impossible for us to fix it that time. We understand it is frustrating and upsetting for our guests as it is for us as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clairsvil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We checked in had unloaded everything including pet cages and at bedtime discovered bloody sheets and peanut shells on one of the beds; so we both slept in one bed. It was too late and cumbersome to move to another room. We took pictures and showed them to clerk on duty who checked the bed personally. He said he was only authorized to give a 10% discount and any request for further compensation would have to be approved by the district manager. I will be taking this matter up with the district manager and expect more. The outcome of that discussion will determine whether we ever stay at a Wyndham property again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super83199, Manager at Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We guarantee to correct any situation. When notified about the sheets, new sheets was provided and we offered to remake the bed. At check out we also offered a additional discount to the room. Everything possible was done to correct the situation. Agreed the stained sheets should have not been on the bed in the first place, and discilplinary action will be taken against the responsible individual.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville

Address: 68400 Matthews Drive, Saint Clairsville, OH 43950
Location: United States > Ohio > Saint Clairsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville Hotel Saint Clairsville
Saint Clairsville Super 8
Saint Clairsville Super Eight
Super 8 Saint Clairsville
Super Eight Saint Clairsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.