We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is really gone down hill since i stayed here a...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   68400 Matthews Drive, Saint Clairsville, OH 43950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in Saint Clairsville
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    22
    21
    57
See reviews for
36
18
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

After driving farther than we wanted to, we decided to finally get some shut-eye. I have never had a bad experience at a Super 8 and threw caution to the wind at all the poor reviews. Unfortunately, the reviewers were correct. The room smelled horribly, as there was only a smoking room left. After deciding that we would just deal with it because we were too tired to drive on, we discovered that there was trash shoved between the bed and the table...and the bed and the wall. I was questioning whether the room was clean already, but it was now obvious that it wasn't. I peeled back the covers to find them dirty...stains...ashes...hair, etc. Disgusting. Still too tired to travel on at this point, I decided to lay under the bedspread, in my street clothes, inside of my jacket...with my face inside the hood and arms tucked in. Did I mention that the heat did not work and it was blowing out cold air?! If it was warm, I would have slept on top of the covers. Terrible experience...never again. DO NOT STAY AT THIS ESTABLISHMENT! STAY SOMEPLACE ELSE!!

Room Tip: Just don't stay here...it's not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super83199, Manager at Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Please understand if you do not tell management, or one of our front desk clerks about the issue then nothing can be done. If you let us know that somthing is wrong with the room we can certainly move you or upgrade your room and correct the situation. Also we need to know so that disciplinary action may be taken on employees. We want to offer a great experience for all of our guests and it is very unfortunate that this occured. We are extremely sorry and will be working very hard to make certain this does not happen again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plain City, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I would recommend this hotel for the working man or woman on a budget. At $75/night it was a good deal, relative to the oil/gas demands of Eastern Ohio. I did not experience noise, smoke, bugs or excessive grunginess issues. Of course it's not holiday inn express quality, so you will see some dirt and splatter marks. If you are in town working and are not spending much time in your room, then it's a good choice. I would not take my family here, though, unless other options were tried. Tolerable for the single man but not the wife.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just last week I was making a 10 hour drive into Washington, D.C. from the midwest. I hadn't previously booked a hotel for the night as I wasn't sure how far I would get. Unfortunately for me, it was raining and by the time I hit St. Clairsville, I knew that it wasn't wise to keep driving. The only place that wasn't booked was the Super 8. Despite being incredibly uncomfortable in the parking lot at 11:30pm, I went ahead and went inside. It didn't get any better from there.

They had to go "check" to see that my room was ready once I got inside. Once they handed over my key, I walked into a dank, dark room. I figured that since it was just overnight, I could handle the "ick" factor. That was, until I pulled back the sheets to reveal multiple stains and walked into the bathroom to find other people's body hair and sink murky with all sorts of grime and goop.

I grabbed my bags and walked right back out. To their credit, I shared my problem and simply said that I wanted a refund. They complied with no complaint.

Ironically, I was headed to a conference to address the problem of domestic sex trafficking and heartbreakingly almost everything about this hotel (including another reviewer mentioning an "escort service" drop off") threw up red flags that this is not a safe place for many.

I hope that this establishment takes a long hard look at their business practices. As for me, I will certainly never be stopping by every again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super83199, Manager at Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I am happy to hear that you recieved your FULL refund when you was unhappy with your room. We offer everyone the oppurtunity to inspect their room before they choose to stay. As for a escort drop off this is very untrue. We work very hard with local officials to ensure drugs, and sex trafficking does not take place in our motel. We also have cameras around our building to ensure the safety of all our guests and the parking lot is very well lit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville

Address: 68400 Matthews Drive, Saint Clairsville, OH 43950
Location: United States > Ohio > Saint Clairsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in Saint Clairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville Hotel Saint Clairsville
Saint Clairsville Super 8
Saint Clairsville Super Eight
Super 8 Saint Clairsville
Super Eight Saint Clairsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.