We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non-smoking room with smoking rooms on both sides and...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   68400 Matthews Drive, Saint Clairsville, OH 43950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    23
    22
    59
See reviews for
37
18
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plain City, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I would recommend this hotel for the working man or woman on a budget. At $75/night it was a good deal, relative to the oil/gas demands of Eastern Ohio. I did not experience noise, smoke, bugs or excessive grunginess issues. Of course it's not holiday inn express quality, so you will see some dirt and splatter marks. If you are in town working and are not spending much time in your room, then it's a good choice. I would not take my family here, though, unless other options were tried. Tolerable for the single man but not the wife.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just last week I was making a 10 hour drive into Washington, D.C. from the midwest. I hadn't previously booked a hotel for the night as I wasn't sure how far I would get. Unfortunately for me, it was raining and by the time I hit St. Clairsville, I knew that it wasn't wise to keep driving. The only place that wasn't booked was the Super 8. Despite being incredibly uncomfortable in the parking lot at 11:30pm, I went ahead and went inside. It didn't get any better from there.

They had to go "check" to see that my room was ready once I got inside. Once they handed over my key, I walked into a dank, dark room. I figured that since it was just overnight, I could handle the "ick" factor. That was, until I pulled back the sheets to reveal multiple stains and walked into the bathroom to find other people's body hair and sink murky with all sorts of grime and goop.

I grabbed my bags and walked right back out. To their credit, I shared my problem and simply said that I wanted a refund. They complied with no complaint.

Ironically, I was headed to a conference to address the problem of domestic sex trafficking and heartbreakingly almost everything about this hotel (including another reviewer mentioning an "escort service" drop off") threw up red flags that this is not a safe place for many.

I hope that this establishment takes a long hard look at their business practices. As for me, I will certainly never be stopping by every again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super83199, Manager at Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I am happy to hear that you recieved your FULL refund when you was unhappy with your room. We offer everyone the oppurtunity to inspect their room before they choose to stay. As for a escort drop off this is very untrue. We work very hard with local officials to ensure drugs, and sex trafficking does not take place in our motel. We also have cameras around our building to ensure the safety of all our guests and the parking lot is very well lit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holts Summit, Missouri, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

when we first arrived....it was dark. bad bad bad. The shower had never been cleaned and the towels were brown. i asked for the cleaning supplies and cleaned myself. the sweeper bag was full to the max and i had to change myself. next day i became sick. VERY SICK!!! WE BOTH DID which is uncalled for. we stayed a week and payed A LOT. on our final day my fiance went to work and they informed me I NEEDED TO LEAVE AT 11. i told the we would stay another evening because my fiance wouldnt be back until 6pm. they informed me the room was spoken for, SO i asked just to be moved to another room until following day. ..THEY REFUSED AND TOLD ME I HAD TO VACATE. I ASKED TO SIT IN LOBBY. THEY SAID NO. I AM FROM MISSOURI AND I HAD NO WAY TO LEAVE. THEY THEN SAID I COULD NOT EVEN SI IN PARKING LOT. THE HEATH DEPARTMENT SHOULD SHUT THEM DOWN. PLEASE DONT RISK UR HEALTH OR WASTE YOUR MONEY. JUST GO A BLOCK AWAY AND STAY AT RED ROOF INN. SUPER 8 WONT BE AROUND FOR LONG BECAUSE THEY WILL GET SHUT DOWN!!!!!!!!! on top of it the staff was horrible.

Room Tip: go to RED ROOF INN. they were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super83199, Manager at Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
This guest did stay for a entire week without any complaints. We keep a detailed record of all complaints by guests. If a room is this filty we are not forcing anyone to stay. Especially for a entire week. We had to have this guest leave after the 7th night and not extend their stay do to constant harassing other guest and to much drinking. It is our job to ensure a peaceful atmosphere for our guests and this behavior is not acceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This motel was awful. The cost of a king room was far too high for the quality of the room. It was terrible. It was billed as being newly renovated but we discovered that meant only a new bedspread and curtains. The bed was springy and uneven and the pillows were flat, made of foam. The carpet was dirty and frayed. The towel holder was so cheap that it almost came off of the wall. The hair dryer didn't work. We were very disappointed and actually kind of angry that we had paid so much for such a low quality place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super83199, Manager at Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We will certainly use this review to improve in the future. Thank you for taking notice of our new bedding system. We can guarantee that many more improvements will be taking place in the future such as flat screen tv's, freshly painted rooms, and a overall very good quality of stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville

Address: 68400 Matthews Drive, Saint Clairsville, OH 43950
Location: United States > Ohio > Saint Clairsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville Hotel Saint Clairsville
Saint Clairsville Super 8
Saint Clairsville Super Eight
Super 8 Saint Clairsville
Super Eight Saint Clairsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Motel St. Clairsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.