We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tea and Rueben” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Melissas

Sweet Melissas
19337 Detroit Ave, Rocky River, OH 44116-1801
(440) 333-6357
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 55 Restaurants in Rocky River
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
North Royalton, Ohio
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Tea and Rueben”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Great iced tea and rueben sandwich. The dressing was delicious. Very healthy menu and good for vegetarian choices. Flat bread excellent. Good place and great atmosphere.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    30
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Royalton, Ohio
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I've never ever heard anything bad about this place so we gave it a try. It had a great menu for vegetarians and overall it was good. I had the rueben which was excellent and my partner had the mushroom flatbread which she found very good. I think this is an excellent place for a vegetarian to go and for the meat lover like me it was fine as well. We would return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant Bustling Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Sweet Melissa's menu will have you wondering how many different dishes you can try at once. Perfect for breakfast, lunch or brunch, it is an open room with no really cozy corners. The unique food styling and the bustling charm make up for the urban openess.
I always try the calamari wherever I go - this is not a stellar item at Sweet Melissa's as it was overcooked. However the stuffed artichokes were to die for. All ingredients seem fresh and the butternut squash salad was delightful in every way. Service can be a little slow during a busy time as it was when I was there on a Sunday at noon.
Parking in the rear is convenient as the back door leads to the hostess stand.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, service so so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I love this place for meeting with my girlfriends, or for a hip casual lunch/brunch or dinner. The place is decorated in a lovely way - not too contemporary, not too traditional. The feel is a mix of fancy marketplace meets NY style bistro, but is not too noisy with that.

The food is solid, a bit on the heavy side, but clearly prepared by using fresh ingredients. I would not classify their food as fancy or super original, but it tastes good and I would come back. Their desserts /cakes are their true strength, their cakes are made in house and they are doing a really good job with that.

As for the service, it is okay at best. I had to wait for a refill for >20 minutes (with asking multiple times), and it was not crowded at all. Yeah, and the cappuccino was more of a latte - I think this place should know the proper difference between the two.

Other than that, we had a lot of fun, so did my friends.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“We Like This Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Nice variety of cuisine; everything from burgers, wraps, and shrimp tacos to steak and fish dishes along with great appetizers, salads and soups. Daily specials on both food & drink, and friendly wait staff. We have been coming here for years and recently went for dinner two nights in a row. Favorites include fried brussel sprout appetizer, any of the soups, and the Nicoise tuna or blackened shrimp salad - the bacon wrapped meatloaf is awesome. Prices can't be beat and we know many of the servers by name. Molly will make you some of the best drinks you've had anywhere. Fast friendly service and good portions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Melissas also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Melissas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Melissas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.