We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, delicious food, BUT room and especially the bed should have been more comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenlaurel Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenlaurel Inn
Save
You added Glenlaurel Inn to your Saves list
14940 Mt. Olive Road, Rockbridge, OH 43149-9736   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Rockbridge B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, delicious food, BUT room and especially the bed should have been more comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

My husband and I visited Glenlaurel several years ago in the winter and really enjoyed our visit including hiking around frozen waterfalls at Hocking Hills and the Glenlaurel property. We visited again in September 2009. Again the food for dinner and breakfast was great and the natural surroundings lovely. However, our croft - Drummond - while very clean seemed somewhat worn. I particularly did not think that the bed was as comfortable as I would expect considering the price. I also didn't think the kitchenette (which we did not use) or the bathroom were as nicely finished as one might expect. Overall, however, we had an enjoyable get-away and I would also recommend the zip-line tour nearby.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    22
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
113
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Everything was just wonderful, food, scenery, croft. We loved it so much we had to go back. Looking forward to another return visit. So charming!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

Beautiful area, gorgeous cottage, and PEACE. I had forgotten what the night sky used to look like. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

Glen Laurel was absolutely breathtaking! The soft music in the rooms, exquisite dinner, lunches on the patio, hike on the private trail, chocolate covered strawberries in our room, jacuzzi tub, wine tasting with the owners, couples massage... need I say more?!?!

Definitely check this place out! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

I surprised my husband with a one night stay at Glenlaurel. It was our first time staying there. We entered our "Croft" to soft music playing and there was even special anniversary gift awaiting us! The dinner was great and breakfast was incredible. We toured the grounds after breakfast. Everything was so beautiful and peaceful! We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

My fiance and I went to glenlaurel for dinner one night. We didn't stay there so I don't know how the cottages or rooms are. There is a very nice ambiance there and everyone seems friendly. The landscaping on the property is beautiful as well. The dinner consisted of a 5-course meal. Some things were extremly salty and some didn't have enough salt. Dessert was strawberry shortcake with a scone which was not very tasty. The best part of the meal was the appetizer which was smoked salmon and a deviled egg. After dessert the chef comes out and I didn't know what to say except that it was good. It definitely wasn't anything to get excited over, but I didn't say that to him. For the price we paid I would have expected some wine with it but they don't have a liquor license and we were told we could bring our own. After getting the bill I wish we would've had some wine because that was not at all what I thought the price should be. I really feel that you pay more for presentation than anything else but that's just my opinion. Along with great service I want great tasting food and then it would be worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

My fiance and I stayed for a Saturday night recently and had a wonderful time. First of all, we only had time for one evening and the Inn was able to accomodate (normally a two night stay on the weekend is required). Staying in one of the older crofts (the Drummond) when we arrived we noticed it had recently been completely been refurbished and was beautiful. The music playing when we walked in set the tone for the evening, VERY relaxing. A great screened in porch, fireplace, good sized kitchen, hot tub and screened in porch was perfect for us. We brought our own dinner but had breakfast at the Manor House the next morning and it was delicious. Their homemade granola is very good and we bought some to take home. Beautiful property, comfortable surroundings and a quiet setting make this one of the best stays we've had in a long time and possibly ever. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenlaurel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlaurel Inn

Address: 14940 Mt. Olive Road, Rockbridge, OH 43149-9736
Location: United States > Ohio > Rockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Glenlaurel is laced with romance; from the moment the Manor House comes into view at the driveway entrance until it fades into the tree line from the rearview mirror at departure...the warm welcome at the front door feels like arriving at the stately home of a distant but approachable relative where the children are all grown or away for the weekend.Welcome into the Legend...the Legend of Glenlaurel. Experience the look of the Scottish countryside and the feel of times gone by at our luxurious Hocking Hills accommodations (rooms, suites, crofts, and cottages) that are perfect for romantics and dreamers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Laurel Hotel Rockbridge
Country Inn Rockbridge
Rockbridge Country Inn
Glenlaurel Inn Ohio/Rockbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenlaurel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.