We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenlaurel Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenlaurel Inn
Save
You added Glenlaurel Inn to your Saves list
14940 Mt. Olive Road, Rockbridge, OH 43149-9736   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Rockbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ashville, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and I have been staying at Glenlaurel Inn for over 15 years now. Never once have we been disappointed with any aspect of our experience. The rooms and grounds are wonderful and dinner is always amazing. We were so pleased to discover that an eight hole golf course had just been opened. What a wonderful historical experience on a primitive course with hickory clubs! My wife and I had so much fun with the wonderful addition. We cant wait to return for another relaxing experience at the Inn.
Brent and Kendra Sherman

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenlaurelInn, Owner at Glenlaurel Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for being our guest and your kind comments. We strive to provide the type of experience that you and your wife had and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    26
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
121
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I spent our 15th wedding anniversary at Glenlaurel after listening to my mother and sister rave about the place for several years. It is a lovely inn and the surroundings are beautiful. The rooms are very clean and the staff was very friendly. We stayed in the MacGregor room, which is right next to the kitchen, so if you aren't an early riser, you may awaken earlier than you'd like! We ate breakfast the first day on the large deck and the rest of our meals in the dining room. We found the staff to be attentive at all of our meals. We had the seven course meal on Saturday and the food was very good, but not exceptional. The poetry reading was done quickly by one of the wait staff and was uninspired, I thought.The rooms are tasefully decorated and had several nice touches, such as robes to use during your stay, a small refrigerator in your room, a few snacks, CD player, wine opener, coffee maker, and glassware. There are no TV's in the room, but plenty of reading material and they have a nice selection of books in the downstairs pub. The cocktail hour before dinner had a good selection of cheese and fruit that were complimentary.

They no longer have a separate spa facility, so massages are done in your room. The masseuse didn't get the message of my request, so after waiting ten minutes, I called the front desk and within another ten minutes, she arrived. She did a great job, but I can get just as good of a maasage for half the price elsewhere. My husband tried the links golf course (8 holes with old fashioned hickory sticks, packed sand 'greens' and piles of sand used for tees). He enjoyed this while I had my massage.

One of the very enjoyable things we did was to drive the surrounding area on the twisty, hilly roads. There are several places to hike on the Glenlaurel grounds and beyond. We found Old Man's Cave to be crowded, but interesting. We also enjoyed the hike down to the Rock House. While we enjoyed our stay, we felt it was a bit overpriced. But we will probably return. I think the fall and winter would be wonderful seasons to visit.

Room Tip: Macgregor room lovely, but next to kitchens. Not a problem if you tend to arise before 7:30am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenlaurelInn, Owner at Glenlaurel Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for being our guests and Happy Anniversary - again! How disappointing to hear about the poetry reading. That is certainly not how it is usually done and your comments have been directed to our Dining Room Manager. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your visit and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Wanted to enjoy a weekend with the hubby, and prior to our arrival, mistakes were made by the staff. Only a "sorry" was given, and no willingness or desire to rectify the situation, and blaming it on the consumer; brought about a bitter beginning to the getaway. Overlooked the staff's ignorance from the manager down...and went ahead with the stay. Chose to not spend any money at Glenlaurel, opting to go to the Inn and Spa at Cedar Falls for our massages, lunch and dinner.which were all awesome.
Breakfast is included in the "overpriced" accommodations at Glenlaurel.....but honestly, the food at Waffle House tastes about the same, and actually arrives at your table hot. The wait staff walked by and offered no refills on beverages, knowing they were empty.

So, if you are looking for great service, great food, welcoming staff willing to admit they were wrong, and try to do what they can to keep you happy (and spend money at their Inn).....DON'T GO TO GLENLAUREL!!

It used to be great when Michael owned the place, but now you can tell that three Columbus business owners are involved..........all about the bottom line....(Money).

I agree with the other comments made regarding the food, golf course and services, they are all true representatives of what Glenlaurel is about. But when you read the comments posted by one of the owners, you see they say the same thing...come again and receive the welcoming you should have!!!! No thank you!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenlaurelInn, Owner at Glenlaurel Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your opinion and strive to always make each guest’s experience special. We apologize we fell short of your expectations. We are curious if you asked to speak to a manager to rectify your situation?

Regarding our menu, we have a different style of service and food than the Inn at Cedar Falls and we are very disappointed to hear that you felt our food was less superior. We take great pride in all the selections, preparations, and service that we offer and we get many guests who are blown away by our service. We have shared your comments with our Executive Chef and our Dining Room Manager.

Glenlaurel's spirit is alive and the original dream still grows. The gracious staff and owners strive to continue the ambiance that was originally created by Michael. Even though the dreamer is no longer at Glenlaurel, the dream is still alive and continues to grow. Change is inevitable, but the original vision is still what makes Glenlaurel so special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I visited Glenlaurel Inn for the first time last month to review its links golf course for the Society of Hickory Golfers. I found it offers a delightful and convenient introduction to antique hickory golf such as was played prior to 1935 in this country. The course is executive length and easily walkable by a senior player. The inn provides a helpful written introduction to hickory golf, a starter set of four vintage hickory shafted clubs, and a sleeve of balls manufactured by Point Five Golf designed to go shorter distances than regulation balls. While the balls may at first seem a bit unusual, their weight and play characteristics are similar to the old style gutta percha balls used today in some hickory tournaments. The course is Scottish links style built over open meadow land with grass heights varying from an inch or so on the fairways to some serious hay in the rough. It provided a sporting experience augmented by to opportunity to putt and chip onto sand greens, a composite of sand and clay, that were quite common during the hickory golf era and are authentically reproduced here. The cost for the golf, club rental, and balls, which the player retains, was modest. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The inn accommodations and cuisine are high end.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuy Falls
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The setting and accommodations of Glen Laurel are lovely. The grounds are peaceful and serene. It is clean and tasteful. However, the beds are very soft, requests to the front desk go unanswered and the dinners are mediocre at best. You cannot buy a glass of wine, bottles only. Would love to go back, but some changes would need to be made.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenlaurelInn, Owner at Glenlaurel Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for being our guest! We are disappointed to read that your requests to the front desk were unattended to; this has been addressed with the Front Desk staff. Most guests are very impressed with our rooms and our meals (specifically our six & seven course dinner service), so we’re sorry to hear you were not. We strive to exceed expectations and 9 times out of 10, we do. We received our liquor license earlier this year and are still working out the details of the bar service. We are happy to inform you that we are offering wine by the glass so the next time you visit; you can enjoy that glass of wine. Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked the Glenlaurel Inn for a last minute weekend getaway. It was perfect! We loved everything about it! We stayed in a croft which was intimate and quiet. We loved having the hot tub right off the master bedroom. The food was fantastic! We had the 6 course dinner Fri night and breakfast both mornings. This was our favorite escape so far and we look forward to coming back again hopefully in the fall!
J&A W. from Medina OH

Room Tip: We stayed in "The Bruce" croft. It was perfect for a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

From the minute you arrive you feel pampered. Have been here several times and always enjoy myself. Make certain you make reservations for dinner at the inn, you won't regret a moment of it. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenlaurel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlaurel Inn

Address: 14940 Mt. Olive Road, Rockbridge, OH 43149-9736
Location: United States > Ohio > Rockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Glenlaurel is laced with romance; from the moment the Manor House comes into view at the driveway entrance until it fades into the tree line from the rearview mirror at departure...the warm welcome at the front door feels like arriving at the stately home of a distant but approachable relative where the children are all grown or away for the weekend.Welcome into the Legend...the Legend of Glenlaurel. Experience the look of the Scottish countryside and the feel of times gone by at our luxurious Hocking Hills accommodations (rooms, suites, crofts, and cottages) that are perfect for romantics and dreamers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Laurel Hotel Rockbridge
Country Inn Rockbridge
Rockbridge Country Inn
Glenlaurel Inn Ohio/Rockbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenlaurel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.