We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all it's cracked up to be” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Buckeye Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckeye Cabins
Save
You added Buckeye Cabins to your Saves list
15747 Rocky Fork Road, Hocking Hills State Park, Rockbridge, OH 43149   |  
Hotel amenities
fepher83
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not all it's cracked up to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

I was surprised with a weekend away for my birthday and I truly enjoyed the secluded weekend away with my boyfriend. However I was very disapointed by the Dogwood cabin. The grill did not work well, the furniture on the patio by the hot tub was ripped and rusted, there was visable dust on the ceiling fan and rafters, the microwave door was broken and there was not dishwasher soap (who wants to spend thier vaction hand washing dishes), and the fire place did not work. all in all I was very disapointed and I would not return to Buckeye Cabins

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

When they say bring your own toiletries they mean it! They only provided two small rolls of toilet paper for two full nights. They gentleman also was not anywhere to bee seen when we arrived. My husband actually asked me if we should leave and come back later. When he did meet us at the main building and took us to our cabin he made it sound like we had better not need anything at all because he lived an hour away and was only on the property for an hour a day to check people in if he had to be. He then never told us where all the light switches are (there were a lot of them) or how to work the fireplace. He did five us a speech though about proper use of the hot tub and how he's not responsible if it were to give us a rash. Overall though, it was a lovely cabin and it was really nice to have a pool table, though it would have been nice to have a radio or tv downstairs with it. The price is competitive and as long as you don't forget to bring toilet paper you'll be fine.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

If you want to be away from everything, this is the place to go. We stayed at the Hawaiin Cabin. It was SO nice. Even though it seems like you are miles away from everything, there is a Wal-mart about 10 minutes away. If you go in the winter, I would make sure you are driving a 4-wheel drive car. You will not see anyone else during your time there, and your cell phone probably won't work, so this is perfect for romance! We also hiked Old Man's Cave and it was worth it. It's only about 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We loved every minute of our quiet, stress-free, romantic New Year’s escape spent at this cabin, Buckeye's "Hawaiian Palm," Dec. 30 '08 - Jan. 2 '09. Here is a detailed review meant to complement the info that Buckeye Cabins shares on its website, which modestly understates how wonderful this cabin is and the number of amenities provided.

The accommodations in this particular cabin are strictly for couples only per Buckeye, and they are very spacious keeping this in mind.

Three floors of living space truly create a home away from home. The main floor includes a smartly decorated living room -- we were there just after Christmas so the holiday decorations were still up, along with what we assume are year-round tropical touches in keeping with the cabin’s theme. I don’t typically describe things as “darling,” but this was the word that first came to mind when I walked into the living space for the first time and saw the decor. Also on the main floor are a kitchen with decent counter space for two-person meal preparation, a dishwasher (detergent provided, as is regular dish soap), microwave, oven, full-sized fridge with ice trays, coffee maker, and every essential kitchen tool you’ll need; a two-seat breakfast bar-type eating area finished with a neat, modern blue tiled counter top; and the bathroom (shower only; towels, hair dryer, toilet paper and hand soap provided). Cool features are the tropical fish aquarium that separates the dining area from the living room, and the electric fireplace. The main floor includes two porches or decks, at the front and back entrances. Out front there are two chairs and a newer model gas grill -- our steaks, chicken and burgers easily cooked to perfection -- with provided grilling tools. Out back are two more chairs and a hot tub in a private woodsy setting. Off the back deck in the yard is a small fire pit furnished with two chairs. We found the hot tub on full power to churn a bit too much and cause a lot of water spillage, so we recommend just using the jets and leaving the blower off for folks who want a more relaxed soak.

The top floor entirely consists of the bedroom with its own small balcony that is furnished with two chairs. The bedroom has a very comfy, firm king bed (the pillows were perfect!) and one dresser, two night stands and one armoire for hanging clothes -- some hangers are provided but you might want to throw a couple additional ones into your suitcase. The television in the bedroom is DVD-only as it doesn’t get reception. (The one on the main floor is subscribed to a satellite service.) The bedroom also has a ceiling fan in it and is equipped with a basic alarm clock.

The below-ground floor is mostly a recreation room, furnished with a pool table and a two-seat table, along with a bench. When we were there, the owner had also provided a deck of cards. There is no TV in the rec room, although there is a portable radio that if I recall correctly also plays CDs. Also on the bottom floor is a utility room with a washer and dryer. We stayed for three nights so the utility room was unlocked but it might be locked for shorter stays -- please inquire with the owner to make sure. Since it was unlocked for us, we had access to extra towels, which we needed, and extra bedding, toilet paper and paper towels, which we didn’t. There was also detergent and dryer sheets in the utility room.

As we stayed over New Year’s the scenery wasn’t much to look at -- mostly barren trees! But I’m betting that in autumn the setting is absolutely gorgeous. It is very woodsy and pretty secluded owed to Buckeye's thoughtful development of the property, and we did experience daily visits from a pair of deer that make their home in the immediate area. They were not particularly afraid of us, but definitely wanted to keep a safe distance away. The star-gazing was amazing on the two nights that we experienced very clear skies. It really was a rare sight that you just cannot experience in most vacation settings. It cannot be overstated just how beautiful and romantic the night sky was! Most incredible I've ever seen.

The drive to the cabin took us up a long, winding, one-lane gravel road which I imagine can be difficult without four-wheel drive in muddy or snowy conditions, but we took it slow in our Honda and did just fine. The only other traffic we encountered was the owner! I wouldn’t especially recommend any after-dark comings or goings, as you seriously will not be able to see your way around very well. There is no very convenient access to grocery stores from this location, so plan ahead and bring all the food and toiletries you’ll need for your stay. In the cabin and available down the hill at Buckeye’s office are some Hocking Hills area recreation guides if you desire to make any day trips for hiking or sight-seeing. There is no phone in the cabin, but we were able to make cell phone calls with both Verizon and Sprint although reception was a little spotty from time to time.

Check-in was a brief five-minute encounter with the owner, who met us on-site and advised us of some common-sense rules of the cabin before making himself scarce for the remainder of our stay. Just as we wanted! (He did provide us with a way to contact him should we have needed anything.)

We noticed that previous guests had made two very good suggestions in the cabin’s journal. The first was to recommend some screens in the windows or doors. We hadn’t noticed these were missing -- since we had no desire to let the 20- to 30-degree temperatures into our warm, cozy cabin -- but in the spring and fall guests would probably like to open a window or two for cool breezy sleeping without inviting in a swarm of bugs, even though there is central air provided. (Currently the cabin’s rules include leaving the windows closed.) The second suggestion was for additional hooks or bars in the bathroom for towels, which we would’ve used, but even more desired are some hooks for coats at either the back or front entrance. We really could not figure out a good place to put our coats and ended up just draping them over the dining chairs or on the stairs or wherever suited us.

Overall we were very happy during our stay and will not remember any very minor imperfections. Our compliments to both the owner and his cleaning staff for providing a cozy, clean, attractive, comfortable and well-equipped cabin stocked with everything we needed. It was probably the nicest, cleanest, and definitely the most romantic accommodation we’ve ever rented in the price range. Would love to go back to either this particular cabin or one of the three others that Buckeye Cabins owns, although there is some indication on their website that the Hawaiian Palm is the newest of the four. We noticed in the cabin journal that a lot of couples have honeymooned or gotten engaged in the Hawaiian Palm and it’s no wonder why!

  • Liked — Secluded private woodsy setting, cute decor, cleanliness, amenities, large living space.
  • Disliked — Would have loved to bring our dog, but understandably cabin doesn't allow pets.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, OH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

My husband and I stayed in the Dogwood cabin for 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary. We were only disappointed in one thing...the fact that we had to leave at the end of our stay. We found ourselves wishing that we had made a 4 night reservation instead of just the 2. The cabin was very well taken care of and very clean. We had everything that we needed to not have to leave the cabin at all. It was very well equipped. The cabin was very peaceful and secluded. The property was beautiful. I would suggest Buckeye Cabins to anyone. We are excited to plan a return trip as soon as we can!

  • Liked — All of the comforts of home and no noisy neighbors!
  • Disliked — Can not pick something that I didn't like.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

We all had a blast at the Aspen cabin over the weekend. Buckeye Cabins has put together a great retreat in the woods. The cabin was secluded, well equipt and very comfortable. We all enjoyed ourselves immensely.

The cabin has everything that you need to make a cozy retreat for the weekend, not to mention what the great Hocking Hills region has to offer.

Also went canoeing with the Hocking Hills Canoe Livery and had a great time.

There are a lot of choices for cabins in the area, but Buckeye Cabins has done a great job.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

I hate to write a negative review associated with the Hocking Hills area. The area itself is truly beautiful, and, in the past, my wife and I had a great experience there while staying at the Inn at Cedar Falls. Unfortunately, we decided to try staying in a more secluded cabin this time, and we wound up regretting it. Our advice is to avoid Buckeye Cabins. We stayed at the The Dogwood cabin (owned by Buckeye Cabins), and had a terrible experience. The bed left both of us with back pain, and there was a chemical odor that pervaded the cabin which only mildly dissipated with the windows open. To top it off, we did not receive any reply from the owner when we let him know about our experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buckeye Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Cabins

Address: 15747 Rocky Fork Road, Hocking Hills State Park, Rockbridge, OH 43149
Location: United States > Ohio > Rockbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Rockbridge
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Buckeye Cabins Hotel Rockbridge
Buckeye Cabins Ohio/Rockbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckeye Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.