We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRIENDLY AND WARM FEELING RESTAURANT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emma Marie's Italiano

Emma Marie's Italiano
161 N Chestnut St., Ravenna, OH 44266 (Formerly Cipriano's Downtown)
330-298-9773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Ravenna
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FRIENDLY AND WARM FEELING RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile



You can usually find B and B almost every Friday or Saturday at EMMA,S Restaurant enjoying great drinks

excellent food choices and also super martini,s. The help is A PLUS and always friendly. Anita is also a

great asset working the bar area. But most of all the owners are the nicest people. Keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    7
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise - worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We live about 35 minutes away in Portage Lakes and rarely have a reason to go to Ravenna, but my wife says, "now we do". Our visit was prompted by a gift certificate I won on a local radio station and further helped along by the fact that our son was attending a function at the Kent State golf facility less than 10 minutes away. We had time to kill, were close by, and had a free $25 head start on our meal. We found the parking located behind and to the rear of the building (an older nicely kept mansion) - More convenient parking near the front entrance is all marked with signs threatening towing by the bank that apparently owns it. Co-owner, Emma, greeted us and promptly led us to one of the several smaller dining areas away from the central one (which is dominated by a nice sized, appealing looking bar). It was curious that in spite of the place being nearly empty, we got seated immediately next to the only other diners in the room (the dining couple that this "intruded" upon actually displayed a bit of a galre expressing their annoyance at this action). That would prove to be the only slight blemish on our visit, and the table we were seated at was nicely positioned in front of a large picture window looking outside. Our server, Laura arrived promptly and was pleasant,attentive and very accommodating. The bread was tasty, the salads were realtively simple, fresh and with great dressings - our party of 3 tried 3 different dressings and all were scored high. Wife had the lasagna - a huge portion absolutely smothered in a sauce filled with meat, chopped carrots and other tasty ingredients. Her mother had spaghetti and meatballs which we all agreed had a great tasting sauce -- and which was also a huge portion. I had veal piccata over linguine, and though it was not the biggest or best portion of veal I've had,it was tasty enough and served with a huge portion of linguini. A glass of pinot noir suggested by Laura was perfect. We were way too full for dessert and left with take home boxes and a tab under $50 for three people - not bad at all. My wife loved the ambience of the old mansion with its antique and eclectic decor pieces and vowed to come back with "the girls". Judging by the number of women drinking / dining at the bar when we left, this appeal to women wasn't limited to my wife. Check it out!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWHEMH, Owner at Emma Marie's Italiano, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellant review we get real excited about 5 star reviews as it tells us we are accomplishing our goal of providing a great dining experience. Chef Michael is very proud of his recipies and really strives to please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcdonald ohio
1 review
“Rare find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I am from the Youngstown area and was in visiting relatives. We went to Emma Marie's Italiano for dinner. The atmosphere was very warm and inviting. The layout of the restaurant makes it seem so intimate and comfortable to dine in no matter what size party. The staff was friendly and attentive. They were able to answer any questions we had about the specials and other items on the menu. We had the roasted onion and eggplant dip with crusty bread. It was delicious (would love the recipe). I had the chicken piccata with planchette and linguini with Alfredo sauce. OUT OF THIS WORLD. The food was equally as good if not better then the five star restaurant I have eaten in.Bravo to the

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Our New Favorite. Super!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Emma Marie's is amazing. We have been there about 4 times and it just gets better and better. The Chef is a true artist. Emma Marie's offers amazing fresh food (love the fish), talented staff and a comfortable atmosphere. I will go again and again. They are a breath of fresh air in this community of fast over processed food. We have been there with large groups as well as intimate settings. The staff responds with pride and grace in both settings. It has become our new favorite place to dine. I hope this community will support and nurture Emma Marie's so that it can be come a cornerstone to this community. Let's keep positive places like this around.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The best choice in Ravenna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A very welcome choice in downtown Ravenna. Stopped in for business lunch and was quite impressed with service and menu selection. We sat at bar and service was prompt and friendly. Wait staff were attentive and courses spaced appropriately to enjoy but also to accommodate a lunch schedule. Century house provides very nice atmosphere. I enjoyed a crisp Caesar salad with pasta special, delicious! If you are looking for a quiet spot to have a relaxing unhurried lunch this is the best choice in the area

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWHEMH, Owner at Emma Marie's Italiano, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
First of all THANK YOU sooo much for taking the time to write a review. It means so much to us the owners that we have accomplished our goal, that being the opportunity to satisfy our customers with a great dining experience. Chef Michael is without a doubt one of the area's finest chefs, who prides himself on making the freashest possible food around. And Emma Marie is without a doubt one of the finest restaurant owners around. These two have joined forces to give people the best dining experience in Ravenna. Thanks again from the owners of Emma Marie's. Emma-Alan-Michael-Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emma Marie's Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Emma Marie's Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emma Marie's Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.