We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Lodging Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Lodging Resort to your Saves list
Bay Lodging Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   405 Lakeview Ave., Put in Bay, OH 43456   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Parma, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“September weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed at the Bay lodging resort a few weekends ago, Sept 21-23. The room was nice, the beds were soft, no major smells or nastyness like I've read in some other hotel reviews. the only complaint I would have is that the TV did have a big greasy smaear on it. ....like someone used Crisco to clean it. .....might want to look into that. We were on the 1st floor, just down from the front desk, and we heard no noise late at night whatsoever from people coming in from bars.
It is a few blocks away from the main drag, but thats ok, if you go to PIB, you should be prepared to walk most places anyway.
We're not some old couple, we're in our early 30s, so yeah we were part of the loud drunk scene too, but we still enjoy quiet when we're trying to sleep. Which we got. The 2 nights we stayed were a nice getaway, and we would stay there again. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    34
    11
    11
    26
See reviews for
20
32
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I want to start by saying that Put n Bay doesnt have much to offer in room availabilty overall so the pickins are slim! The rooms themselves at the Bay Lodging House were nice, and clean. No complaints at all. The one thing that would have been nice was more information when we arrived about what the hotel offered. We did not know the pool and hot tub hours (either did the staff), information on golf carts and shuttle was not given to us and it would have been nice to get some info about the island events for the weekend. Our visit was good. And I would stay again if something else closer to downtown wasn't available. We were there for a family get away weekend and did have 1 small child with us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed at the Bay Lodge this Labor Day weekend for a bachlerette party. The place is nothing exciting, but it does serve it's purpose. It was roomy enough for the nine of us. The walk from the strip is not too bad. They do have a shuttle, which is convient when getting off the ferry with luggage, but you do have to pay for it. The main problem we had was with the floor. I got out of the shower and was getting ready for the evening, when my sister in law ran in and asked me to look at my feet. They were black. I just took a shower and I never step foot outside. All of our feet were black from the floor. My sister in law complained, but the front desk acted like she was crazy and said that our feet were black from the pavement. She offered to give us a golf cart for the evening, but we really didn't need it, so we got a free shuttle back to the ferry. Our stay wasn't terrible, but I would not stay there again. The place reminded me of a furnished townhouse apartment that you rent in college. There was no decorations and I did not feel like I was at a vacation resort. I did like the kitchen layout, though. It had a very long breakfast bar that was awesome for putting all our food on, because we had a lot. I would recomend that the lodge put in some bar stools. That was the area we hung out at the most and it would have been nice to sit. Not a major complaint, just a suggestion.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My friends and I recently stayed at the Bay Lodge for one of our friends bachelorette Party. We have no problems what so ever. Had a great time. It was a few blocks off the main street so the noise at night downtown never bothered us, but it was close enough to walk so we still felt part of the night life. We had no problems. We would recommend this hotel.It was clean and the staff was more then friendly. Had a Greeat Weekend!!

Room Tip: Just remember Put in Bay on the weekends is crowded with college kids so if your going for a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

When we arrived at 1:30 we were happy that our room was ready, even though they would have held our luggage for us. The staff was very nice and seemed very efficient. Our room (with 2 queen beds) was not huge but was clean and fine for us. The tub fixture seemed to be pretty new. It was a little hike to downtown (maybe 6 blocks) but it was nice to be away from the bars. The Ohio State decorated indoor-outdoor pool was great.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main 2-story motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gates Mills, Ohio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I payed 175 dollars for this room and when we checked in we found the sink drain to be pluged ,it was reported to the front desk who promised to fix the problem. Returned at 11 pm to find they left us a filthy plunger to take care of it our selfs , called the front desk who was nice to come up at midnight and spent half an hour trying to fix it with a cloth hanger...it was a bad night in a bad hotel who do not respect their customers or their reputation...stay away from it.

Room Tip: check the sink hole before you take the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My family recently stayed one night at the Bay Lodging House while they were offering a $99 special during the week. We usually make a couple trips each year for adult time and stay at the Island Club with friends but this time we took our 10 yr old son. I personally would not take a child to PIB on the weekend. The cost is definitely higher and the partying is not family friendly. Check in and check out were smooth. Staff was friendly enough. The room itself was small, but clean, which is most important to me. We did visit the pool area, which was small but had a nice Ohio State theme. The hot tub seemed kind of nasty but the pool itself was clean. Breakfast in the morning was minimal, but enough to get you started. Overall I would recommend for a short stay on the Island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Lodging Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lodging Resort

Address: 405 Lakeview Ave., Put in Bay, OH 43456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Lodging Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Lodging Resort is located only 3 blocks from downtown Put in Bay on a quiet, tree-lined lane. We rent golf carts at the front desk to help you get around Put-in-Bay on wheels!Our gracious staff is on-site 24 hours a day during the season to help make sure that your visit to Put-in-Bay is the best it can possibly be! We look forward to seeing you soon!We now have 42 hotel units, 6 two bedroom units, and 2 split-level suites. Each 2 bedroom guest suite is spacious, air conditioned and consists of 2 bedrooms, bath, living room, and fully equipped kitchen. Each split-level suite sleeps up to 10 people and is ideal for large families, bachelorette parties, or corporate groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Lodging Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lodging House Hotel Put In Bay
Bay Lodging Hotel
Bay Lodging Resort Put In Bay, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Lodging Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.