We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer Beware!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Lodging Resort

Save Saved
You added Bay Lodging Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Lodging Resort
405 Lakeview Ave., Put in Bay, OH 43456   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Put in Bay
Lansing
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Buyer Beware!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The owner of this hotel takes advantage of his customers in every way. Once they have your deposit, you are locked in no matter what. The place is trashed, the staff has no power to do anything for you, and the owner is unwilling to work with you when you are upset at the way they take advantage of you. I strongly recommend you stay away from this man's properties. He has quite the monopoly on this island and didn't get rich with his great customer service skills.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    28
    8
    11
    22
See reviews for
15
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

The front desk staff when asking details when making a reservations and confirming reservations is very uninformed of any hotel specials, ferry information, etc. Some of the staff is friendly but the one lady who keeps answering the phone is rude and not very customer friendly. Her mistakes and not knowing basic details about the hotel specials and island transportation caused our group undue stress and we missed the last Ferry which happened to leave at 5:45 pm for the Jet Express and 7:30 pm for Millers Ferry. We were driving from MI 3.5 hrs to get there and turned around when our friends who stayed at another hotel got on the ferry and called us right away. I asked the hotel about ferry schedules and they said they had no idea what they were and to look at the schedules on the web or call them. I was in my car and did not have a wireless laptop in the vehicle. I sent a customer complaint email to the hotel contact us site and they responded back rudely and didn't feel it was their place to assist customers with transportation issues. I said with knowing people take the ferry's as their primary transportation and with the other hotel my friends were staying at knowing you would think they would have this type of info available. I had called early in the am today to let them know we would not be checking in until later since we would be working late and that we would be taking the Ferry over. A good hotel front desk staff would have mentioned the ferry schedules and changes due to the fall weather and let customers know when booking their reservations and when calling back to confirm their reservations. I am disappointed with the rudeness of specific hotel front desk staff and I am leary of checking in on Friday morning. We have now lost our Thurs night stay and have to get up really early in the am to drive to OH from MI and we just wanted to wake up and relax on Friday morning in our hotel room. Hopefully, when we arrive we will have a very nice clean comfortable room since it is $195 per night w/o taxes and we will have great customer service. We are hoping since we really need a nice vacation break.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demossville, Ky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I cannot say enough great things about Bay Lodging Resort! The place was fantastic! Very clean. The staff was very, very friendly and helpfull. Special thanks to Debbie and Scott at the front desk. We were treated like family. If anyone has written a bad review about this place, do NOT listen to them. Our room (suite) was VERY clean and nice. Anything we needed, all we had to do was ask and it was delivered almost at once. I have absolutely NO, i say NO complaints about this place, and we WILL be back again soon.
It is a ten minute walk to downtown, and off of the beaten path enough to give privacy.
Very well maintained building. Everything one could ask for and more!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Booked this for a girls trip. We had a hole in our wall, ripped lamp shade and a bed sheet with blood stain on it. When we complained of these, never offered another room or discount. Only offered a change of the sheets, of which we decided to do ourselves. Would not recommend this place at all. Definately not worth $249 a night!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhaven, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The manager was rude, the water in the hot tub was a disgusting grey color all weekend. Uncomfortable beds. Pool area, dirty. So most of our time there was at the bar with Theresa. Will not stay there again, but I will go back to the bar when Theresa is working.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

They overbooked rooms so while we were out out enjoying the island they took all of our belongings from our room and dumped them in a public breakfast area with a dog roaming around our personal belongings. Nasty smelling rooms (smelled like cat urine) their desk staff even adnmitted they did not want to stay our room but they offered us no other alternative other than to take the next ferry off the island. Terrible public service, would never return. Ruined our whole vacation

Room Tip: Run from this hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Rooms were decent, however what makes Bay Lodging awesome is the friendly staff! I would specifically like to give kudos to Cody at the Tiki Bar. He Rocked!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Lodging Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lodging Resort

Address: 405 Lakeview Ave., Put in Bay, OH 43456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Lodging Resort is located only 3 blocks from downtown Put in Bay on a quiet, tree-lined lane. We rent golf carts at the front desk to help you get around Put-in-Bay on wheels!Our gracious staff is on-site 24 hours a day during the season to help make sure that your visit to Put-in-Bay is the best it can possibly be! We look forward to seeing you soon!We now have 42 hotel units, 6 two bedroom units, and 2 split-level suites. Each 2 bedroom guest suite is spacious, air conditioned and consists of 2 bedrooms, bath, living room, and fully equipped kitchen. Each split-level suite sleeps up to 10 people and is ideal for large families, bachelorette parties, or corporate groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Bay Lodging Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lodging House Hotel Put In Bay
Bay Lodging Hotel
Bay Lodging Resort Put In Bay, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Lodging Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.