We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an Ok stay...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BayShore Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BayShore Resort
Save
You added BayShore Resort to your Saves list
328 Toledo Ave., PO Box 597, Put in Bay, OH 43456   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
WYANDOTTE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just an Ok stay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

After reviewing the comments left by Carol C. I will have to agree with nearly all of what she has posted, going to Put In Bay you understand before hand that this is a summer tourist town and they WILL make their money when they can, where they can and the lodging is no exception, so with that in mind, I will not repeat what has already been posted or described.

During our two night stay we did have a few issues of concern, while nothing extreme, there were still some issues that should be noted.

Check In: It was my intention to pay cash for our entire stay as we did not want to place undue charges on our credit card, however we were advised that the hotel would not refund or credit our first night's deposit stating the owner / manager will not approve any such transaction unless it is a "valid or legitimate" request and also because it "costs the hotel to conduct this transaction".

Sorry, as a guest who is paying the nightly prices that they are charging I feel I am entitled to handle my funds as I see fit, not the hotel. While I understand the need for a deposit to hold the room, my request was not unreasonable and the refusal to honor it did not sit well with me...simply never heard of anyone refusing cash as a payment...

Security: Immediately upon entering the hotel we were approached by hotel security advising us of a cooler inspection stating Ohio code does not allow for patrons to bring any alcohol onto the property.

Please know that we are a slightly older couple that were at the hotel for our 28th wedding anniversary, and did not give the appearance of those who were really looking to "let loose" for the weekend as many visiting the island do. While the possibility that Ohio "could" have such an ordinance that "may" exist I do not recall ever encountering such an ordinance or law in any hotel I have ever stayed at and question how they could restrict an adult from enjoying a beverage in their own room that they have personally brought?

Funny, the two Ohio police officers we met also advised that they were unaware of such an ordinance or law in their own state, I wonder if this has been developed to curtail excessive drinking (understandable) and restrict the purchase of alcohol to the hotel's inflated bar prices?

My concern as well is the manner in which security handles situations such as this, as a retired law enforcement officer it is how you handle your encounters with the public which will determine the final outcome.

Our room was "fairly" clean, and as reported earlier, not lavish or well appointed by any means. While again you have to accept the fact well in advance of where you are going and what the cost will be, it still however stings to know that you are paying excessive rates for what would normally be a fine hotel and this is certainly not.

Could our room have been cleaner, absolutely, again especially at the nightly rate they are charging.

Security: patio door would not lock, at least we were on the 2nd floor.

Over all it was a nice trip, just expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms face the lake and have a beautiful view...I would recommend the 2nd or 3rd floor for noise rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DANIEL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Broadview Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A lot has been written about the Bayshore and, having stayed there for several years, I agree with most of it. The location is, indeed, perfect. Close enough to town, overloooking the lake, with 2 pools, a hot tub, a tiki bar and restaurant all on site. That is what you pay for. The rooms are not luxurious by any means, but some of the criticisms we have had in the past, which have been echoed by other readers, seem to have improved. The rate, of course, has not been reduced, but the front desk staff on our recent visit was very cheerful & helpful, not surly as we encountered in the past. We had a king room and our mattress was quite acceptable, not awful as in other years. The lobby area and restaurant were very clean and attractive. On the down side, the pool towels were ridiculously small and the bath towels in the room were thin and worn. But - we had fun!

Room Tip: We enjoy the first floor with patio doors leading right out to the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was for a Boy Scout weekend while the boys were under the monument in tents, we decided to be close to the center of it all and still have a place to unwind in a quiet area.
The staff was friendly. They had a security guard manning the entrance which is good since we don't drink and didn't pay to be in a party resort with a bunch of drunks.
The room was on the second floor. Good view of lake and it was screened in so the bugs did not get us.
The queen beds were ok. The bathroom was large and clean. The TV was old and no ESPN. Hmm... maybe they can pay the extra charge and offer to the rooms? No big deal, wasn't there to watch TV anyway.
Glad we chose this after driving through the back area behind the strip. Loud and full of drunks. I was a part of that when I was young but now want to be away from it. This place was the ticket

Room Tip: Turn off the AC when sitting on the back porch so you can have conversation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our biggest concern going into this hotel was the cleanliness of the room. We weren't sure Put In Bay put a priority on clean rooms. This one surprised us though. The room seemed to have all the basics covered. We were able to unwind and not feel the need to avoid anything dirty. Good job by them.

We stayed in a king Jacuzzi room on the first floor from a Mon-Tues. Open area, plenty of room. Easy access to the pools and bar. The place never got noisy, but never seemed dead either. The hotel wasn't right on the main strip, but it was close enough that we could walk downtown without complaining. And that's saying a lot for my wife. Boom.

The best part was the location. Pools and hot tub look right out at the lake. Along with various tables, chairs and benches to have a drink on. Each room faces out that way as well. Saw a great sunrise from that area. The location gives the feeling of detachment, but is also entertaining enough.

Room Tip: If I could go back, I'd request something on the 2nd or 3rd floor. They have screens around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwithwhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Me & the Mrs. enjoyed yet another fantastic weekend at the BAYSHORE. The room was clean and well taken care of; pool was quiet but fun, staff was excellent, TIKI BAR rocks with Andrea who is by far and away the best bartender on the island. Drink prices are very reasonable as are the food prices. View is spectacular and the restaurant food is very good, especially breakfast outside. ANY place you stay on the island is expensive, but I feel the Bayshore is worth it because of its location, its service and proximity to downtown action. You are close yet away from the noise if that isn't your thing. You can rent carts, security is present but not overbearing. They want people to have fun without being obnoxious which is fine with us. I think this is the best place to stay on the island and worth every penny for the rest and fun you get. We've stayed here around the same weekend EVERY YEAR SINCE THEY HAVE BEEN OPEN, and we run into the same groups of people who have done the same thing. Cant think of a better compliment for a place when folks keep coming back. The Bayshore does it RIGHT! Thanks for another fantastic weekend!

Room Tip: Tiki bar is best kept secret on the island. Andrea is a great bartender and the staff is very friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zonebuster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Level Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here with our family for 3 years. It is a beautiful location and that is what you are paying for. We always get a suite which includes 2 double beds and pull out couch and refrigerator. Do not bring alcohol as it will be taken. That is the other nice thing. Quiet and none of the party groups. We do allow our kids to stay up past 11 so if you are expecting silence at 10, that is a little unreasonable for any hotel--- it is vacation. Pool closes at 11. There are no fitness centers, game rooms, etc that you get with other hotels off the island. I run on the island every morning. The pools this year were more disappointing. I think because it was so cold outside this is the first year that I realized false advertisement on the pools being heated. The hot tub needs to be cleaned. The sides are stained with a fungus that stained my sons shirt. The tiki bar is great as always. Staff is very helpful. Oh--- the beds are the hardest beds I have ever slept in. But I would stay at no other place. Simply beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Can't beat this walkable location to all things PIB! I heard they were strict with searching coolers and not giving guests extra towels or pillows, but that wasn't much of an issue for us. Hotel is clean and view of Lake Erie is beautiful! Try DJ's next door for an ala carte morning breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClevelandGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
0.5 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Harbour View Suites
#7 of 7 in Put in Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#2 of 18 in Port Clinton
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
10.4 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
3.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BayShore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BayShore Resort

Address: 328 Toledo Ave., PO Box 597, Put in Bay, OH 43456
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The island's ONLY lakefront hotel, located only a few minutes walk to historic downtown. Spacious rooms that ALL have lakefront balconies. We have 2 heated pools, a 30 person whirlpool spa, lakefront tiki bar and an on-site restaurant that serves the best breakfast, lunch and dinners! Golf carts are also available to rent from our excellent staff! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayshore Hotel Put In Bay
BayShore Resort Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing