We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There seems to be some improvement since my visit last year!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BayShore Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BayShore Resort
328 Toledo Ave., PO Box 597, Put in Bay, OH 43456   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Put in Bay
Broadview Heights, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“There seems to be some improvement since my visit last year!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A lot has been written about the Bayshore and, having stayed there for several years, I agree with most of it. The location is, indeed, perfect. Close enough to town, overloooking the lake, with 2 pools, a hot tub, a tiki bar and restaurant all on site. That is what you pay for. The rooms are not luxurious by any means, but some of the criticisms we have had in the past, which have been echoed by other readers, seem to have improved. The rate, of course, has not been reduced, but the front desk staff on our recent visit was very cheerful & helpful, not surly as we encountered in the past. We had a king room and our mattress was quite acceptable, not awful as in other years. The lobby area and restaurant were very clean and attractive. On the down side, the pool towels were ridiculously small and the bath towels in the room were thin and worn. But - we had fun!

Room Tip: We enjoy the first floor with patio doors leading right out to the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    35
    20
    11
    18
See reviews for
25
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was for a Boy Scout weekend while the boys were under the monument in tents, we decided to be close to the center of it all and still have a place to unwind in a quiet area.
The staff was friendly. They had a security guard manning the entrance which is good since we don't drink and didn't pay to be in a party resort with a bunch of drunks.
The room was on the second floor. Good view of lake and it was screened in so the bugs did not get us.
The queen beds were ok. The bathroom was large and clean. The TV was old and no ESPN. Hmm... maybe they can pay the extra charge and offer to the rooms? No big deal, wasn't there to watch TV anyway.
Glad we chose this after driving through the back area behind the strip. Loud and full of drunks. I was a part of that when I was young but now want to be away from it. This place was the ticket

Room Tip: Turn off the AC when sitting on the back porch so you can have conversation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our biggest concern going into this hotel was the cleanliness of the room. We weren't sure Put In Bay put a priority on clean rooms. This one surprised us though. The room seemed to have all the basics covered. We were able to unwind and not feel the need to avoid anything dirty. Good job by them.

We stayed in a king Jacuzzi room on the first floor from a Mon-Tues. Open area, plenty of room. Easy access to the pools and bar. The place never got noisy, but never seemed dead either. The hotel wasn't right on the main strip, but it was close enough that we could walk downtown without complaining. And that's saying a lot for my wife. Boom.

The best part was the location. Pools and hot tub look right out at the lake. Along with various tables, chairs and benches to have a drink on. Each room faces out that way as well. Saw a great sunrise from that area. The location gives the feeling of detachment, but is also entertaining enough.

Room Tip: If I could go back, I'd request something on the 2nd or 3rd floor. They have screens around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Me & the Mrs. enjoyed yet another fantastic weekend at the BAYSHORE. The room was clean and well taken care of; pool was quiet but fun, staff was excellent, TIKI BAR rocks with Andrea who is by far and away the best bartender on the island. Drink prices are very reasonable as are the food prices. View is spectacular and the restaurant food is very good, especially breakfast outside. ANY place you stay on the island is expensive, but I feel the Bayshore is worth it because of its location, its service and proximity to downtown action. You are close yet away from the noise if that isn't your thing. You can rent carts, security is present but not overbearing. They want people to have fun without being obnoxious which is fine with us. I think this is the best place to stay on the island and worth every penny for the rest and fun you get. We've stayed here around the same weekend EVERY YEAR SINCE THEY HAVE BEEN OPEN, and we run into the same groups of people who have done the same thing. Cant think of a better compliment for a place when folks keep coming back. The Bayshore does it RIGHT! Thanks for another fantastic weekend!

Room Tip: Tiki bar is best kept secret on the island. Andrea is a great bartender and the staff is very friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here with our family for 3 years. It is a beautiful location and that is what you are paying for. We always get a suite which includes 2 double beds and pull out couch and refrigerator. Do not bring alcohol as it will be taken. That is the other nice thing. Quiet and none of the party groups. We do allow our kids to stay up past 11 so if you are expecting silence at 10, that is a little unreasonable for any hotel--- it is vacation. Pool closes at 11. There are no fitness centers, game rooms, etc that you get with other hotels off the island. I run on the island every morning. The pools this year were more disappointing. I think because it was so cold outside this is the first year that I realized false advertisement on the pools being heated. The hot tub needs to be cleaned. The sides are stained with a fungus that stained my sons shirt. The tiki bar is great as always. Staff is very helpful. Oh--- the beds are the hardest beds I have ever slept in. But I would stay at no other place. Simply beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Can't beat this walkable location to all things PIB! I heard they were strict with searching coolers and not giving guests extra towels or pillows, but that wasn't much of an issue for us. Hotel is clean and view of Lake Erie is beautiful! Try DJ's next door for an ala carte morning breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the BayShore Resort this past week on a Tuesday with our children This was our first time here and we were not impressed considering our room rate was $255 for the night. We were expecting a luxury room and it was not! Very basic accomodations. The pool has seen better days. The pool chairs are very "beat up" and the pool towels provided are like dish rags. The grounds of the resort are very run down and tired looking. How about some potted flowers in and around the resort - just a suggestion!
The worst part of our trip was the evening. We went to bed around 10:30PM. As soon as we were in bed we could hear kids running up and down the hallway and yelling. They were playing some game of tag! Really?? after 20 minutes of the nonstop pounding of feet I opened my door and told the kids to please stop. Well, they did not stop. So my next step was to call the front desk. The girl at the desk said she woud take care of it. Guess what? Not 10 minutes later more running. We were miserable. My youngest daughter was in tears because she was so tired and the noise in the hallway was relentless. We all woke up exhausted the next morning. We will not be staying here again. There are many nice B&B's on the island that are a much better option. Quiet rooms, Beautiful decor and a yummy breakfast. Live and learn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BayShore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BayShore Resort

Address: 328 Toledo Ave., PO Box 597, Put in Bay, OH 43456
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Put in Bay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The island's ONLY lakefront hotel, located only a few minutes walk to historic downtown. Spacious rooms that ALL have lakefront balconies. We have 2 heated pools, a 30 person whirlpool spa, lakefront tiki bar and an on-site restaurant that serves the best breakfast, lunch and dinners! Golf carts are also available to rent from our excellent staff! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayshore Hotel Put In Bay
BayShore Resort Put In Bay, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BayShore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added BayShore Resort to your Saves list