We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very misleading!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BayShore Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BayShore Resort
328 Toledo Ave., PO Box 597, Put in Bay, OH 43456   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Put in Bay
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very misleading!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I booked a room for 2 nights. They told me the only room they had available was a "2-bedroom suite with kitchen." When we checked in, we found it was one large room with a half-wall between the beds. I don't consider this 2 bedrooms! No privacy. They we wanted to check out and they wouldn't refund one night. It's a nice location on the water but I don't like to be mislead.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    33
    20
    11
    18
See reviews for
24
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Although not a super high end room the bayshore offers a great location and nice atmosphere. The rooms are clean and large, even if a bit dated. The cost.. Well everything on the island cost more!
It's close enough ( 1/2 mile or so) the the main strip that it's a nice walk but far enough that you done have the crowds.

The pools and little tiki bar are great to just relax while you recover from the night before.

We had no issues with staff and everyone seemed very friendly. Lots of signs for no outside alcohol.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Although this hotel does not have everything I have grown to expect from the big chain hotels, it has the best location on the island. It is quiet, the pools are wonderful, a great bar and restaurant. The rooms are a little out dated but we had a great Queen Suite room with 2 beds and a pull out couch. It was very spacious. There is no fitness center but I just ran from one end of the island to the other. The staff is very friendly and it is a short walk to the downtown area. Definitely woouldn't stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

If you're 20-something and looking to drink til you puke ~ in a pool full of fellow idiots ~ who NEVER step out of the pool to use a restroom despite posing in the 'water' for 8 hours....don't stay here. If you want all of the party and fun of The Bay and THEN want to stay at a wonderful hotel with a great pool/restaurant/poolbar you will love the BayShore. The pool has a layed-back feel, with good music at a reasonable sound level ~ NOT blaring hip-hop and rap. We had a ground floor walkout patio room approximately 50 feet from the pool entrance and had zero disturbances ~ try THAT at Mr. Ed's etc! My friends and are talked about this hotel at length and we collectively agree that we hope it doesn't change and hope it doesn't get invaded or altered. I'm a young 45 years old and can still 'party like a rock-star' ~ but with age comes with (what I think anyway) a touch of class. This place is a great match.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms offer a nice walk out patio. Upper rooms have the same view but are screened in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

This is our second time back this year!! I read the last review before I posted this and it's kinda funny cause if you paid attention when they take your reservation they tell you that you can't bring alcohol in as well as when you get the letter in the mail. Any how, we adore his hotel. The security guards are only trying to do their jobs. We actually had forgotten about their policy and brought back wine to the hotel, which we totally understood when hey had to take it. The front desk staff was lovely, as usual! We always have a great time when we stay there! And the tiki bar is totally a hit! We will b back every year, probably more than once!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell Kentucky
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

BEWARE!!! We just checked in. WOW what a humiliation!!! After we paid in full the "security" team appeared and told us their "policy" to open our cooler for them to "search for alcohol or be evicted from the premise!( We are on our 10th anniversary and had a bottle of champagne and 24 beers for 2 days.We are 47 years old!! We are clean cut parents, college grad professionals with class.) If we did not GIVE our alcohol to the security manager (BILL) we would be evicted by Police and the $600+ charges not refunded!!! We were not allowed to put the beer and champagne in the car. They had to take it or evict us so we let them take it!! I am not making this up. Do not come here. The staff is a team of college bar bouncers. The "security manager-Bill was a rude intimidating authority bully from hell!!! Stay anywhere but here!!

Room Tip: Dont bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We have been going to Put-in-Bay for 10 years & usually stay at the Islander Inn, but we NEVER had a good night sleep there (to rowdy) so we decided to try a different location. Bay Shore was a last minute idea & they had one room left two hours before we arrived. Lower patio, jacuzzi, & king size bed with possibly the best view of the lake & pool in this hotel. All the staff was friendly, front desk, housekeeping, Andrea at the tiki bar was awesome, & Olga (server at the restaurant) was a sweetheart. Room was fine, not outstanding, had a few "misses" for such a high priced "resort". Mattress was too firm, tv was an antique from the 90's, & the shower head was cheap for such a nice shower. That being said, the room was great otherwise. Jacuzzi was wonderful after a day of drinks, food, walking, & sunning. The two of us fit just fine in the large two person jacuzzi & I'm 6'1" 230. The pools & hot tub were clean & refreshing & the food in the restaurant was good & priced right. The view of lake Erie was 2nd to none. We found our new place to stay on the island...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BayShore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BayShore Resort

Address: 328 Toledo Ave., PO Box 597, Put in Bay, OH 43456
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Put in Bay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The island's ONLY lakefront hotel, located only a few minutes walk to historic downtown. Spacious rooms that ALL have lakefront balconies. We have 2 heated pools, a 30 person whirlpool spa, lakefront tiki bar and an on-site restaurant that serves the best breakfast, lunch and dinners! Golf carts are also available to rent from our excellent staff! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayshore Hotel Put In Bay
BayShore Resort Put In Bay, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BayShore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added BayShore Resort to your Saves list