We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put-in-Bay Bachelorette Bash” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
439 Loraine Ave, P.O. Box 267, Put in Bay, OH 43456   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Put-in-Bay Bachelorette Bash”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our first driver dropped us off at the wrong "Put-in-Bay" hotel and returned to deliver 7 gals plus luggage plus coolers to the Resort and Conference Center. Rooms were clean and linens plentiful. The swim-up pool bar was a popular spot and rooms were blissfully quiet. Desk clerks were friendly and quick to help. Location was great and we would love to plan another trip there.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms on the street side, not pool side, were quiet and great views out window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    75
    38
    33
    99
See reviews for
83
96
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
KC
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Put-in-Bay for the first time ever this last weekend to attend the wedding of some close friends. We live in Kansas City. We booked 4 nights and paid a $455.98 deposit on February 10. When we arrived, we were told they had no record of our reservation. They searched by our credit card number, name, etc. and could find nothing. Even though we had a confirmation number and a credit card charge we were simply told our reservation must have been cancelled.

The manager in charge at the time was the least helpful person I have encountered. I travel extensively and this happens. I get it. Typically, the manager would apologize (no such luck), call other hotels in the area (nope) or make some suggestion to stranded travelers as to what they should do (nada). We were told that every hotel on the island was booked and good luck finding something. We located a local phone book in the lobby and started making phone calls. We were able to find another room, but at a price $130/night higher than we originally planned on spending. As we were walking out of the Put-in-Bay resort for the last time, another most unhelpful employee asked what we were being charged. We told him $279/night. His reply, that sucks, 'our rate is only $149.'

BTW...we were in the middle of a thunderstorm when all of this was happening. I can't blame that on the poor service.

I can't make this story up. Absolutely, the worst customer service travel experience I have ever encountered.

DO NOT STAY AT THE PUT IN BY RESORT.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

You don't always get what you pay for, and in the case of The Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center this was certainly the case. About the only positive thing I can say about this hotel is that it was clean. The rooms (2 queen) are tiny; when I see a price tag of more than $200/night I expect that the room will be large enough to accommodate and thus also contain a lounge chair in addition to the desk chair. Not so in this case, no chair because there wasn't any space for it. The promo pictures of the "resort" (another misnomer) show a very attractive pool, which seems open to the general public and not restricted just to hotel guests, becomes so crowded as to be completely unusable. In addition, the music is so loud that it can be heard in the rooms on the non-pool facing side of the hotel; enough as to make the room completely uncomfortable from 9:00 am when the music is flipped on, until 10:00 or 11:00pm when it is finally squelched.

All of that aside, I will never again return to this hotel because of the way the members of my family were treated by the staff, especially by the assistant manager. She was rude and confrontational, as were two other members of her staff. There were staff members who greeted us with smiles, but they were overshadowed by those who seemed to have a chip on their shoulders. The policy of having to list every guest in the room was one that I have never experienced at any other hotel I've stayed in, and the wording in their "welcome information book" was enough to ruffle my feathers within 10 minutes of arriving at our rooms. Most of the time I felt like the attitude of the hotel staff was that they were doing us a favour by allowing us to stay as opposed to recognising that a comfortable environment is what we hired them to provide.

Room Tip: Because of the level of the music played at the pool there isn't a good, quiet, room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbury, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is our third girls trip to Put in Bay and if we didn't live 6 hours away it would become a monthly trip. On our arrival we are greeted by professional, young, enthusiastic staff. The hotel staff was representative of Put-In-Bay itself, warm and friendly. They took care of certain situations with the younger generation with professionalism. The suites were large and spacious with plenty of room for 5. Put-In-Bay Resort is in a great location, easy walking distance to downtown with a fun and lovely atmosphere , but quiet and peaceful during sleeping hours. We are already planning our next trip to Put in Bay Resort in the fall!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Orwell, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Room was clean with a refrigerator and the A/C worked nicely. The Employees were polite & fun to talk too. The heated pool was jamming with awesome music. There were more then enough loungers for all the guest, and they even provided pool towels, and the swim up bar was a blast. The Continental Breakfast was delicious, they even had sausage biscuits and gravy( no other hotel has that). I liked the convenience of being able to rent a golf cart right at the front desk. It was close to downtown so no need to call a cab. I Definitely would stay at this resort again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

stayed 2 nights and was very very disappointed. the pool water was filthy - all sorts of stuff floating on top of the water and in the hot tub. pool deck was not cleaned from the night before and there was trash all over the place. additionally they ripped me off and charged me for a golf cart i never received - they charged me then could not find one to utilize and never gave me credit - then they wanted all this documentation to receive credit - a total ripoff place. also - while standing and waiting at the counter i over heard others with issues being ripped off as well because they had to cancel for one nite and was still being charged - pathetic place! towels also gross in rooms ... i opened up a "clean" towel to find wads of long stringy hairy - obviously from the prior guest ... just sickening! also - blood stains on the sheets - ugh! avoid this place - many better places to stay at on the island.

Room Tip: Nasty dirty towels .. stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our group of 12 women stayed at the 12-person Villa. Our group was a bachelorette party. The villa was very clean and the fixtures were very nice. We were in room 608 which was the perfect location to the patio, lobby and swim-up bar. The villa doors were sound proof which was necessary because the DJ at the pool played the music WAY too loud. We called the front desk a few times and they were very quick to deliver requested items and generally assist us. The check-in process was great because our room was ready early but a bit odd with the mandatory wrist bands for all guests that served no clear purpose. Overall, I would recommend this resort to anyone visiting Put-In-Bay for a fun time. From this location you can easily walk to almost any hot spot on the island as well as the Jet Express.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 439 Loraine Ave, P.O. Box 267, Put in Bay, OH 43456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Put-In-Bay Resort Hotel Put In Bay
Put In Bay Hotel
Put Bay In
Put-In-Bay Resort Hotel And Conference Center Put In Bay, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.