We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FILTHY DUMP” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Commodore Resort
272 Delaware Ave., Put in Bay, OH 43456 (Formerly Commodore Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Put in Bay
Streetsboro, Ohio, United States
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“FILTHY DUMP”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

First time at PIB, stayed in the old section. The room was dirty, bedspread torn, drape hanging off rod, mattresses have to be the original SO UNCOMFORTABLE and dirty. People very loud at night, talking, laughing, vomiting, it was so disgusting. The bath towels were as thin as a t shirt and no water pressure. I am not a very picky person but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    14
    8
    31
See reviews for
4
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Girls weekend in PIB for Labor Day. The Pool is here is fun, if you like LOUD. The rooms are dirty at best. Upon checkout we saw a maid 'cleaning' barefoot. Couldn't wait to get home to take a shower in a clean place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Had booked online, but after arriving and checking in, opened the door to one of the dirtiest hotel rooms, I had ever seen. The carpet was so dirty and obviously had not been vacuumed in some time. Used dental floss was on the floor, the sink wouldn't drain and after peeling back the bedspread, the sheets were soiled. Soiled, as in black marks where someones dirty feet had been. The pillows were so sweat stained, they were mostly yellow. We were only booked for one night, but at 120.00 per night, that was out of the question. We went to the desk to speak with the manager, who was less than pleased that we were requesting our money back. After explaining the "problem", she refunded our money, except for a 25.00 fee, which we only noticed after leaving and checking in elsewhere. We would have appreciated her telling us this, as she was the manager. There were so many cigarette butts on the sidewalk surrounding the hotel, the cracks were filled with them. The place really needs to be closed for remodeling or just closed period. We found a great place less than a block away for 10.00 more and had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay here-really gross.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place is expensive for what you get. We stayed at a house one night and 2 nights here. The house was way cheaper and our room was 10 times better. We totally down graded coming here. The pool bar was so discusting. There are a million bugs floating in it, the water is so cloudy and the actual bar is so filthy. There was a bar tender working iI don't understand why he wouldn't wipe it down before he started serving drinks. Our room didn't have a window, it was like a cave.The tub wouldn't drain. It was close to everything but take my advice and check out the bed and breakfasts first. We stayed at the Toledo house. it was so much cheaper and we had our own little front porch and it was still really close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the week with some of my wife's coworkers for a night of fun. It is in a great location with lots to do around. The lobby is in a strange place off an alley and had we not taken a cab to the hotel i think i would have had a hard time finding it. The alley did smell of garbage if the wind was shifted right, but none if the smell was passed into the hotel. The lobby also had a subway attached which was very convienent when you wanted a quick bite while at the pool. The room was very plain, no carpet, very little lighting, and small. It did have a small fridge which was nice to keep leftovers or drinks cold. If your on the island to party this is the place to stay. We didn't have our kids, but if we had I would not have wanted to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Went to put in bay for a one night getaway. We stayed in a king jacuzzi suite in the new portion of the resort. Room was very clean and nice. It's not a resort with a bunch of frills but for the price we paid we were happy. Staff was kind and gave us extra towels with no issues. You have to understand the environment you are staying in. Our stay was during the week so it was pretty low key with little noise.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conneaut, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I just stayed at the Commodore Resort this past week and am sorry to say I was not impressed with the staff or the accomodations. We stayed in the "new" section of the hotel and I was surprised at the lack of amenities for a "resort." They don't even supply a hair dryer in the room! Thank goodness I brought my own!!! No coffee maker or tissues are provided either. The ice maker on our floor was out-of-service and when my fiancee asked where the nearest working ice maker was the girl at the front desk gave him incorrect information. He spent a good 10 minutes looking for a working ice maker. In addition, it was like pulling teeth to get extra towels. And worst of all, the air conditioner in our didn't work! A entire new unit had to be installed our second day there WHILE WE WERE TRYING TO GET READY TO GO OUT!!!! Very inconvenient to say the least. We were not even offered a discount for our trouble!!!! The only positive part of the hotel is the pool with swim-up bar. The pool area includes tiki-type structures and a waterfall. This part of the hotel was lovely but other than that I was not at all impressed. Overall our stay was very disappointing.

Room Tip: Choose the jacuzzi room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Commodore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Resort

Address: 272 Delaware Ave., Put in Bay, OH 43456 (Formerly Commodore Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Put In Bay
Commodore Motel Put In Bay
Commodore Resort Put In Bay, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commodore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Commodore Resort to your Saves list