We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dorm living revisited” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Commodore Resort
272 Delaware Ave., Put in Bay, OH 43456 (Formerly Commodore Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Put in Bay
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dorm living revisited”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

I had prepared myself for much worse given these reviews. The rom was as clean as they could get it given the college kids that this venue attracts. The bathroom was clean and the beadspreads were the shiny poly- flowered ones of nightmares. There was a good live band by the pool with loud music focused on our "new building," but I was expecting this. It remided my of Tower Hall at Wittenberg less the pizzavomit and plus. a Subway in the lobby. There is no cheap place to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    13
    7
    29
See reviews for
4
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
477 reviews 477 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel is perfect. It needs a lot of work, but the staff was great. They took great care of the guest. The pool is off the hook and the Bar up front is so much fun. This is a good place to stay if you know going in that your not getting much. It's a place to sleep. Missy the bartender at the pool was so much fun. She had tons of customers, but somehow she always was there to take care of everyone. Missy has my vote for bartender of the year

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This property was definitely not worth $200/night, maybe $40 at the most. Room smelled like vomit, was dirty, and so noisy you couldn't sleep until 4am. If you are a partier and don't mind the 21yr old spring break atmosphere, this is your place. If you are looking for a nice relaxing get away, stay a away. We had a great time during the day at the pools and out at night, but dreaded going back to the "hotel".

Room Tip: We were in the old building, so maybe try the new building? Honestly, not sure there is a good room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

This place is so nasty.. Vomit, bugs, and condoms all outside the rooms. It's like a 'resort' for drunk college kids to party more. I like to party too... But I also like peace and quiet. The walls are paper and everyone screams and runs around outside the rooms. I found a half smoked joint under our bed. This place is so overpriced! Not worth it at all. A lot of the amenities are broken. The staff is rude as hell- except for the cleaning crew. I do recommend visiting splash pool bar though-not mist. I honestly can't wait to leave. This was a vacation....

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We arrived on Saturday afternoon, and yes all the party kids were there, and the check in was a little casual, but our room was really nice (it was in the new building) a king jacuzzi room. Sunday and Monday were pretty quiet. I would definitely stay through the week, but weekends are a maybe!! Expensive, but everything is here. The staff was nice. Fridge and microwave in room. Not too bad overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building. Jacuzzi rooms spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

This hotel is in downtown Put in Bay, and caters to the Party crowd. If you're used to 4 or 5 star accommodations, you may want to look elsewhere, but the rooms in this hotel are average though a bit small, and clean.
The location is right in the middle of downtown, which means you can walk to restaurants, bars, the docks, and other attractions. A golf cart rental place is next door.
The pool area was redone a couple of years ago, and is pretty nice- a waterfall, swim-up bar, private cabanas, and a main bar. There's usually a DJ during the day crankin' out the tunes.

We held a convention for around 100 people in September, and the hotel's management did a fantastic job making sure everything we asked for was in place! Ed & Jennifer were very accommodating, and I received compliments from many of our guests on how well things went. By the way, we are a group of people ranging from our 50s - 70s.

We reserved Mr Eds (bar/restaurant in the same bldg) for private breakfast Saturday & Sunday mornings, and the rooftop deck for a Saturday morning business meeting and Saturday night dinner, with cash bar & buffet.
Everything was arranged according to plan, and this with an OSU football game on in the bar during the day, which is a busy time for the staff!
We had a chef & a bartender on duty for us at the dinner. The food was very good for the value, I would say above average volume food.

About prices on the island in general- they are higher than you will find on the mainland, but remember, these businesses have a 5-month season. I take it with a grain of salt, knowing I'm in a fun location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Spent the past weekend in Put-in-Bay for Octoberfest. The hotel was so overpriced-had a two night minimum. The room had not been dusted for sometime. The carpet in the hallway had cigerette burns. The decor was 70's. The sink to brush your teeth and wash you hands was in the entrance way of the room. No coffee maker- no conditioner- not a good place to stay unless you are totally drunk our of your mind so you don't see or care about the condition of the room. The remote didn't work- TV set looks like it was from 1995. Subway is in the lobby and it made the entire hotel stink.... stay away there are better places to stay- you will not enjoy this place- the hotel check in had two woman that were about as pleasant as having chicken pox....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Commodore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Resort

Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel Put In Bay
Commodore Motel Put In Bay
Commodore Resort Put In Bay, Ohio
Address: 272 Delaware Ave., Put in Bay, OH 43456 (Formerly Commodore Motel)
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commodore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Commodore Resort to your Saves list