We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The words "suite" and "resort" should not be associated with this dump.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Commodore Resort to your Saves list
Commodore Resort
272 Delaware Ave., Put in Bay, OH 43456 (Formerly Commodore Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“The words "suite" and "resort" should not be associated with this dump.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I understand now that it is impossible to expect much more from a Put In Bay "resort" but I really expected a bit more from this destination. Not only do you get the very bare minimum (even out of season, apparently) you pay an astronmical amount to get nothing. I mean, seriously, how can you not have a coffee maker in the room? And I really don't want to know what fluid stains a lamp shade or how it got there. Regardless, we had a 3-bed "suite" which turned out to be a large large with three beds...guess I should have seen that coming. One bathroom for 6 adults (not college students) is also pushing it. Wouldn't have been so bad if there were clean and enjoyable places to go outside of the hotel. But, I can't blame my disappointment with Put In Bay on this hotel alone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    17
    9
    33
See reviews for
5
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Byesville, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Commodore is conveniently located in downtown within walking distance of everything. Has a pool with a bar in the pool as well as outside the pool. Subway is located inside hotel which makes it even nicer to grab a sandwich late at night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We found this room at the last minute as we realized the last ferry would leave the island at 5pm (for cars). The gentleman that checked us in was friendly and helpful, however forget to tell us that there isn't a hotel sign from either street. Consequently we drove around block 4 times. The room was perfect for a VERY short stay. While trying to plug in the alarm clock we found hot dogs lying behind the nightstand. Housekeeping came up quickly to clean. The commodore was missing the basics. We were on an island nicknamed The Cancun Of Ohio....yet ther was NO COFFEE!!!!!! hungover people without coffee-never a good thing!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We booked this motel at the last minute, so we didn't check around much. This is an average motel but it is in a great location. We thought it was a little pricey for October, but the location made up for some of that. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. It is within walking distance to bars, restaurants, shopping, the jet express, etc. It was a nice last minute get-a-way!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

I'm totally surprised by the reviews I am reading. Put in Bay is an ADULT Island. It has nick names like Ohio Cancun and ADULT Disney World. A group of girls and I stayed three nights at Commodore Motel. We were in the newer section and it was great. It wasn't anything super special but it was worth it because of the location. Every hotel on the Island is expensive so if you don't have the money to fork out then don't stay. I would compare this hotel to a Holiday Inn or any other average hotel, it's nothing special but it is clean and convenient. We enjoyed the Subway in our lobby eating Subway after 2:00am was great. The pool bar was a ton of fun! We loved being the first to grab a spot at the pool each morning. Just a reminder, if haven't been to Put In Bay this is an ADULT ONLY pool because it's technically a bar. The DJ was awesome and the drinks were amazing and decently priced! A lot of people visit this pool during the day it's not only for guest of the hotel, but it was so nice and convenient to be close to our rooms so that we could run inside if we needed to. The hotel halls, pool bar, and lobby were noise at times but we expected that. We were there to have a good time, party out butts off, and enjoy out last few days of summer. And that's exactly what we did. We will be back.

PS. Don't bring your car. It's not worth it. There will be nowhere to park and you wont need it since you will be within walking distance of everything. If you want to hit up the other side of the Island you can catch a cheep taxi. Also make sure you take the boat that drops you off on this side of the Island. I can't remember which boat does that but I know one drops you off right in town and the other takes you to the far side of the Island...which would be a little bit of a hike.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Some of the reviewers are complaining about the noise... Put in Bay is loud, especially on weekends. It attracts a party crowd, so if you want to escape for a quiet get-away, try another island (e.g., Middle Bass or Kelley's). Or, as for a room not facing the pool which could be party central till late.

The older section is cheaper than the newer, and OLDER. So don't expect the Marriott. The beds are OK, and the rooms are clean. The newer section is a little nicer. But we thought the value was tremendous.

The pool is a good place to hang out, get a drink, and people watch. The age of the guests varies, with most in their 30s, up to groups in their 50s. (The crowd is younger on weekends).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

My husband and I were apart of a group of 4 (40+) couples that have stayed every year at the CUDDADOR for the last 3 years. This year was the worst year ever l. Staff was rude, accommodations were horrible, Maid service was less than adequate, and the entire stay at the hotel was a total waste of money. We paid $1100 for a 3 night stay in a room that wouldn’t even meet the standards of a Motel 6. Lighting fixtures were busted and in deplorable condition, mattresses where totally uncomfortable and springs were poking us, the sheets and bed wasn’t changed there were blood and pee all over them, towel rack in bath room was broke, door keys worked. There was no coffee downstairs and when we asked about it we were laughed at and told to go around the corner to the grocery store. The walls are paper thin and keep no noise out what so ever.
I will not give this hotel another dime of my money; my money will go to Put-in-Bay Resort next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Commodore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Resort

Address: 272 Delaware Ave., Put in Bay, OH 43456 (Formerly Commodore Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Commodore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Put In Bay
Commodore Motel Put In Bay
Commodore Resort Put In Bay, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commodore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.