We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience I have ever had.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Hotel

Edgewater Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edgewater Hotel
Save
You added Edgewater Hotel to your Saves list
266 Delaware Avenue, P.O. Box 267, Put in Bay, OH 43456   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worst hotel experience I have ever had.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Most people complain about the noise but we knew what we were getting ourselves into and what to expect. Our problems started at check in. Once checked in (took forever), we went up to our $450 a night room we were dissapointed at the huge pile of bird poop (as round as a basket ball) at the top of the stairs we had to take everytime we left or came back to our room. It remaied for the entire stay (3 days, two nights). Once in the room it was definately straightened up, but not clean. There was hair and other gross uknown substances under the bed cover, and under the sheets. The bed was made but obviously the sheets were not switched out with clean ones. We asked for more towells because the hotel did not provide enough for the six of us (even though they knew how many guests there were from the reservation). The girl told us to go get them from a different hotel that would require us to rent a golf cart to reach. I know its a party hotel and all but for that kind of money the service and shape of our room is truly ridiculous. I feel like we really got ripped off, and the staff really does not care at all. If it wasn't for all of their guests being fall over drunk, you would see a lot more poor reviews. Took two showeres upon arriving home and immediately washed evertything that we brought. Disgusting!

Room Tip: Go anywhere but here on the island. The Commodor was much, much, much better on our previous trip wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    5
    6
    24
See reviews for
10
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vandalia, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Very dated. we had a double "Queen" room. Both beds were a double bed. Bathroom very dated, single sink, that was ready to fall off the wall. Accessible shower, no tub. No shelves in shower to put shampoo, soap etc. No lobby, had to stand in line with people rented golf carts to check into room Hotel is right next door to Mr. Ed's bar, Band goes to 2a.m. and you can hear everything. Hotel is right in the middle of the strip, convenient to all the night life, across the street from the marina. Golf cart was included in hotel rate but was overpriced for the condition of the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not get a "deluxe" room These are on the ground level, all the golf carts are parked ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

In the middle of all the action in downtown Put-in-Bay, which means right next to a nightclub/bar (Mr. Ed's). The room was spacious and essentially as described, but that's best I can say about it. The "hotel" is poorly managed and in need of many repairs. The lock on our door was broken at check-in and the shower head sprayed so much water on the wall that it was obviously causing major water damage. Be cautious about which package you book and the details of what should be included (ie cart rental and/or breakfast). Also be advised that there's one number to call on the "Put-in-bay resort" website, but you may get a room at another location (this also happened to another family travelling with ours). I believe they are intentionally misleading patrons.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have previously reviewed the EH, but wanted to review it again to reiterate my original points.

First, the negatives:
Noise. Located in the middle of downtown Put In Bay is a busy, crowded place for a hotel.
Decor. A bit dated and plain.
Smell of golf cart fumes. The golf carts are located on the entry side of the hotel. They need to be tested and worked on, rented and returned, etc.

Now for the positives:
It is in the middle of the busiest street on the island. It is noisy. You CAN hear music and partiers late into the night. But you can ALSO get a pizza, a Pepsi and a $5.00 tee shirt in a less than 3 minute walk from your door. Plus the proximity to shopping makes it much easier to take your purchases back to the room since you don't have a car trunk to lock things inside.
The minimal decor is one of the reasons for the low room rates. It ISN'T fancy. But my water stays just as cold in an older fridge as it does in a new one. My clothes hang as nicely from an inexpensive hanger than they do from a mahogany one. The cheaper blanket is just as warm as an expensive one.
Their golf carts are on site and free for the duration of your stay. We usually get there before our room is ready and we still get our cart to ride around in until the room is done.

So, I guess that if you spend a lot of time in your hotel room, want it to be lavishly decorated, go to bed early and would rather pay for your golf cart, the Edgewater is definitely not for you.
We love it there and have stayed there all 3 times we've been to PIB. It is clean, centrally located and we can put up with the cart fumes to get one free for our entire stay. We don't spend very much time in our room. What is important to us may not be to you. Likewise, what you find intolerable may not be an issue for us.
In my estimation, your vacation is what you make it. We are all about location, saving money and having transportation to shopping, activities or dining that aren't within a reasonable walking distance.

Room Tip: The School's Out Special is the Edgewater' s best value. Ask if it is currently available. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here this past weekend. While you can't beat the location, I would prefer a short walk or quick taxi ride instead of being over charged for this dump. Our room was described as a "Luxury" suite on the website and it was anything but. The room was large and could sleep six but the bathroom was extremely small, the double vanity and wet bar did not exist. The room was not clean nor well maintained. The walls are paper thin. At 4:00am the guests in the next room were still going strong. A call to management yielded no action and caused us a long sleepless night. When we checked out and returned our keys we were not asked, "How was your stay." Management is probably afraid to ask because they don't want to hear the answer.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

It is right downtown in the middle of everyting and that part was great!! We booked a school's out special and you cant beat that deal. We had a golf cart for our entire stay and a two room suite. This place with a little tlc could be very good. It the begenning of the season and a little extra cleaning sould of happened you would think. The fan in the bathroom was rather dirty. Top of door facings need dusting, lighting fixtures needed dusted, and stains on the arm of the sofa. I know they have tons of kids here and they trash the place but I expected a little more. It's not a place I would stay again. The music bumped until 2:30 in the AM and there was no sleeping during that time. We had never stayed at Put In Bay and didn't know what we were getting into. There are other places that might be a little quieter. We like to party but we came in at 12:30 and expected to go to bed and that wasn't happening.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed here last weekend with a group of friends for the weekend and their location is AMAZING! They are smack dab in the middle of downtown and party central! The rooms have been updated a bit since the last time I went--which is good. They have an awesome dog Wizzer that looks like a fox in the window all the time that i love seeing when i come here! Bottom line--if you want to be in the middle of all the action, this is the place to stay!!! Kendra at the office took care of us when we were locked out of our room--thanks Kendra-- you rock!!

Room Tip: Room 10# has the best view of the entire downtown & lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel

Address: 266 Delaware Avenue, P.O. Box 267, Put in Bay, OH 43456
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Put In Bay, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.