We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is a cavern” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Perry's Cave

Perry's Cave
Put in Bay, OH
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 31 things to do in Put in Bay
Attraction details
Malinta OH
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“it is a cavern”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

$8 gets you a 20 minute walk underground, nothing to exciting, you will get wet feet, if you have never done anything like this I suppose you will find it interesting but to us Ohio caverns are much better

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    47
    31
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
State College
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Small, but historic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This cave is of interest if you like to walk in the footsteps of historic figures O.H.Perry's men obtained drinking water from this cave. Otherwise, this cave is small, and not particulary attractive. Short walk through the cave makes it nice for a first time cave visit for children

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Down under in the cave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a great thing to do. Take the kids. unbelievable. Bit pricey but oh well. Walk carefully, it's slippery and watch your head. Low ceilings. LOL

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing and historic at the same time, it's hard to believe such caves exist.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Our guide was well versed in the historical and geologic aspects of the cave. Our group was at Put in Bay for the historic Bicentennial Reenactment of the Lake Erie Battle with Commodore Oliver Hazard Perry. Visiting the caves was a bonus, due to the fact Perry and his troops reportedly took refuge in the caves for a source of fresh, clean water to avoid illness. History buffs that we are, this tour was a great adjunct to our visit to the island.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Do It Once, Then You're Good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The cave is fun to learn about and explore. There are great stories around it. the only problem was the $8 price. I'd return and take friends if the price was $4 or $5, but for 8, I'm good with just once.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perry's Cave also viewed

 

Been to Perry's Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perry's Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.