We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read all the reviews first... We should have” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Islander Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Islander Hotel
Save
You added Grand Islander Hotel to your Saves list
432 Catawba Ave., Put in Bay, OH   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 19 Put in Bay B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Read all the reviews first... We should have”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Grand islander was so much worse than expected.  And we did not expect much in this so called party town. (The town was awesome)
  This islanders' sister hotel is Hidden and has a hard to find entrance don't expect help if your handicapped.  The staff will just watch you struggle and continue to text on her personal phone (Chelsea).

 No easy access for luggage. It must be brought through the front door.  Our room was 2nd from the end of the hallway.
They say they lock the pool back entrance after 7. But it was left unlocked for a thorough fair all night our first night 

No breakfast or coffee. In Lounge
Ignorant young uncaring staff. When we asked about it. She said " go across the street". Clearly not a people person 
The hotel seemed to be run by 25 and younger
The night girls at the desk were friendly.

No military discount: senior. Or triple A.  Don't even try it. 
The hotel doors all bent and dented in, Hall floor not vacuumed, Trash left in hallway all day n night, non smoking rooms smelled like smoke. They just sprayed air freshener after guests left. We watched them.
 
Lots of noise thru the night which we expected some drunks coming in late. But the worse part was the body slam
Against the door at 1 am. The door latch is the only thing that kept that person from landing on our bed.  Our other room did not have a latch. It was broken. I requested that they have it fixed right away. NOT. (They could care less)  Our last night. After screaming in the hall for over an hour.  The two drunk neighbors started an argument with my mother.  We were told there is security thru the night.  We never saw them once. 

Beds all sunken in. Found a beer cap on the carpet on entry and hair in the shower..Gross;  After room was cleaned first morning we came in, the beds made. Looked cleaned.  Then noticed all the wet dirty towels were still on the floor.  There are No microwaves no frige. No safes here 

Our tv didn't work. They came to fix it right away. It was the cable
Cord. It was torn to shreads. As if ripped from the wall 

The sister hotel. The islander staff is so much nicer. We tried to stay there. And by talking to others people near us. It was the same situation. And many had the same exact complaints 

I think it's way overpriced. Two rooms for 3 nights during the week. 1200.$. Just too much Do a place a block or two away. You rent a golf cart anyway ....



  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    7
    5
    9
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

this place is trash!!
the rooms cost $420 pr nite. our room was old and stunk. the bathrooms had towel and toilet paper holders ripped off the wall. the tv didn't work. their was spiders everywhere including in the bed. the mattress was very cheap (you could feel every spring)
I would recommend staying somewhere else but swim at there pool and only buy drinks with cash.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

That is the only good thing I can say about this hotel. It was hot, the room was small and not exceptionally clean. There is not a restaurant and no free breakfast. It is good place to drink and be in the water.

Room Tip: Don't come on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed 3 nights with a group. Hotel was fairly clean. (There was a piece of paper on our hallway floor for 3 days.) No wi-fi. They promised it, but we never got it. Telephones didn't work. Room was clean, but furnishings were old. Beds saggy. They have a night club that goes boom, boom, boom until 2:30 a.m. You would think the hotel guests' comfort would come first. Not here. Employees were friendly, but hindered by owner's lack of interest in keeping facilities up to date. Advice: look elsewhere.

Room Tip: At another hotel.;
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We read lots of bad reviews about the Grand Islander and were pleasantly surprised to find it was perfectly normal. Basically like a Comfort Inn or Red Roof. We came on a weekend and already knew that all the lodging is more expensive on the weekend. Its an island, they get away with that as long as people keep coming. The best thing is we walked right down the hallway and were at our pool. Swim up bar, dj, and all. True that many people never seem to get out of the water for 5 hours so you can assume what is going on in the water after all those drinks.

We've stayed at other places before, but will come back here again since everything fun to do is only a quick walk away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I traveled here back in April for a business event at the convention center. Upon arrival there were space heaters going because the heat wasn't working. After getting our key cards, we tried to get into our room but couldn't. Maintenance couldn't even get us into our room! The door looked like someone had beat it with their first and bent it.

We finally got a different room, and when we opened up the door to go in, it smelled and it was freezing cold. The ac/heat unit in the wall would either blow extremely hot air or freezing cold air. There was no way to have the room at a decent temperature. The side vents kept falling out onto the floor when you would turn the blower up.

The beds were just a couple of feet off of the ground and the room was so dingy and dark. The hallway carpet was old and dirty and the place was not taken care of. It just looked like a college kid's party house.

I could go on and on.... do NOT stay here! It is NOT worth the location! I would rather get up and take a ferry and go home on one than ever stay here! There is nothing "Grand" about it...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

My bathroom smeeled like vomit. Many fixtures broke. Very damp and unsantary. All the doors were dented. AC did not work well. The staff was nice but over all a terribly maintained hotel. Very dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Islander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Islander Hotel

Address: 432 Catawba Ave., Put in Bay, OH
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Put in Bay
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Grand Islander Hotel Put In Bay, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Islander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.