We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great patio, okay food, poor service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blu Luna Ristorante Italiano

Blu Luna Ristorante Italiano
Corner of Delaware St & Toledo Ave, Put in Bay, OH 43456
419-285-3040
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 33 Restaurants in Put in Bay
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great patio, okay food, poor service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We weren't impressed with Blu Luna at all. Food was good, but I expected more considering the prices. Patio was beautiful and made up for what the service lacked. Waitress was extremely slow and we felt forgotten about. My husband ordered a seafood pasta dish that came with mussels. Three of the 6-7 were not even open. For some reason, they could not get him extra mussels, but made up for it with a complimentary dessert. Probably won't be back here for awhile simply because there are many other places to try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    7
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Blu Luna, Put-in-Bay, Ohio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Can't say enough good things about this restaurant ! The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The atmosphere romantic and delightful. The Italian food is the best we have ever eaten in an Italian restaurant !! Not spicy and overdone with garlic but deliciously, somewhat sweet red sauces. You can tell with the first bite that it is truly homemade.Be sure to make reservations or ask for a window seat so you can see out over the bay. The pricing is exceptionally good for the value. The atmosphere is cozy and laidback and at the same time it has the feel of very upscale. By far and away the best dining on the island!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“A first class dining experience at Put In Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

August 1, 2012. Excellent!

When you go to Put In Bay you expect the usual tourist food and loud bars.

What you do not expect to find is something as nice as Blu Luna Ristorante Italiano.

My eye was first drawn to this place because of its attractive decor outside and convenient access. It's located right near all of the action but just outside of all of the noise.

We were seated promptly and had a wonderful view of the Lake in the general direction of Perry's Monument.

The food was absolutely perfect. The presentation was perfect and the service was exceptional. I had an excellent Striped Bass and the lady had the Lake Erie Perch.

The meals were accompanied by an excellent salad of fresh greens and plenty of warm bread.

We enjoyed an excellent Riesling which paired well with our dinners and topped it off with two very nice Cannoli.

If you are going to Put In Bay and want a first class dining experience, this is the spot.

Although this is truly an upscale dining experience don't worry about dressing up, it's Put In Bay.

Highly Recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Hardly worth a visit, the lasagna was worse than a frozen entree from the supermarket, the other options at our table of 8 were also just o.k. and hardly made a positive impression at all. Service was good and the owner was nice but there really is not much to say about this place at all.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great lunch. Great atmosphere. Great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Loved the decor. Blues and white. Relaxing. Who is the artist of the paintings? I'd love to buy a couple

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu Luna Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Blu Luna Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blu Luna Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.