We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perry's Monument” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial

Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial
93 Delaware Ave., Put in Bay, OH 43456
419-285-2184
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Attractions in Put in Bay
Type: Historic Sites, Monuments/ Statues, Observation Decks/ Towers, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rising 352 feet above Lake Erie, this monument commemorates an American victory during the War of 1812.
Mentor, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perry's Monument”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We rented a golf cart and our first stop was to the monument. I hadn't been there for almost 20 years and didn't realize it had been closed for almost 3 years and just reopened this past July. The day we went was a free day, so it cost us nothing to take a look. There was no waiting to go up and we only waited about 10 minutes to head back down. The views are incredible and there are maps to shop you which island is which. There was a park ranger stationed to answer any questions.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    59
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisle, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Well worth the $3.00 to take the elavator to the top. Great view. The indoor exhibits are worth an hour of your time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great view and history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

You can see everything at the top! And there are maps to help you understand what you're seeing. The officers/rangers there know a lot about the history of the island, including interesting bits about the War of 1812. Fun!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Put in bay was lots of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We rented a golf cart after taking the ferry from Catawba. Our favorite attractions were the Peace Memorial, the Crystal Cave at the Winery, and driving throughout the waterfront neighborhoods.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Interesting Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had not been to Perry's Monument since I was a little kid, and I remember it being boring, but I truly enjoyed it as an adult. Not somewhere that you need so spend a long time at, but when you get to the top of the monument the view is really cool. I would also recommend going to the visitor center first before going to the monument.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.